We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooked to order!”
Review of 't Vagevuur

't Vagevuur
Ranked #165 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cooked to order!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband had the Moules et Frites and loved it, but what made it all the more special was my steak. I can't stand pink in my steak and I know that the Belgium's can under-cook their steak as much as the French, but the chef cooked it well done and it was so juice and tender still - absolutely fabulous. When the creme brulee was brought out, it was still flaming, just the way it should be. Never have I enjoyed French style cuisine, and I have traveled to France on 6 different occasions and Belgium on a further three. To top it all off, the service was splendid, make a great meal even better!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pek1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    174
    60
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Flemish Stew”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife had traditional Flemish Stew I had the less traditional Prawn Noodle curry both were excellent!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DougBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Bowl of Mussels”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have a big bowl of mussels and a glass of red wine for Eur15. I was surprising when the mussels was served.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wenying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
286 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good food, cute restaurant, good service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After having a few less than stellar meals in Bruges, my husband and I were happy to come across 't Vagevuur. Located right off of Markt, it's very easy to find. Both the employees were pleasant and attentive. Owe started out with the zucchini soup and garlic bread - the soup was ok, a bit bitter, but not base, and the garlic bread was good. For dinner we had the filet with pepper cream sauce and the Flemish stew. The stew was very good and the steak was good as well. Very reasonably priced, good food and service - what more can you ask for?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delphi927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, what more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband has special dietary requirements, so most of the Bruges Fayre of Mussells and meaty dishes are out. He mainly eats chicken and this was the only place we co,d find that had more than one choice of chicken dish and didn't cost the earth. We were not disappointed, the meals were beautiful, cooked exactly as we asked for, we couldn't fault our meals. Service was fast, and waiter was friendly and helpful. A meal for two with 2 drinks each and half a carafe of house rose came in at just over 50 euros, so by bruges standards, good value too. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 't Vagevuur also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Vagevuur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing