We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Another lovely week, thank you all for looking after us so beautifully, it's always a pleasure to stay with you!
This family-run hotel is very well located near the main square, with very comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.
I look forward to returning again in the near future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

We're so happy you came back to Bruges! We love our repeat guests and can't wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Heritage is a fantastic hotel and nothing seems too much trouble for the friendly and courteous staff. We were a family party (6 people) staying at the hotel for the second time and felt thoroughly spoilt and pampered. It's all the little touches that make this hotel stand out from the rest - from cards left on the bed at night time wishing us a good night's sleep to those left in the morning under our door detailing the day's weather.

It is a luxurious hotel and I would not hesitate in recommending it! Hope to be staying there again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claire U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Yes indeed a fanatasic location: on a quiet street, but close to a lot of activity! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Since we had been already numerous times to Brussels we decided around two weeks before flying there to change our hotel and go to Bruges instead.

Making up our mind where to stay was fairly easy. While a lot of Small Luxury Hotel Group members were available we had our heart set on the Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux - based on our excellent experiences at Le Saint Paul in St. Paul de Vence and A Quinta da Auga in Santiago de Compostela (Please see review.) only a month before.

We were also happy because the hotel had a restaurant, which the others didn't.

We took a slow train from Brussels International Airport to Bruges. We bought the tickets online and achieved a good deal with a weekend rate and paid 67.60 Euro (ca. 89 USD) for two in First Class. Of course there is also the option to take one of the express trains, which should take around an hour, but it means also changing trains, which we didn't want to do.

There was some track work going on and another train developed a problem in front of us, so the around two and a half hour journey turned into around three. It wasn't a problem for us. We had time and already bought something to eat and drink at the airport. We knew there wouldn't be any service on the train due to a journey years earlier from Brussels to Luxembourg, where we were left three hours without being able to buy anything. So we learned from our earlier experiences.

First class means more space and quiet.

At Bruges train station we took a taxi to the hotel. It took maybe ten minutes and cost 7 Euro flat (ca. 9.25 USD).

If you prefer public transport, there is also a bus going to the West Flanders Library, which is the nearest stop for the Hotel Heritage. We didn't use it, so we can't comment on the cost.

We arrived at around 2 PM. Official check in time is 3 PM and since there are only twenty rooms and four suites (the former living quarters of the owners), we weren't able to check in immediately and were asked to come back in an hour and our room would be ready. I was able to store my rucksack until our return.

At our return the room was ready. We were handed our key card and accompanied to our room, where my rucksack was already waiting for me, and explained the features. We asked if we could have a late check out at noon the next day - normally check out is at 11.00 hours, so a bit too early for us. It was granted with a smile and re-assurance it was no problem at all. Afterwards we were left alone.

We had booked a Superior Room - the only room type available to book online. Superior Rooms are one step up from the entrance category rooms. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the roofs of Bruges and the theatre. We were very happy about it since we had requested one on the higher floors. The hotel has four storeys. The fourth floor contains the suites, so we had the highest floor possible.

The room was medium sized and lavish, but had everything one could ever wish for. The main colors were red, gold and dark brown. There were three classic paintings - one a still life, the other two depicting ladies. When booking I had told my better half, that I wished we would have a room with a portrait painting over the bed, so it was also fulfilled.

There was a writing desk, a coffee table with fruit basket and sweets, a handwritten welcome note from Isabelle Creytens (owner of the Heritage together with her husband Johan), two chairs, a large bed, night stands, a wardrobe and a small shelf containing the Nespresso machine, capsules, tea, cups and a Bose wave radio with Bose remote control.

On the writing desk was an IPad. The Hotel Heritage was the first to offer one on every room in Europe.

There were also information about the hotel and Bruges, Intelligent Live magazines, writing paper, a hotel branded pen and three Relais & Chateaux guides in German, French and English.

The ambience TV was placed over the writing desk/storage space for luggage. The channel choice was a delight. It had all the important international channels, a lot from the UK, like BBC1 and 2, but also regional ones.

The Nilson luxury bed was very comfortable. It was made up in a way so it looked like one large mattress. Instead there were two. It wasn't an issue for us to have twin beds instead of a queen/king. It was hard to get out of bed. We also liked the night light function and air conditioning, which was working fast and reliable. The large crystal chandelier in the room was a prominent feature in the room and was fitting with the ambience. Another unique feature was the two old fashioned looking telephones, but they were modern with a digital display.

The marbled bathroom with granite floor was smaller, but offered everything, with toilet, bath tub/rain shower head combination, sink and a cupboard to store the towels and an additional roll of toilet paper and hairdryer.

There was a double set of Durance toiletries.

The bath tub was very comfortable, and the water pressure of the rainfall shower good.

The hotel has a fabled history. The cellar for example dates back to the 13th or 14th century, where the fitness center is located. We went there to check it out - not to do sports, though. The cross rib vault is worth seeing. We also liked the palm and flowers.

Officially the building was mentioned for the first time in 1390 and was called the Vaulte House. In the 16th century a member of the city council lived with his family there. Later it was an inn. In 1706 Pieter Jessens, a prosecutor and notary bought the house. It stayed in the possession of the family for about seventy six years. It was then owned by Lievin de la Villette de la Haymade. He was also a council, played an important role at the Noble Brotherhood of the Holy Blood and had a busy social life.

It was also a bank and fell into a state of disrepair before Johan and Isabelle Creytens bought the house and opened it as a hotel in 1993. Then it was called the Hansa Hotel. When the hotel rooms were renovated in 2003 the owners thought Hansa Hotel wasn't suitable anymore and changed it to Hotel Heritage, to reflect the age and importance of the building.

The Hotel Heritage has a bar Le Magnum, lounge and restaurant Le Mystique. Koenraad Steenkiste is the head chef, while Brecht is the Maitre D'.

We had a really outstanding dinner at Le Mystique and are very grateful we received a table at very short notice.

Breakfast was a highlight the next morning. It wasn't included in our rate, but we had budgeted it in at 24 Euro per person (ca. 32 USD). The information was available on the hotel's website and the Relais & Chateaux guide.

The coffee and tea were served by a waitress, the rest of the breakfast buffet style. There were champagne included, grapefruit and orange juice, milk, water, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, chocolate pudding, scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and other smoked fish, a wide bread selection, berries and much more. The price was reasonable and everything was of very high quality and fresh.

Le Mystique spreads over two rooms. It is classic designed and a mix between understated and lavish. Especially interesting are the doors. They date back to 1869. We enjoyed also the chandeliers and ceiling murals.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. They always had time for a chat and were genuinely interested in our well being.

The hotel is kept immaculate. There are flowers everywhere in different colors.

Guests can also buy the bath amenities, hotel branded umbrellas or in house made jams.

There is one elevator and a steep staircase. It's not recommended to use the stairs if you have vertigo.

We loved how warm the staff was, the atmosphere of the hotel and the little details, like a note at turn down wishing a good night or a card in the morning providing the weather forecast.

It felt again like visiting a good friend's or family member's home.

Would we stay here again? Definitely. The location is ideal, giving you both easy access on foot to the romantic canals of Bruges and the Grote Market. The staff and cuisine are a delight and the rooms gorgeous and comfortable.

Would we recommend this hotel to a friend? YES!
Would we stay again in the future at this hotel? YES!

Room Tip: The higher the better, our 3rd floor backyard room overlooked the theater, and on the fourth floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Heritage is a perfect little hotel located in the best possible spot in Brugge ,next to the Market place, centre of town.
This is all excellent, but it gets even better when it comes to the staff and the service, that is really of top quality. The restaurant- for hotel guests only servers a very good dinner. Also here the service is great. When we told the reception that we were not enthusiastic about the maincourse the chef came and asked us what we would like for dinner. We said we like fish ,turbot, monkfish ,etc. he presented us at the dinnertable a wonderful turbot and he cooked it to perfection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donaldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We cannot thank you enough for your review! We are trilled to read that we exceeded your hotel and restaurant expectations! Hope you will return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We recently visited Brugge this past August and fell in love. The hotel staff was wonderful and the location was perfect. Our rooms were toward the back of the property, no views but very quiet. The rooms were well appointed with wonderful amenities including a full-size hairdryer, Nespresso machine, personal iPad and much more. We can't wait to revisit this beautiful city and will definitely be staying at the Heritage. Thank you for a memorable vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GracieGirlification
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We're so happy you felt in love with one of the most romantic cities in the World! Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We just stayed Saturday August 31 2013 in a back room 3rd floor. Music and yelling from local bars kept us up until 5:30AM. Yes, the bars have no closing time.

The hotel and staff were great! However, be warned that a weekend night could lead to a horror story. Sorry to write such a review for a well kept, quality hotel. I believe management should consider discussing noise issue with the local bars.

If there is any challenge to this review being written by an actual customer, I will send you a copy of our receipt that documents our stay at Hotel Heritage on Saturday August 31 2013.

Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask about noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel. Our location is one of our best features, closeby the market square, theatre, museums, shops, restaurants and bars. Therefore we provided soundproof windows, when closed... Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A recent trip to Brugge was enhanced by our stay at Hotel Heritage. It is small, exceptionally friendly, and convenient to everything. The staff goes all out to be helpful, not only with directions and suggestions, but also taxis, transfers and restaurant bookings. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, facing the back of the property. Not a great view, but quiet and private. Their in-house restaurant, Majestic, also deserves high marks for both dinner and breakfast service.
Highly recommend and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Back facing room probably quieter than one facing street. We were in room 28 and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavinia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and that you had a great diner experience at our restaurant Le Mystique! We can't wait to welcome you back in Bruges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £160 - £596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing