We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great hotel........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a great hotel........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was our second stay in Bruges and we decided to stop at this hotel thanks to a good deal and great reviews on here. 3 years ago we previously stopped at their sister hotel the Ouis De palleart which is virtually next door.

We arrived early in the morning from the P&O ferry. We walked to the hotel from Bruges railway station which took us around 15 minutes. Be careful if pulling a case as Bruges is obviously full of cobbles and the wheels on your case wont like it!! A taxi will be around 8 - 10 Euros.

When we entered the hotel it definately had the WOW factor! Big chandeliers everywhere and the walls were full of portraits and black and white prints.
Our room wasn't ready (no surprise as it was only 9.45am) and the guy on reception took our details and told us to come back later. We left our luggage in a room at the hotel and went out to enjoy Bruges.

We got back around 3pm having drank way too much Gluewein and eaten too many hotdogs from the Christmas market in the Markt!!! The room was lovely, I think we had 2 twin beds pushed together but you really couldn't tell unless you looked closely. There was a flat screen TV (decent size) with around 3 English channels plus CNN. The bathroom was large with a great power shower and a big, deep bath. I got straight into the bath and gave my acheing muscles a good soak.....it was heaven. There's also complimentary L'Occitane toiletries. The room has a mini bar and a can of Carlsberg was circa 4 euros and a wine around 6 euros from there.

The bed was soooo comfy, some people may find it soft but I found it moulded around your body fantastically!! The pillow was one of those that takes around 10seconds for your head to settle into it!!

The hotel bar was lovely. 2 big Christmas trees and a roaring log fire! Service (as in the rest of the hotel) was swift, prompt and really friendly. All staff were always willing to give advice and tips. A bottle of red wine cost 17 euros. It really is a nice place to shelter on a cold afternoon or to finish of your night.

Location wise you couldn't do much better. It's situated on a quiet street 100 yards from the Burg and 200 yards from the Markt. Bars and restaurants are all within a 5/10 minute walk. There's also a decent Irish pub just down towards the Burg on the right hand side. Try the Trappist beer at 9.5%!!!

Did we have any grumbles? No not really. The only thing I'd say is that we booked a deal that got us a 'Quality' room. These are meant to be rooms overlooking a canal. We didnt get this as we were given a room overlooking the main street. As mentioned, the room was nice so we didnt have any real complaint!!

Staying in this hotel is like stepping back to a more grand, more opulent time! It's like something from the French Renaissance! Dont hesitate booking here......if anyone has a bad time then they really must be very picky or terribly unlucky!

Thanks Hotel Casselbergh!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThornhillLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,290
    759
    124
    40
    28
See reviews for
518
2,022
59
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

The perfect blend of traditional grandeur and modern luxury. My partner and I were very impressed with this hotel.

The staff were very friendly, the room was very well appointed and the overall standard of the hotel was first rate. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo_Paul_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

We went to Bruges to celebrate my boyfriend's 21st birthday. We had a great time! The hotel was superbly located, close to all the restaurants, bars and sights.
Our room was located in the new building and was furnished beautifully with grand furniture and a really comfortable bed. The toiletries were top-class (but they didn't provide a hair conditioner) and the separate bath and shower were very nice. The hotel was very classy and quiet, but busy enough for it to feel welcoming.
Breakfast was a treat with bacon, egg, sausage, toast, a selection of bread, pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal and the best hot chocolate around!
We had a great time in Bruges and the hotel really topped it off! A lovely place to stay for a romantic break. 5*

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottem92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed here for a weekend break with wife and infant daughter. We absolutely loved their lobby bar - several rooms, a roaring fire, and generally the feeling of staying in a grand European castle. [Even if you don't stay at the hotel, you really should go have a drink in the bar - a fantastic place to warm up on a cold day.] The location was equally excellent, just off the main squares of town. Service was strong too - very helpful with restaurant bookings and great recommendations to boot. However one negative worth noting: our room felt oddly corporate. Having seen photos and read other reviews about these lovely wood-beamed rooms, we were somewhat disappointed to stay in a charmless affair that was more Holiday Inn than luxury boutique. The room was clean and modern, so not a real complaint: in fact, we'd gladly go back - next time, however, i'll make sure to ask for a room with some charm.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

The previous reviews say it all, this hotel is complete luxury, the building the furnishings and location are all perfect. Sit by the fire and enjoy hot chocolate served on a silver tray with chocolates for 3 euros, amazing value.

The sauna was also lovely after a long day sight seeing, but my only niggle is that you had to go to reception and leave your passport to get a towel and robe for the wellness, and pay 5 euros if you wanted slippers. No need for this in such a plush hotel.

I travel frequently and like the last poster had heard very little about Brugge, it turned out to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited only to be described as a chocolate box film set, I was like a little kid walking around.

You cant go wrong with Brugge and you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed 3 nights in November 2010 for an average of 145€/night breakfast not included. Very nice modern hotel ideally located in downtown Bruges. Standard rooms are clean and spacious with an 'assembled' queen bed, an armchair, a desk, 2 closets, a full-sized bathroom with shower and bathtub. View on the canal for some rooms in the back building. Bar fridge & LCD TV. Lights turn on and off with the key card. Free wifi on request at the bar. Parking below the hotel building. Facilities include a restaurant for breakfast, a very cosy bar, a small gym, and a wellness center with sauna & hammam. Walking distance from main shopping streets, restaurants, and museums. The staff are extremely helpful and speak good English.
Cons: Queen bed was in fact 2 single beds. Gym opens at 10:00am, way too late!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRWorldCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We really loved our stay in the spacious Grand Hotel Casselburgh. We had a great room, the buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the staff were very helpful. There was a lovely fire in the lounge and an excellent bar. We would definitely go back - Bruges is certainly worth a second or third visit.
In December we paid a lot less than is shown on this web site. It was very good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andalucia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing