We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, superbly located in a lovely city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2009

This was our 10th visit to Bruges and our 10th stay at this hotel. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Stephanie who knew exactly who we were although we had only met her briefly once previously. Although it was still only midday our room was ready for us and we were delighted to find that our accommodation had been upgraded from a superior room to a suite at no extra charge. A wonderful start to a wonderful stay. As in previous visits the service was excellent in all departments and it was pleasing to see familiar faces amongst the staff once again.

The hotel is superbly located with excellent restaurants nearby. We would not choose to stay anywhere else. As returning guests the complimentary champagne breakfast remains a highlight of the stay as does the hand written weather forecast pushed under the door every morning.

We are already planning our next visit for the Autumn.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your experiences. It always gives us a great satisfaction to see guests enjoyed their stay with us so much they return, already 10 times in your case! We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband chose this hotel because of its top rating on Trip Advisor, and it did not diappoint. On arrival we were given a room number, and my husband asked if it was located at the back, as we had requested by email. On checking, the receptionist noted that it wasn't, but promptly changed us to a room that was, which was also an upgrade. This is a very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel, in a great location, although it should be noted that for the time being there is building work taking place opposite. This however affords a view of the Belfort which otherwise would not be there! Excellent breakfasts too, offering cooked fare as well as continental option and numerous extras. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We would like to apologize again for the minor inconvenience you experienced upon check in. We hope to be able to welcome you again though in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My other half booked a package trip to Bruges through Eurostar with accommodation at the Hotel Heritage. This was for my birthday weekend - which was also Valentine's weekend and turned out to be the weekend we got engaged!
I have specifically chosen Hotel Heritage because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor.
However, when we arrived at the hotel at about 2pm - we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they would be transferring us to the Hotel Montanus - their sister hotel. I was really quite annoyed at this. I know overbooking is a practice that business hoteliers follow to account for non - shows but given that we had already booked and paid the hotel and it was for such a special weekend - I was fuming! The receptionist we dealt was quite rude and thought that a few chocolates would make everything OK. It was also pretty annoying to see guests arriving after us and checking in OK! It seemed that they had kept the rooms for the older more established guests whilst the new, younger guests were re-located. We then spoke to the manager who gave us a couple of glasses of champagne whilst we waited for our taxi and also booked us a restaurant for that night - where we only had to pay for drinks. The Hotel Montanus was actually lovely (apart from the Twin beds pushed together) - see my review on this. And we were upgraded to a package including breakfast. Also the restaurant we had been booked into was lovely too.
To sum up - the alternatives provided by the Heritage were satisfactory but if you are a first time visitor and have your heart set on staying at the Heritage then be warned!

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AmethystLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2009

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We truly appreciate your comments. First of all, we would like to congratulate you on your engagement.
As explained to you on your arrival, we had a technical problem with the reservation system and received a few reservations at once for Valentine’s day before being able to close out that day.
We felt really terrible not to be able to accommodate you at the Heritage Hotel but we did our utmost to make your holiday, Valentine experience, in Bruges as memorable as possible.
Overbooking is not our way of working, we’d rather have rooms empty than have to book people out to other hotels. But that weekend was just an unfortunate coincidence of circumstances. We would like to apologize again for the caused inconveniences.
We hope to be able to welcome you to the Heritage Hotel though in the near future, maybe for your first anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in March at the Hotel Heritage and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff is welcoming, friendly and helpful. We rented for a small fee the hotel bicycles and took a tour of Bruges and the exterior.
We were in a superior room and the decor was lovely. Room and bath are spacious enough and very clean. I especially loved the Hermes soap and shampoo. Location is excellent and very convenient.
I can't say enough about how comfortable we were and Stephanie always greeted us with a smile and took care of all our needs. I highly recommend the Hotel Heritage and would stay again on my next trip to Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerLoewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience. It was great to see that both our convenient location and the friendly staff exceeded your expectations. It is our hope that we will again have the opportunity to serve you. Until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

My husband and I and our two closest friends have just returned from spending four nights in the beautiful city of Bruges staying at the Heritage Hotel. Luxury from start to finish, the staff are charming and and very friendly and helpful. Would not want to stay anywhere else in Bruges as we were all more than happy with this small but lovely hotel situated in the centre of the city. Will certainly retrurn here in the near future and would certainly recommend it for a romantic break. A Hotel with old world charm and elegance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. It is always a great pleasure to see guests coming back to stay at the hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Heritage Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Our two night stay at this hotel was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything we needed, and we could not have chosen a better location. The rooms are extremely clean and elegant. They are not large, but the very high ceilings help make them feel more spacious. The only strange thing was we didn't have a clock anywhere in the room. Also, on the Friday night we were there, there was a club or something nearby and the bass music kept us up all night. Oh, and the hotel offered us a complimentary two hour walking tour of Bruges with a guide which was very enjoyable. Overall, this was a great experience, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfchick222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to comment on your experience. We truly appreciate your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced from the music nearby. Should your future travels bring you to our region once again, we would welcome a second opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

The Hotel Heritage is ideally situated 2 minutes walk from the Market Square. It is elegantly furnished without being pretentious. The bedrooms are not large but very adequate, quiet and comfortable. There is an elevator for the less able and spa facilities for the more active. Currently the only meal the hotel provides is (an excellent) breakfast but there are numerous good restaurants within 5 minutes gentle walk. The bar, open late, is most welcoming. Above all , the hotel staff are friendly, courteous, helpful and caring; a true delight in this day and age. This is a hotel for those who appreciate the better things in life but don't need to shout about it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daithefly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackofficeHeritage, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Heritage Hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback from your experience. We were thrilled to note that overall we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. It is our hope that we will again have the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £159 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing