We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Evening !”
Review of pro Deo

pro Deo
Ranked #5 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$27
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Evening !”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The evening of our wedding anniversary was spent at Pro Deo and only one word will describe the night .........................
Fantastic !!
We have dined in some great places in Bruges over our many visits so what makes Pro Deo so special ? Natalie, from the moment we stepped through the door she was the most charming & welcoming Host we have ever met !
The Boss ( My Wife ) has mobility problems which posed no difficulties to Natalie, after explaining the options on the menu we settled down to some of the best food tasted in Bruges with the Flemish Stew we had that was so tender and delicious we both felt a bit guilty for not eating all that was provided !
To finish off the evening Natalie surprised us both with a cake & firework to round off the evening , Thanks Natalie :)
We will be back !
And we still think that Jacque Brel just edges Northern Soul :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorksCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    190
    37
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but worth the detour”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Ate here on the 10th of September celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Lovely food in romantic and cosy surroundings. Made to feel really welcome and good value for money when you take into account the quality of the food, and the portion size!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, freindly people. Food not so good”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I went to this restaurant based on the tripadcisor reviews. Must admit I was rather disappointed. It is a nice little restarant. Clean, the staff are helpful. But the food was a disappointment. We had croquettes as starters, and they very extremely salty and appeared to have been microwaved. I had a steak which was Ok without being exceptional, and my wife had lasagne. Again the lasagne was microwaved.
Not quite sure how the restaurant has got such great reviews. Good value and a nice enough place, but not the second best restaurant in its road, let alone the whole of Bruges.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb and fun”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked here because of the glowing reviews, and were not disappointed. The food was outstanding( we had the Flemish stew and the moules and frites), and the service, in the person of the brilliant Natalie, the chef's wife, was friendly, efficient, and energetic.

Absolutely to be booked by anyone visiting Bruges.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reviews were spot on...Just excellent...”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We had Flemish beef stew and the iconic Moule Frite mussels and fries....both excellent...Bruges beer Straffe Henrik. A great lunch.....If you like stew gravy ...you have to try the Flemish stew....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVEnLIVETOEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed pro Deo also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to pro Deo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing