We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Red House

112 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Holiday Rental House 3 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 5 Pets not allowed Save
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simon R
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Excellent Place to Stay
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to the Red House in Bruges, once in the summer of 2009 and recently for new year 2011/12 and 2013/14. This property never disappoints, immaculately kept with a whole host of creature comforts and extras. The attic bedroom is stunning and has great views over Bruges. The recent addition of a garage makes life very easy (parking in Bruges is not the easiest) This time the only time we even saw our car was for an excursion to Ostend.
at a 10 minute walk Bruges centre is very accessible from the Red House with many sights and good dining.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthemorr...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Simply fantastic!
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 3 nights at The Red House in Bruge. Everything we could have possibly wanted was there, we took advantage of the fantastic heating and DVD selection and stayed in to cook and relax after a days sight seeing. We cycled all around Bruges and had a fantastic stay. The house is just wonderful and in a nice quiet location but only 5/10 minute walk from everything. Great for families, groups or even just a couple as we are. We took advantage and even had a dressing room each! I'd highly reccomend this place for short or even longer breaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally G
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Cozy and comfortable - a real delight
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our first trip to the Red House in Bruges - and will definitely go back. The house is spotlessly clean and well equipped - with lots of extras provided.
The master bedroom has fabulous views across the roof tops of Bruges and I can safely say the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in whilst on holiday.
It is well positioned on a beautiful cobbled street on the outskirts of town - within easy walking distance to all the main attractions.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: So clean and well equipped for EG. food staples, books, games, bikes DVDs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla H
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Highly recommended

Just home from a great long weekend in the Red House. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, clean, modern and with plenty of space for four adults with a very well equipped kitchen. Having the garage parking so close is great as we could park up and walk in to the centre every day (only 10-15 mins).
Highly recommended to anyone who is thinking of booking here

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turbotrol...
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Simply fantastic!

This was the 3rd stay at The Red House for my wife and I, and all visits have been brilliant. We visited with 2 of our friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. As always, the house is very clean and comfortable with all of the modern conveniences to truly make it a home from home. The location is ideal being in a quiet residential street, away from the hussle and bussle of a tourist city but within 10 minutes walk of the Markt and Berg. The house is also close to the outer ring road (thankfully you cannot hear it) which makes it ideal for those who would like to bring a vehicle, especially as there is a garage which can be rented for your stay.
The owners, Richard and Elizabeth are very helpful and accomodating with information on city festivals, shopping, tips on driving and many other bits of helpful information which makes your stay just that little bit better!

Thanks again Richard & Elizabeth, we will be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Absoloutely nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieB305
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
A Home from home
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at The Red House and once again we were absolutely thrilled with this lovely home.
Everything you could possibly need is catered for, from the little things like tea and coffee (making packing for a quick weekend away so much easier) to the excellent range of books and Dvds available.
The location is brilliant, just 10 minutes walk takes you into the heart of the town but you are far out enough to enjoy the peace and quiet - with the added bonus of a secure garage.
Richard the owner also deserves a mention as he is so friendly and easy to deal with and gives you so much useful information beforehand - as well as keeping loads of guide books for your use at the house.
We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie K
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Really lovely house, could not fault it.

We had an excellent time staying at The Red House. Everything we needed was catered for, and the bikes were definitely an added bonus! The house is in a great location - within easy reach of the centre, restaurants and sights such as windmills and canals. Would recommend it wholeheartedly.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Bikes, Belgian feel of property.
Liked least: Stairs wouldn't suit the elderly very well.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.