We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Beautiful Bruges, not perfect though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Beautiful Bruges, not perfect though!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After a hard few months with my Mother breaking her hip and nearly having to cancel our trip to Bruges we were really happy to have picked Hotel Heritage to stay in after reading many wonderful reviews and also talking and emailing the hotel who were always very helpful and friendly.
On arrival we were met with a friendly receptionist and we left our car for the valet to park so it was very easy and we didn't have to worry about it until we left. The bell boy worked very hard bringing all our luggage to the room and was also very friendly.
We had reserved a suite overlooking the belfry tower with an extra cot for our 2 year old and an extra bed for my Mother so we could all stay in the same room. However, we were put in a superior room at first as the hotel thought it would be the best option for us. We had discussed it in great lengths previously the different sleeping arrangements but we came to the conclusion that staying in a suite would be more special and memorable. So, we asked to be moved to the suite that we had booked and this was no problem although slightly annoying.
The suite was amazing. We were told it would be cramped with the extra beds but it wasn't at all. It was very spacious and luxurious. The bed was comfortable and very large, the spa bath was really nice, and being in the loft space was unique and fun. Having an ipad for instant access to the internet was also a nice touch.
In the evening there was a turn down service and every night there would be some small refreshments left but although there were 3 adults in our room, we were only ever given 2 of everything. e.g. 2 macaroons, 2 glasses of wine. We paid extra for my Mother to stay in the same room so i don't understand why the hotel didn't think of giving us 3.
Also, it was the same extra amount for a cot as a bed each night which i think to be expensive especially as my son slept in bed with me and his dad every night in the big bed and wouldn't go in the cot at all. We did know the prices before hand but still think a cot should be a lot cheaper than an extra bed for an adult. We had the same trouble with the lift as another reviewer, a couple of times it seemed to stop working, the lights went out and nothing happened. We thought we were going to be stuck for a while but then it would start again thankfully, but it did put us off using it.
We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and loved Bruges. As all the other reviewers have stated the hotel is perfectly positioned right in the heart of the beautiful city and the main attractions are a short walk away. We made use of the free welcome @ bruges card and had discounts on most of the attractions we visited. ( although we wish we hadn't bothered with the chocolate museum as it was awful, how can they make the story of chocolate boring?/?) At night we sat on the sun deck and no one else used it while we were there so it felt private although it's for everyone to use staying in the hotel.
One day we came back from a long day out and on arrival to the top floor my Son went running down corridor. Our room was right at the end and you can't go anywhere else so seemed safe enough. However, there was a door next to ours used by hotel employees and a fire exit and this was left open this once and my son went running through it. We managed to catch him of course but was shocked that at the top of the stairs the handrail finished and there was a large gap between it and the wall, plenty big enough for my Son to try and squeeze through. If he had managed to have squeezed through it there was a 5 storey drop to the basement of the hotel and the unthinkable. Obviously my son shouldn't have gone there and an adult couldn't squeeze through the gap but it did give us quite a shock. It was closed the rest of the time we were there but we were extra careful from then on.
The only other negative experience we had from the hotel was when we were leaving. My husband and son who was in his pram were waiting for our car to be brought for us at reception, and i went to get my Mother and rest of the bags which we had loads of from our room. The car was dumped outside and the valet told me husband he'd better move it quickly as he was blocking the road. My husband had my Son, pram and bags and the valet didn't even ask if he needed any help. He just abandoned him struggling. My Mother and i got the front of the hotel and my husband had already moved the car down the street. He couldn't have parked on the pavement outside as there was the hotels car blocking it. My Mother and i brought the rest of the bags to the car and we watched another couple behind us leaving the hotel with the valet helping packing their car and going out of his way to be helpful. Unfortunately this made us feel that the valet had decided he wouldn't get a tip from us and so was very unhelpful and quite rude. And, this was the final impression we had of the hotel which is a great shame.
The building the hotel is in is beautiful and most staff are good at their jobs. The restaurant looks amazing although we didn't get a chance to dine in it. Most other reviewers seem to had an overall excellent stay in the hotel, like you'd expect from a Relais&Chateaux hotel, but ours unfortunately wasn't at all bad, but could've been better.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor as well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you very much for your time to review your experience. We strive to make each stay for our guests a pleasant and memorable one. We certainly appreciated your feedback, especially bringing to our attention several remarks which we can and will improve. We would like to thank you though for the nice comments and we do however look foward to welcome you again in Bruges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    282
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
174
1,179
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very nice welcome . Nice room . Wonderfully city calm lots of things to see and do walking around is easy very flat lots of places to stop and eat and drink would come back to Bruges for a long weekend just so pretty

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Buges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

It is hard to fault this hotel, every aspect is perfect. From location (2 mins to the square) to attention to detail it has it all. Superior room was exquisite, very tastefully decorated even down to the lighting. Bose dock and ipad finish it off nicely. We never had dinner as there is a multitude of restaurants available but breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Bruges and hope to may have the pleasure to welcoming you at our restaurant 'Le Mystique' for a magic restaurant experience or to welcome you at one of our future restaurant events. For instance unitl 13th of July we serve a Champagne menu in collaboration with Champagne House Louise Brison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Heritage for five nights. It was an excellent hotel in every way. The room was luxuriously decorated and the bed extremely comfortable! Despite the hotel being located in the heart of Bruges, it was very quiet at night and we slept well. The hotel was conveniently located which allowed us to pop back during the day to rest or drop off all of the Belgian beer and chocolates we had bought!
The hotel's restuarant was very high quality and we enjoyed a spectacular dinner there.
We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Bruges!

Room Tip: Number 32 is an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RS2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to read you had sweet dreams in our handmade 'Pure Nature' Nilson beds and great you had a spectacular dinner in our restaurant 'Le Mystique'! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verneuil Sur Seine, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very nice hotel well located in the heart of Bruges, steps away from the city main square
Room more than confortable with a superb bathroom
Great four course diner at the hotel's restaurant
Perfect place for a romantic journey

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Georges-Edouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review! Our location is probably one of our best features along with our luxury service. We're glad to read you enjoyed our 4-course menu by our Chef Koenraad Steenkiste. We look forward to your return for another romantic journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week in various locations across Belgium. Of the four hotels at which we stayed, Hotel Heritage was the clear winner. Upon arriving, we were upgraded to a beautiful room on the top floor. It had a lovely sitting area just outside the room, skylights and a beautiful view from atop the city. The room was beautiful. The location of the hotel is hard to beat, just blocks from the main square. We could walk everywhere within just a few minutes. Although the hotel's location is in the heart of the city, it's off a quiet street, so you do escape the hustle and bustle when you retreat to the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and provided good advice on where to eat and what to see. Everyone we met at the hotel spoke English and was happy to help provide assistance or advice. Overall, we had an amazing experience at Hotel Heritage and plan to return in years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglaurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for recommending us here on Tripadvisor. We're very happy to read that our house is your favortive hotel in Belgium! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

As this is such a highly-rated hotel, we had expected a really excellent experience when we booked. However, in our experience there, it was very good, but not excellent because of the many "small" problems we experienced.

The electronic card-key "swipe" lock on our room turned into a ninja exercise to try to see if one of us could get the door to open. Sometimes it took 10 to 15 swipes to get exactly the right kind of swipe to trigger a persistent green light, persistent enough to get the door to open. It really did seem to vary from time to time. Only twice in four days were we successful at getting it to open on the first swipe. Getting into one's room shouldn't be this hard.

Our door was also tricky to close "properly" so that it would lock securely. It required about a day of learning before we didn't leave the door unlocked inadvertently.

We didn't have hot water one morning, only one morning to be sure, but for an excellent hotel that is 1/4 times which isn't excellent. We complained to the desk which was very responsive, but the water remained cold.

The elevator went completely dark when we pushed a floor button; completely dark, there was no power. It returned quickly when the button was pushed again, but it was disconcerting. We did bring this to the attention of the desk staff.

One of the cleaning staff came in on us w/o warning, knocking, etc. We had not been given a "Do Not Disturb" sign, and assumed that with the internal extra locking button pressed that the room could not be entered; this was incorrect. Eventually we did get a "Do Not Disturb" sign from the front desk, but this should not have happened in an excellent hotel.

They do have iPads in the rooms and the Wi-Fi was flawless, reliable and fast.

The front desk staff were very helpful and well-informed on information on attractions, trains, buses, etc.

This is a nice hotel in a good location with very responsive and well-informed staff, but there are a lot of "less than excellent" things in the rooms that need work.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your comments and kind words about our staff. We work hard to ensure that our guests are pleased from check-in to check-out. Therefore we feel sorry for the 'small' issues you had during your stay with us. Unfortunately those technical problems were totally out of our control and are solved in the meatime. We hope to may have the pleasure to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing