We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our Bruges home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aramis Holiday Flats
Ranked #18 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved our Bruges home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in Porthos apartment. It was a great location. Just far enough away from city center to not feel crowded. It was nicer than we expected from the pictures. The apartment was very comfortable for 3 of us and had everything we needed during our stay. The managers were wonderful to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22getg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked some time before our arrival and were confirmed as being in the Porthos. From other reviews I know that the ground floor setting we found ourselves in was not what had been promised. Notwithstanding this small deception, the apartment provided was very spacious with a separate kitchen and dining space, a courtyard and spacious bathroom. The apartment is very private.
We were greeted by Simon who is a good ambassador for his parents, made us feel very welcome and explained everything to us. He is a very polite young man. He provided us with a guide and access to maps etc. Regrettably the guide was out of date resulting in wasted time looking for a couple of attractions that no longer exist. We updated the guide!
The apartment is in a great and very central location (around 1 km from the station) which can be reached by taxi or a pleasant walk through the Minnewater Park area. There is a supermarket less than 100 m away and a laundromat about the same distance in the other direction. The Italian restaurant nearby is also very good value with authentic food.
The kitchen was fully equipped but there was no oven. If you want to prepare your own meals there is plenty of opportunity but no roast!
There were a couple of other issues that let the place down - the garbage is stored in a room near the front door. During our stay there was a putrid smell emanating from this room. The offending garbage was removed but the smell remained although not as strong. Not good! The hot water was very slow to reach temperature and the king bed was two joined together. It did not remain together.
Despite the whinges above we had a great stay but it could have been so much better. I still recommend you consider Aramis apartments as the problems will not damage your comfort too much.
The lower score allotted is a reflection of the minor disappointments not the quality of the place overall. It was nonetheless good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Another make or break holiday for a couple of mid-lifers wondering what to do next. Bruges was an obvious choice of destination and so convenient we drove, leaving our car at the station for our four day stay and after a ten minutes of shuffling found ourselves at the door of the apartments Aramis.

Simon was our "meeter and greeter" and with elegant aplomb he guided us to the lift which raised us two stories to the apartment Porthos. Simon was super, and so was the apartment. A sizeable bedroom with ample wardrobing and a rich selection of lighting, next door we found a sitting room with a well equipped galley kitchen. Further doors led us to the bathroom featuring comfy loo twin sinks and a power shower that delivered water to my head at such a force that I am now two inches shorter.

The location is great, the apartment ideal and the warm welcome genuine.The twin sinks in the bathroom eliminated any shaving based arguments, and the bedroom/sitting room lay out was handy for any awkward silences that arose during the stay.

If you want to go to Bruges and like to make your own cup of tea in the morning stay here, it 's great!

As is Simon

Some names may have been changed during the writing of this report to protect something or other

Room Tip: Porthos is really good for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Don't bother to look anywhere else to stay.The one bedroom apartment was great and the location perfect. it is on a Main Street but not noisy. There are restaurants nearby for light meals and a fast food waffle. shop. Try the Mana resturant for coffee salads pastries just a few blocks down the street. A short walk from Keterjing street are some great restaurants for an evening meal. We had a three course wonderful dinner for 15 euros. Try the Flemish stew a local dish

There is a small super market a feeblelocks away and they have everything including smoked salmon, better known as lox. Take a walk to scenic mini water near by, with beautiful ponds and swans swimming along the water.
For 80 euros a night, you will be staying at the best place to stay inBrugge! any questions write me at sibrazy@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sib b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

The location was fine (I think it's hard to find a bad location in Brugge, the town is quite small, adding to its charm) but the highlight for us was the overall service. We had a couple unique requests that they were able to accommodate perfectly. The apartment we stayed in was large, almost too large for the two of us with only two nights to stay, but the extra space made it feel more like a home. We would definitely stay here again if we were to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We rent an apartment but when we arrived at the hotel we found two rooms in the ground floor.
It is the second time in Belgium that we didn't found what we have booked.
The hotel is ideal for walking in Bryges.There is near to the hotel free area for parking and a supermarket. Simon (the son of the owners) was very kind and helpfull. No breakfast and no view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The location of Aramis was ideal for visiting all the sights in Bruges. It was away from the busy centre but close enough to walk everywhere, and pop back to the flat during the day if we needed to warm up! The flat was warm and comfortable with a lovely hot shower and the basic cooking facilities which were all we needed. We would recommend 'Books and Brunch' nearby for breakfast and 'Gruuthuis Hof' for dinner (especially the fixed 3 course menu for about 17 Euros). There is a butcher, baker and small, but well stocked, Carrefour supermarket only a few metres from the flats. We also came across a delicatessen, favoured by locals, at the far end of Nieuwe Gentweg, where we could buy a beautfully cooked ready meal to zap in the microwave for about 6 Euros....enough for 2 people.
One word of caution; we found that neither of us could ring a local number using our mobile phones while in Bruges, so best not to rely on that to give time of arrival...give an estimation of arrival time from home before making the journey!
We took the Eurostar to Brussels, changed trains for Bruges, then it's an easy walk to Aramis. It is best to look at which platform you need at Brussels for Bruges before leaving home because departure boards at Brussels work with the final destination, which isn't Bruges.
Would certainly recommend these flats.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonobo Apart Hotel
Bonobo Apart Hotel
#4 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aramis Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aramis Holiday Flats

Property: Aramis Holiday Flats
Address: Katelijnestraat 94, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Bruges
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aramis property is an 18th-century stylish house entirely renovated into 6 elegant and inviting apartments, located a few minutes from all of Bruges' best attractions. The famous Museums, the romantic canals and beautiful churches are just a short stroll away. Around the corner you'll find the open space of the Minnewaterpark, the enchanting Lake of Love, and the 'world-Heritage Beguinage'. The Aramis apartment has a pleasant living room with a sitting and dining area, a fully equipped kitchenette, one generous bedroom with fitted wardrobes. The bathroom with white and blue tiles has a trendy shower, heated towel rails, hairdryer and large mirrors. There are also very comfortable sleeping facilities in the sitting area of the living room in each flat. Amenities include cable-TV, CD-DVD player, bed and bath and kitchen linen. Free Wi-Fi. The non-smoking holiday apartments can be rented by the week, midweek or weekend, min stay 3 nights. Special rates/longer stays. Railway station = 10min walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aramis Holiday Flats Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing