We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super simple breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bittersweet - CLOSED

Bittersweet
Price range: US$11 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super simple breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our third visit to this very nice little restaurant. We enjoyed coffee & croissant for breakfast and returned on three consecutive days ( which says it all ) Service is spot on, very friendly with nice little added touches to enjoy a relaxing breakfast. We stayed at the nearby Dukes Palace and discovered this quant little tea room on our first day and so glad we did. The Gingerbread tearoom next door has a really good rating on trip advisor but it doesn't open until 10 ( Bittersweet) work their socks off with really delicious food and friendly efficient service with really nice added extras of fruit & nuts, endless coffee and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. A must for breakfast in Brugge.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    41
    7
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lunch find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

A friend and I shared an excellent lunch of the most delicious quiche I ever had. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife team and so you are assured of the best possible service and food. Go - you will not regret it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerKingswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rudest woman I've ever come across”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

In short, the lady running this place is so rude rude my girlfriend and I just left before even ordering.
It's not what she said, but how. The place had two customers, and we came in to get a hot chocolate seeing everyone raves about it. She had put reserve signs on every table and refused to let us sit at 11.20am as the tables were for lunch, even the other customers looked embarrassed. We then asked if we could get a take away hot chocolate ... Again refused in a really rude manner.
The other customers mouthed "sorry" to us when we left ... They were embarrassed!!
Not sure this place is well named Bittersweet .... Maybe it should just be "bitterwoman".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JDGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unacceptable staff behaviour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were almost literally thrown out of the place by a staff member, probably the owner! Tempted by positive reviews and the "Certificate of Excellence" we went there yesterday just to drink a tea. The place was almost full. From the outside it seemed cosy, but inside it was very average and nothing special as far as interior design goes. Anyway, we decided to stay as it was very cold outside. We spent time chatting and watching the photos we've taken on our trip to Bruges. Maybe 20 minutes passed since we got our tea. Suddenly, the woman comes and says: "Sorry, I need my tables" and puts our bill on the table. Just like that. I mean, there are tens of ways (more delicate ones and showing full respect) in which she could have dealt with the situation, really! We felt really bad, unwelcome and humiliated. I would never ever go there again. I hate places where staff doesn't even respect their guests who leave them their money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank filakia_krk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Found this tiny place whilst looking for a lunch stop one day. Food very tasty & beautifully presented (delicious fresh seeded bread). Tables are cramped together (no good for luggage, buggies or those with impaired mobility), but clean. We were asked to (politely) move to another smaller table to make way for a bigger group, which could be a problem for some (we didn't mind). Would be likely to return if in Bruges again.

Helpful?
Thank Gnomelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bittersweet also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing