We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yes, there is construction across the street but our 3rd floor was was quiet. The staff are not seasoned but polite, warm and offer to be helpful. Did not eat at the hotel. Bathroom setup is awkward... No place to easily hand towels, etc. Towel warmer is nice idea but hard to reach and proved useless, as did limited counter space. Loved the coffee machine and iPad.

Room Tip: Yes we used TripAdvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your review! We're glad you aprreciated the iPad and Nespresso in the room. Thanks you also for the constructive comments on the bathroom, we can inform you we're working on the hooks! Thank you again for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a really great location - 1 minute from the Market square and by all accounts much more reasonable than a lot of the hotels in that area. We went for four nights and I have to say I found the staff and the proprietors really helpful and friendly. Our room, although a bit on the small side, had everything in it. A little coffee table and two chairs, a Nespresso coffee machine with various teas and coffees and a Bose radio. The bed was extremely comfortable and the towels were so thick that it was a pleasure to wrap yourself in it after your shower. New ones were provided every day. Miniature shower and bath gels and body lotions were provided as well together with white towelling shoes. The attention to detail in every way was just amazing. Housekeeping would knock on the door every evening to ask if we needed anything and would give us a little card from the proprietors wishing us a good night and reminding us that we could ask for a wake up call if wished. I couldn't get over the fact that every morning when you woke up there would be a note under your door telling you what the temperature would be on that day - a lovely and thoughtful touch. I couldn't fault this hotel and would certainly recommend staying there.

As we only stayed on a room basis we opted to have breakfast out of the hotel and found a charming little place called Prestige which was a lovely pastry shop that served breakfast, lunch and tea. Turn left as you come of of hotel Heritage and walk up to the end of the road. Cross over and a few yards away is Prestige. We had breakfast there every morning and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was quick and efficient and the prices very reasonable. The hotel charged 20 euros for their continental breakfast whereas the continental breakfast at the Presitge was 11.75 euros which included three rolls or three pastries, orange/grapefruit juice tea of your choice butter and various jams. Everything was very well presented and I loved the china cups and saucers which matched the wallpaper! A lovely little find just off the market square in Vlamingstraat.

All the restaurants on the square are very expensive so I would advise getting off the beaten track to the ones off the square on the many roads leading off it. If you fancy a sandwich there is a Subway opposite a shop called Frederick Van Pamel.. I would also recommend a greek restaurant called The Olive Tree on Wollestraat which although a little bit pricey would make a nice treat one evening. Wollestraat is where you will find most of the chocolate and lace shops although these are also dotted around Brugge. Just before you get to the end of Wollestraat (going away from the square) is a little alleyway where you will find a hotel called Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce where the film "In Brugge" was made. Worth a visit as you can sit and have a coffee and admire the view. At the end of the road across from there and facing you is a lovely chocolate shop with a chocolate fountain in the front which you can go in and taste but the best part was the little tea room at the back where you sit and have tea or coffee. There is quite a wide choice of tea infusions and you are given a couple of chocolates and biscuits with it to compliment the tea you are tasting. Certainly makes you want to buy.

I would recommend a visit to the Historian museum, It takes you though 15th century Brugge with all the smells and sounds - very interesting (about 9.50 euros p.p) The boat trip on the canal is a must (15 euros) and so is the visit to the Belfry which my boyfriend did but I didn't as I don't like heights and the steps going up are very windy. I would also recommend a visit to the lace museum (3 euros) - these were previously 6 small alms houses used to accommodate poor elderly women - which includes the price to the entrance to the Jerusalem church next door. A really beautiful and old church which is also called the Church of the Holy Grave built in the 15th century.

Brugge is a lovely city to explore and I will really look forward to going back there someday soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your review! We're happy that you enjoyed your time in Bruges and in the Heritage Hotel! Contintal breakfast at hotel availabale at € 12pp and buffet with Champagne at € 24pp! We hope to welcome you again, and hope to may serve you than a breakfast in the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I, along with our 19 year-old son, just spent a delightful 2 nights at the Heritage Hotel. Luxuriously appointed rooms and a fabulous staff went out of their way to be helpful. We stayed in a Superior Double Room and had lots of space for 3 adults. Breakfast in the small but elegant dining room was beautiful - good food, soft music, great start to the day. Our room was on the backside away from the front street, which was a good thing, as we could still hear the street activity at night. Location is great, but little did we know that Bruges is party central for a lot of young people who like to have a good time right until dawn. I'm not exaggerating, we had a 5am departure thinking the whole town would be asleep but to our surprise, the streets and one particular bar nearby were still busy with young people. The taxi driver said it was normal. The room was quite expensive, particularly to add the third person, but well worth it and we would do it again. One of the highlights of our European vacation.

Room Tip: Choose the back-side away from the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel! Always ask direct to the hotel for our guaranteed lowest rate, packages & special offers, our prices are very reasonable for a 4-star boutique hotel! We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We've had an excellent stay at Hotel Heritage. The location can't be any better: a quiet street very close to the central Market Square. Valet parking is nice as well, although we had to park our motorbikes ourselves of course: safely in the cellar next to the hotel. Not cheap but very convenient!

The rooms were refurbished recently and they're comfortable (good beds), although not extremely large. The bathroom is small (but new as well) but it seems they had forgotten to add some rails or hooks to put your towels etc on. Now there only was a small towel radiater on which the new fluffy and large towels really didn't fit. But for the rest: excellent: free wifi, a new iPad in the room (almost took the wrong one home ...), espresso machine, good working airco, etc.

Breakfast was excellent as well: good quality, fresh, lots to choose from etc.

All in all: very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardPlanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your 'excellent' review! We loo forward to seeing you again soon in Bruges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a tiny, luxury hotel located a block away from the major sites in Bruges.
We only stayed for 1 night at this fabulous hotel because unfortunately they were fully booked over a holiday weekend. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel which was full of character. The room was uber comfortable, loads of television channels in English (although the last thing you should be doing is looking at television when in Bruges), there was free WiFi in the room and an IPOD to use whilst in the room, wonderful bath products and a very comfy bed (with a chandelier over the bed). The staff was always willing to answer our many questions and provided fantastic recommendations (where to eat, where to buy the best chocolate, how to get around town etc).

If you ever get a chance to visit Bruges, you must stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for recommending us here on Tripadvisor! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Cannot say enough good about this hotel. Great location, wonderful rooms, great staff and very tasteful decorating. The staff responded immediately to our every request but were never underfoot. Hotel is on a quiet street, but is literally a block away from the main square and very much within earshot of the wonderful bells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JClaytonJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your excellent review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a suite and from the outset were made feel welcome. The hotel is ideally situated and staff were very helpful and provided us with useful tips and advice. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed; furniture and fittings were stylish and comfortable. What impressed us most was the attention to detail and the effort made to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: If you can grab an upgrade deal go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeoffandPamOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed one of our spacious Suites! Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £156 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing