We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
2 reviews
“Very nice for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

I would have to generally agree with the other reviews. Room was large, with high ceilings and well done, very nicely decorated. Bed, though two singles pushed together was extremely comfortable. Couple that with the heavy shades and it was hard to get going in the morning! Large very nice bathroom, spacious and powerful shower, but nowhere to put your soap, shampoo, etc. Large ample breakfast with many choices but the hot food was unspectacular. Staff at breakfast was helpful and quick. This hotel has some very nice common rooms as well, all with high ceilings and upscale type decor. We had nothing but positive encounters with the staff, and they were very helpful when we had questions on directions, locations of things, making change, etc. Also, there was free internet/computer access which was nice to have. Being here off season, we got what I consider a fantastic rate for what this place provides - we paid 90 euro per night. Top notch location. I will note we came to Brugge w/ no reservations and tried the Crowne Plaza first, best rate they could offer was 120 euro. Am glad we found this place, was much much nicer than the Crowne Plaza, and just an half block away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,290
    759
    124
    40
    28
See reviews for
518
2,022
59
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My hubby booked this hotel for our Silver wedding anniversary. Not the best of starts as this was not where I wanted to go due to time presures. However I was very pleasantly suprised. This ended up to be the most romantic time I have ever had. The room we started out with was a deluxe, this was a lovely room with high ceilings a large chandelier over a hugh bed although this was 2 large singles put together (no problems with romantic moments) with 2 quilts (maybe the tog was alittle to high for me). The bathroom was large which included a seperate large bath and shower with L'Occitane toiletries (how lovely). Very well appointed. Only a few small grips only 2 tea bags, coffees and creamers (ssems abit tight but when I asked for more this was not a problem). We then upgraded to the Junior Suite for the special day. What lovely room. The view of the clock tower (especially at night when it is lit) was beautiful. We sat until the earlier hours, on the floor, just watching the world go by.
The breakfast although was limited. Bacon, nice sausages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese, cereal, fresh fruit, breads and 3 kinds of danish pastries, was plentiful. The manager made the morning of the special day start with a bang giving us both a glass of good quality champaigne with breakfast. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly. It however did not have it's own restaurant but there is a hugh array very close. I am very hard to please (just ask the hubby) but I will be returning. This hotel is very central with the sqaure only a minute away but was itself in a quite location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cunnisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed in the Casselbergh actually having booked it. What a wonderful place! The hotel has very high ceilings, which give a tremendous sense of space, and it's in a beautiful, central building just off the Burg Square. The downstairs rooms were very comfortable - and there were coffee table-books to read, while you had your tea or aperitif. But the service could have been nippier - it took 15 minutes for someone to come and take our orders for teas and coffees.
The bedroom was vast, with a chandelier hanging over the largest bed I've ever slept in, although, as one of the other reviewers says, it was in fact two large singles pushed together. I liked the fact that we had our own duvets, as nobody hogged the bedclothes!
There were huge floor to ceiling curtains, which kept the light out and meant you could sleep in as long as you wanted. The bathroom was fabulous - both the bath and the shower were big enough for two to share.
The alcove with the cupborard space was my main gripe - it was too dark and the space in the cupboards was poorly planned. There weren't enough coat hangers and I couldn't see in the shelves to tell whether we'd left anything behind. Also one of the chandelier bulbs had blown and nobody fixed it.
I wouldn't bother booking the breakfast - there were tremendous queues for the buffet table and the food was nothing special: tastless croissants, no milk for cereal and warmed over cooked breakfast. You can get what you want from any cafe elsewhere in the city.
But all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getawaymoreplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

With almost alarming similarities, we sytayed here from Sat 5th to Tues 8th Dec for our silver wedding weekend. We, too, arrived in pouring rain at the Pellaeart and were directed next door to the Casselbergh, citing the same reason - overbooking. Couldn't grumble at the upgrade, the room was excellent, very quiet and the bed was HUGE and unbelivably comfortable. There were one or two niggles which clearly need ironing out of a brand-new hotel - the TV had been fixed to the wall without a spirit-level and was therefore at an angle...no TV remote could be found and, despite asking at reception, one never appeared during our stay. There was no lighting above the full-length mirror in the bedroom, which was in a dead-end alcove and therefore of little use, and the lighting above the cupboard/shelving was poor and left everything in deep shadow. The bathroom was all style, but lacked a good power-shower and there were was nowhere but the floor to put any on your showering bits such as soap, shampoo, etc. Despite what seems to be a litany of grumbles, though, this was an exceptional stay. Do beware, though, that the front door closes at midnight and you need to buzz the night-reception clerk to be able to get back in after that - a touch inconvenient when you're out late, sampling all the beer Bruges has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed at the Casselbergh for the weekend, given we had booked a different hotel we were surprised to find ourselves there. On arrival at our booked hotel in the pouring rain we were told that they were overbooked but that we would be staying at the brand new sister hotel along the street. To say I wasn't impressed by this would be an understatement, we got soaking wet walking down the street to find the Casselbergh. Warning to everyone who thinks they are booked into the Oud huis de peellaert - you may well find yourself at the Casselbergh!! We were told that the Casselbergh had opened the week before, so I imagine that they are settling in by booking guests through the Oud de peellaert.
The hotel is in the perfect location close to the main square and the canals. Our room was lovely with a high celing and huge chandelier, the bed was huge although was two single beds together and separate bedding - typically continental but not entirely conducive to romance!! One minor quibble, the tea and coffee was stingy - two tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee - with only two sachets of whitener, I thought this was just a mistake when we arrived, but they were filled up the same the next day, I'm sure we could have asked for more but that's not the point, they don't even provide tea spoons - just flimsy plastic stirrers, not a big quibble, but kind of let down the hotel given that it's clearly aiming itself at the luxury end. The toiletries are lovely, by L'Occitane. The bathroom gorgeous with a huge walk in shower big wnough for two as well as a bath. The breakfasts were OK, nothing special. I was rather surprsied that the hotel has been designed with lots of small flights of steps, anyone with a disability would not have been able to get to the breakfast room, surely bad planning for new hotel in this day and age?

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mebbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing