We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Hotel with Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I booked this hotel after reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, which were consistently good and I couldn't agree more, as this hotel exceeded our expectations. I booked the trip with Thomas Cook after Christmas as a surprise birthday treat for my fiance, which included the Eurostar and hotel with breakfast and worked out quite reasonable, as couldn't have put the package together myself for less.

On arrival, the young receptionist greeted us with a warm smile and said that we had been upgraded to a superior room. She then showed us a map of Bruges, highlighting sights of interest and good places to eat. As we were quite tired from travelling, we tried one of the recommended restaurants on the night we arrived and were not disappointed.

The room, although fairly small in size, was furnished to a very high standard and in keeping with the hotel's traditional style, which included chandelier and high ceiling, which made it feel bigger. We found it to be very warm and cosy. My fiance even had a card waiting in the room offering him a free drink at the bar.

The breakfast was a real treat and was served until10.30am, which was nice if you wanted a lie in. The ambience was lovely and the service excellent. We felt like King and Queen, with the attentive waitress service, champagne and beautifully layed tables. The selection was fantastic and included fresh fruit salad, cereals, cheeses, yoghurts, smoked salmon, lots of different types of bread and a hot buffet selection with sausages, bacon, scrambled egg.

The whole hotel had a very special feel, particularly the entrance and bar area, which included a traditional Christmas tree. The bar area is lovely, where we ordered a few brandies to warm us up from the cold weather (the quantity was very generous and was certainly not a single measure). There was also an invisible man playing the piano in the background!

We were very sad to depart, but would definitely look at booking again in the future. I can't understand why this small, select hotel has received any bad reviews, as it should still be at number 1 in the ratings, as it was when I made the decision to book. The owners have made a great effort to give a personal service and deserve to be successful.

Miss Styles & Mr Bond
Bournemouth

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback from your experience. We are thrilled to see that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. We appreciate your comments. It is our hope that we will again have the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and had a great time.
The room was a deluxe and was not huge but fine for us and the view at the back of the hotel was just a dingy courtyard. However it was nice and quiet, last year at the Tuilerieen we had a lovely canal view but it was very noisy due to the road.
Breakfast was fortunately included in the rate and it was excellent (including champagne if you are so inclined).
All staff were very nice, the complimentary guided tour was well worth taking and we would recommend the Flanders battlefield tour with Nathan (59euros pp)
Excellent location and highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stopped at the Heritage over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel room was not massive but was very comfortable and well equipped.

Breakfast was buffet style hot and cold food and was really good we even had champagne if we wanted it.

It is a shame the hotel does not do evening meals however there are many restaurants within a very short walking distance.

The hotel is just away from the main square and all attractions are within a short walking distance.

The Staff were excellent, very helpful and polite, prior to us arriving they spent several days trying to book a restaurant for us on Christmas eve and Christmas night, they succeeded with 2 excellent meals.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hampeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write down your comments on that experience. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the restaurant recommendations from our staff. And as for the restaurant, we hope to open one soon.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Loved this hotel which is in a great location a block away from the market square. Room was very comfortable, staff very helpful and lovely lounge downstairs to relax in. There is a "night shop" on the corner of the street-a bit like a spar-which is handy.
For good food-don't eat around the square, go to side streets where there are great restaurants

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Juditanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you for your positive comment on our hotel. We are pleased to see that our great location and friendly staff exceeded your expectations. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Until that time we send our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This was our second visit to the Hotel Heritage, both times for the Christmas Market. The first time our little boy was 2, this year 3, both times we have experienced the excellent customer service of the hotel and the beautiful decor. The rooms are ample, modern, clean and well presented. We have always felt very welcome, even with a 2/3 year old, which is rare in many establishments.
The breakfasts were fabulous as always with marvellous choice and great quality. The fitness room is an added bonus, and the newly renovated bar area very warm and comforting after a cold day on the beautiful streets of Bruges.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone, and we hope to stay again in 2009, this time with another addition to the family!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cringlesrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. It always gives us a great pleasure to see that guests enjoyed their stay with us so much they return! We wish you all the best with the new baby coming and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Room 38 very very small room - this was suposed to be a superior room but looked nothing like the photos on the hotels website - only one person could move around the room whilst the other had to sit on the bed as there was not enough room to pass. Also the bathroom door opened into the room and banged against the bed as the space was so cramped.Very small bathroom - only enough space for one at a time. No room to hang clothes properly in the wardrobe again this was due to lack of space.Also furniture in the room was of a poor condition one of the glass topped tables was chipped.Coffee stains on a plate in the room on arrival which I washed up myself before using. Room looked out onto a shabby courtyard type space, although the room was quiet and we both had a good nights sleep because of the quiet.Not worth the £200 per night room rate.Did not eat at the hotel as this was too expensive, but did use the carpark. Also thought that the fruit basket was poor - 1 apple, 1 orange,1 pear in a small dish.The weather reports that were placed under the door were nothing out of the ordinary as we have had this in all hotels we have stayed in before.Hotel position was very good near to the sights and restaurants, due to the exchange rate we found everything to be expensive.Nothing very special about this hotel have stayed in much better.Bruge is nice but 2 days here is enough.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank world-wise-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write down your comments on that experience. We appreciate your comments, both positive and constructive, as they provide us with opportunities to gauge our performance and improve where necessary. We are sorry to hear that the room didn’t exceed your expectations. We hope though to welcome you to the hotel on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Excellent hotel, great location, good rooms (although on small side) staff can't do enough for you. Breakfast is a bit pricey 19 euro, but there's a great choice for your money. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tonysguboriau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you very much for your positive comments on your stay with us. We are thrilled that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations! We hope that we will again have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £160 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing