We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had an amazing time in Brugge. The town was fantastic and the hotel we stayed in was even greater. I edvice everyone to give it a try and expierence te excelent service, subliem restaurant and the royal rooms......

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biancie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return to magical Bruges soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    282
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
174
1,180
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I had high expectations from this hotel, based on what I had seen on the internet, however I could not have imagined that a hotel could offer such an amazing experirence. The decor is exquisit, and the attention to detail in the fit out is inspiring. I have previously stayed in beautiful hotels but that does not guarantee good service. This hotel's service was unlike I have ever experiened before. It began with a very warm welcome by Ann and the exceptional service continued with every contact from Conceirge, the Hotel Manager, the bar and breakfast staff. Even on departure we were given a travel pack as they wished us a safe journey. If only all hotels were like this! In addition, the location was great and it was really well priced for this popular city. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: 3 nights is not enough in Bruges, stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qldstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
We strive to offer the best personalized service in Bruges ! Thank you for your kind words !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I would love to give this hotel a good rating because the staff were excellent and the facility is charming. Instead, serious maintenance issues, including mold in the bathroom, detracted from our stay. In addition to the mold the phone handset did not work, the window handle was wobbly and not functioning properly and the hair dryer quit working. Mold is always unacceptable and the general level of disrepair is would have been inappropriate for any hotel, let alone one at this prive point and claim to quality. A real shame for an otherwise nice hotel.

Room Tip: Check room condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry about this rather negative experience. The air extraction fan was not working properly in that bathroom and has been corrected immediately. We prefer to get any kind of remark during your stay so that we can bring your experience at the hotel to a higher level. We hope you do want to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect, just 2 minutes walking distance from the central square of Brugge. We stayed in a standard room for one night only, unfortunately. While the room was small, it was beautifully furnished and decorated, very clean, quiet, and full of amenities such as an iron with ironing board, flat-screen TV, and even a sleek desktop PC! Wifi access is free. The nightly turn-down service was an unexpected extra benefit.
Service is extremely friendly, personal and helpful. Feels like a family-run place, although I am not sure if that is actually the case. Upon check-in, we were given a hotel-designed map of downtown with suggested walking tours already lined out. The front desk lady explained all tours and attractions in detail. Upon check-out, we received a goodie bag with water bottles and small snacks for our upcoming long car ride.
For breakfast, there is a 22 Euro buffet option or a 11 Euro continental breakfast option. We opted for the latter, which turned out to be a great choice. We were served at the table by a friendly waitress and received unlimited supplies of coffee/tea, orange juice, a large basket filled with a nice variety of breads and rolls, butter, honey and various fruit jellys/jams. Overall very delicious and filling.

The only negative thing I can think of is the high cost of parking (valet), which had just increased from 22 Euros to 35 Euros a few days prior to our arrival. I am not sure what the typical costs of parking are in Brugge, but this was certainly not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. Since we are located in the city's center parking becomes an issue - as in any city. We look forward to welcoming you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we were so blessed to have stumbled upon this hotel. the staff was gracious and knowledgeable. the room, although a little older, elegant and quite spacious for a european hotel. there was turn down service nightly with a general tidying of the room and of course, full maid service during the daytime hours. it was a relief to see an ironing board with iron and a good hairdryer in the room, along with an array of toilettries, and there was even a computer in the room!!! the coffee room service was just right if you chose to skip the hotel breakfast for a cafe downtown. the location is ideal for walking to town and not too noisy. i would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dyanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you so much for your comments ! We look forward to welcoming you to Bruges and our hotel again very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011. The hotel location was great, just a minute walk to the square. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The room was standard size, but very charming. Our room was in the back of the hotel, so we did not have a view, but there is a small area up on the roof that all guests can use for a view. We did not eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the restaurant or breakfast. Overall, this was an excellent location and the staff were superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pecos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Summer is a lovely time to visit the Venice of the North ! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for the review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I booked a 7 day trip around northern France and added Bruges as the city seemed to be a "must see " , it is . I selected this hotel , having stayed at other Relais . The staff at arrival , were excellent , a warm greeting from the front desk , help carrying in our luggage , someone to park our car , all this work was however done by the same person , a girl . We never saw anyone else working at the hotel , other than one other girl at shift change .The room we were given was excellent , and comfortable , however at around 1:00 am we woken up by loud shouting and screaming from drunks passing by the hotel , this went on until 4:30 am . It was repeated the next night though it began later and was not as bad . I do not know what happened the next night as we left , bleary eyed . The issue I have is that the hotel MUST know about this issue yet has done nothing to address it . There is just a lone girl down at the front desk , I assume she barricades herself in at night . The windows on our room offer NO noise reduction at all , double glazing is not sold in Bruges ? The other thing missing in Bruges is the police , there are not any , well to be truthful I did spot two elderly women with grey hair, pedaling away on bikes , they did have Polit on their shirts , I'm not sure if they had a function in law & order or were just shirt matching granny's . Bruges is a wonderful city though . I think in summary this hotel is at the absolute limit of being a Relais , it needs renovation and soon .

Room Tip: Bring noise reduction head phones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacosteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Our hotel and the city of Bruges are very safe. Due to our central location, there is foot traffic at night that is inevitable. The windows are indeed fully soundproof... when closed. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing