We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caramel

Caramel
Ranked #604 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I really love this place. They have great waffles, and the food is fabulous. The atmosphere is very familial :) I come here a lot of times. The food is not so expensive as in other places in Brugge, and it taste good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    14
    20
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible service and rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just confirming what others have said really. Initially were told that there were no spaces, despite 2 empty tables. When we pointed out at the tables they said they hadn't realised (?) we were just 2 people. After being seated we asked for 2 cappuccinos and 2 waffles. When checked with the waitress if the coffee and waffle 'combo' offer was valid for sit-in, we were told that cappuccino did not count as a coffee ("coffee is coffee, not cappuccino, cappuccino is cappuccino not coffee"). Trying to avoid the argument we asked for just 2 cappuccinos for the time being, and were told that we could not stay there without ordering any food. That was very surprising really, given that this is actually a restaurant/tea-room (according to its sign on the entrance). As another couple on the next table was making its way out having decide not to order, we left too, but not before we politely tried to explain to the waitress that 'filter coffee' or 'americano' would perhaps be more accurate and less misleading, and that it's really not the best policy to ask people to leave if they do not immediately order any food. She was furious with our terminology related feedback, and she strongly insisted that cappuccino is not a coffee. We gave up on her, couldn't be bothered, but checked the terminology in other places in case this coffee/cappuccino issue was a local thing. We only checked another 3-4 restaurants, but they all really had 'filter coffee' and cappuccino listed as coffees (as everywhere else I've been really). All in all, too much hassle for no reason whatsoever.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUniverseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab food but don't expect British service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Ate dinner here twice this week and both the chicken and steak I had were delicious. The service wasn't particularly fast but as it's not the UK don't expect the same level of service!! Well worth a try!!

Helpful?
Thank Viki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Steep prices, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Looks nice from the outside, but poor service inside. Staff was arguing with each other. Had to wait aprox. 10 minutes for 2 cappuccinos wich were extremely expensive and poor in quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stopped here for a waffle tempted by the smell on chocolate street as I know it. Wasn't particularly keen on the waffle and the chocolate sauce wasn't that great. Service wasn't especially friendly either but it wasn't stupidly priced like everything else. Probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sqwookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caramel also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Caramel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing