We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love immedeately!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My friend and I needed a romantic break away from the children and decided on Bruges. Heritage was a recommendation from a friend and we are sooo glad we discovered this gem of a place. The friendly and professional welcome, the ideal location and our car safely in the garage for two days was the ideal formula. The beds are comfortable, the rooms cozy without being fussy, all in all, we enjoyed every moment and will recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you very much for your positive review on your stay with us. We are so glad that both our convenient location and facilities complaint your expectations. Should your future travels bring you to Bruges, we would welcome another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2009

I knew I was going to like Hotel Heritage before I even crossed its threshold. We were making a side trip from Paris to celebrate my birthday. I'd emailed the hotel to ask for restaurant recommendations for the two nights we were staying there. Within, quite literally, a couple of minutes, i got an email from Nico of the hotel, sending me a list of possible restaurants and offering to book tables for us. He asked what we were looking for in particular and refined his recommendations accordingly. It was amazing service and it continued throughout our stay.
The hotel is lovely, as you can tell by my photographs posted with this review. It's also very well maintained, thoroughly clean, and handsomely furnished. My favorite room was the library/bar and its adjoining sitting room, complete with a gaslit fireplace and cozy, intimate seating.
Very conveniently located, within a couple of minute's walk to the central market square, it's on a quiet street. The only sound I heard from our room was the ringing of nearby church bells.
A champagne breakfast is offered for 19 euros. It's nicely presented and abundant. The food is very well prepared, though not particularly memorable.
I can't say enough good things about the treatment we received by the owner and staff. Though it was one of the busiest weekends of the holiday season, I was made to feel especially cared for, receiving a birthday card from the owner and a free drink in the bar on the day itself.
We had two excellent dinners at restaurants chosen for us by the hotel, The Visscherie and Patrick Devos.
I enthusiastically recommend Hotel Heritage. From the superlative level of service it offers, to its elegant interiors, to its great location, It's everything you want a hotel to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vivianite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to comment on your experience. We were extremely pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and that we contributed positively to your lasting holiday memories. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Heritage Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Heritage. We booked direct as they had a 3 for 2 nights deal that only seemed available from their website. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a superior room.
The room was great - clean, very comfortable, good size and nicely decorated (a bit overly so for my tastes but in keeping with the style of the hotel) - everything that we needed
The hotel staff were fantastic - friendly, wecolming and very useful
Only negative was the breakfast which at €19 per person seemed pricey but was tasty at least and not much more expensive than most of the restaurants / tea shops in Brugges
My only other tip is to go to the restaurant Calis - best tasting meal that we've had in ages - not just of the restaurants in Bruges

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to comment on your experience. We truly appreciate your comments. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Should your future travels bring you to our region once again, we would welcome a second opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

A lovely hotel close to the main square with easy walking to all the main points of interest. Fantastic choice at breakfast and the champagne is a nice touch ! The hotel was very clean and staff very helpful. Restaurant recommendations were good. All in all a great place offering excellent value for money and Bruges itself is a real gem. If you get the chance, take time out to do the battlefields day tour. Nathan is a fantastic guide; very knowledgable and the pace and VFM are excellent. There is something for everyone and it's very poignant. Do try and book in advance though as spaces are limited: [-]

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. It is great to see that both our convenient location and the personalized service by our friendly staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I booked this hotel after reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, which were consistently good and I couldn't agree more, as this hotel exceeded our expectations. I booked the trip with Thomas Cook after Christmas as a surprise birthday treat for my fiance, which included the Eurostar and hotel with breakfast and worked out quite reasonable, as couldn't have put the package together myself for less.

On arrival, the young receptionist greeted us with a warm smile and said that we had been upgraded to a superior room. She then showed us a map of Bruges, highlighting sights of interest and good places to eat. As we were quite tired from travelling, we tried one of the recommended restaurants on the night we arrived and were not disappointed.

The room, although fairly small in size, was furnished to a very high standard and in keeping with the hotel's traditional style, which included chandelier and high ceiling, which made it feel bigger. We found it to be very warm and cosy. My fiance even had a card waiting in the room offering him a free drink at the bar.

The breakfast was a real treat and was served until10.30am, which was nice if you wanted a lie in. The ambience was lovely and the service excellent. We felt like King and Queen, with the attentive waitress service, champagne and beautifully layed tables. The selection was fantastic and included fresh fruit salad, cereals, cheeses, yoghurts, smoked salmon, lots of different types of bread and a hot buffet selection with sausages, bacon, scrambled egg.

The whole hotel had a very special feel, particularly the entrance and bar area, which included a traditional Christmas tree. The bar area is lovely, where we ordered a few brandies to warm us up from the cold weather (the quantity was very generous and was certainly not a single measure). There was also an invisible man playing the piano in the background!

We were very sad to depart, but would definitely look at booking again in the future. I can't understand why this small, select hotel has received any bad reviews, as it should still be at number 1 in the ratings, as it was when I made the decision to book. The owners have made a great effort to give a personal service and deserve to be successful.

Miss Styles & Mr Bond
Bournemouth

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback from your experience. We are thrilled to see that we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. We appreciate your comments. It is our hope that we will again have the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and had a great time.
The room was a deluxe and was not huge but fine for us and the view at the back of the hotel was just a dingy courtyard. However it was nice and quiet, last year at the Tuilerieen we had a lovely canal view but it was very noisy due to the road.
Breakfast was fortunately included in the rate and it was excellent (including champagne if you are so inclined).
All staff were very nice, the complimentary guided tour was well worth taking and we would recommend the Flanders battlefield tour with Nathan (59euros pp)
Excellent location and highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2009

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stopped at the Heritage over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel room was not massive but was very comfortable and well equipped.

Breakfast was buffet style hot and cold food and was really good we even had champagne if we wanted it.

It is a shame the hotel does not do evening meals however there are many restaurants within a very short walking distance.

The hotel is just away from the main square and all attractions are within a short walking distance.

The Staff were excellent, very helpful and polite, prior to us arriving they spent several days trying to book a restaurant for us on Christmas eve and Christmas night, they succeeded with 2 excellent meals.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hampeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write down your comments on that experience. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the restaurant recommendations from our staff. And as for the restaurant, we hope to open one soon.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £160 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing