We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take the kids.”

Salvador Dali Exhibition
Ranked #40 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Attraction details
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Don't take the kids.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As per prior review - worth getting the €15 combo ticket for this and the Picasso. Dali presentation was limited re his works - but multilingual signage at least told you what he was 'commenting on' for each small collection in this one room. The fact that he managed to turn everything into a quite obvious sexual connotation means that if you have children of a tender age who prefer not to start explanation in the quiet of this space. Consider combining this with Picasso in Bruges and Magritte for your Brussels trip and you've made your visit to Belgium quite the surrealistic vacation.

As I am unable to find a link to TI relevant purely to Picasso exhibit will add here that that was far better - with Rodin, Degas and others as well. The signage was useful following his life and his 'blue' rose' and other periods and detailing his many relationships, marriages, mistresses and kids. We lost count!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    144
    121
    41
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprising Collection”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I really like Dali but was unfamiliar with much of his output - the smaller, less meticulous pieces outside of Persistence of Memory and Slave Market with the Disappearing Bust of Voltaire. Many of these pieces are fantastic.

Interestingly, many of these pieces are also for sale. We heard a staff member/salesperson who was taking around a prospective buyer talk about the pieces starting at 15,000 euros, which doesn't seem like a lot for an original Dali (though there were some numbered prints). Some of the pieces have a sticky note on them that says "SOLD" - not something you generally see at an exhibition of a major artist.

Both the black and white film and the attention paid to Dali's interactions with the press serve to round out the picture of a purely creative soul and iconoclastic raconteur.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TMFHitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This exhibit was very interesting and housed many of Dali's less known works and styles of work. There were also some of his films being shown, which was great because I didn't even know that he made films. The displays were also set up in a very lovely way and really captured Dali's imaginative style and love of color. This is a must if you are a fan of Dali or just enjoy eccentric art. This exhibition is rather small, so a large amount of time is not needed here if you are tight on time as we were.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morzine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“1 hour of dali”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great collection of dali items i never knew existed. Some were amazing. Sculptures to. Wish i had money to buy one! Really nice way to spend N hour

Helpful?
Thank theoriginalmarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dali Exhibition”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Brilliant - we thoroughly enjoyed this. We were given headphones and spent a lot of time looking and discussing the paintings. Even the Dali 'film' near the end is worth watching, although a bit strange!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvador Dali Exhibition also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Salvador Dali Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing