We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and comfortable - a real delight”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
St Janhuismolen our local windmill Romantic master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sally G
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable - a real delight”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first trip to the Red House in Bruges - and will definitely go back. The house is spotlessly clean and well equipped - with lots of extras provided.
The master bedroom has fabulous views across the roof tops of Bruges and I can safely say the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in whilst on holiday.
It is well positioned on a beautiful cobbled street on the outskirts of town - within easy walking distance to all the main attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and well equipped for EG. food staples, books, games, bikes DVDs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla H
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just home from a great long weekend in the Red House. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, clean, modern and with plenty of space for four adults with a very well equipped kitchen. Having the garage parking so close is great as we could park up and walk in to the centre every day (only 10-15 mins).
Highly recommended to anyone who is thinking of booking here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turbotrol...
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was the 3rd stay at The Red House for my wife and I, and all visits have been brilliant. We visited with 2 of our friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. As always, the house is very clean and comfortable with all of the modern conveniences to truly make it a home from home. The location is ideal being in a quiet residential street, away from the hussle and bussle of a tourist city but within 10 minutes walk of the Markt and Berg. The house is also close to the outer ring road (thankfully you cannot hear it) which makes it ideal for those who would like to bring a vehicle, especially as there is a garage which can be rented for your stay.
The owners, Richard and Elizabeth are very helpful and accomodating with information on city festivals, shopping, tips on driving and many other bits of helpful information which makes your stay just that little bit better!

Thanks again Richard & Elizabeth, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Absoloutely nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieB305
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home from home”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at The Red House and once again we were absolutely thrilled with this lovely home.
Everything you could possibly need is catered for, from the little things like tea and coffee (making packing for a quick weekend away so much easier) to the excellent range of books and Dvds available.
The location is brilliant, just 10 minutes walk takes you into the heart of the town but you are far out enough to enjoy the peace and quiet - with the added bonus of a secure garage.
Richard the owner also deserves a mention as he is so friendly and easy to deal with and gives you so much useful information beforehand - as well as keeping loads of guide books for your use at the house.
We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie K
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely house, could not fault it.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had an excellent time staying at The Red House. Everything we needed was catered for, and the bikes were definitely an added bonus! The house is in a great location - within easy reach of the centre, restaurants and sights such as windmills and canals. Would recommend it wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Bikes, Belgian feel of property.
Liked least: Stairs wouldn't suit the elderly very well.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard g
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“a very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved the picturesque and quiet location, within easy walking (and cycling) distance of the centre. The night-time view from the top bedroom of the floodlit windmill and church is beautiful.
The accommodation is very well appointed, clean and comfortable (2 sofas means one each for watching some excellent DVDs at night). There is a valuable option of a garage for parking a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being part of a charming city
Liked least: the top flight of stairs- rather steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danesy
Guildford, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely little house just a few minutes walk from the centre of Bruges.

We were very impressed with the photos we saw and the reviews we read on tripadvisor. Once I spoke to the owner Richard on the phone I knew that it would be a great place to stay.

We would have liked to stay for 2 nights but as we booked last minute we could only stay for one night but we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Bruges and recommend it to family and friends.

The place was very clean and welcoming. Richard had already provided us with a lot of info via tripadvisor including all the info about the house.

We took advantage of the parking garage round the corner which was great. Next time I will drive in and leave the car in for the duration. Bikes and walking are what Bruges is about.

On arrival we had a cup of tea and let our 18 month old daughter, who had been out all day, chill in front of Shrek 2, one of the many DVDs kindly left there for visitors to enjoy.

The whole house was very nice but the downstairs was especially lovely, with a very nice open plan kitchen/lounge/dining area.

The stairs were fine to manouvre with our 18 month old daughter but I am sure if I had tucked into a few more belgian beers then they might have been a bit tricky.

I loved it here and only wished that we had booked for a few more nights and didnt have to leave. I think next time we might visit as a couple or with friends as Bruges is a very pretty, medieval city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing