We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and do feel quite let down by the fact we did our homework before we went to Brugge and on Trip Advisor the reviews were so good we had no hesitation in booking. We booked a Deluxe room, which was fairly expensive, not even including breakfast we were charge 427 Euro for the two nights. But we thought it would be worth it. We browsed the room types on the booking page and thought how lovely they all looked, But beware all the rooms are not like the ones shown. Room 203 was dark, dingy, small, outdated, brown and orange washed out furnishings. Old Formica style wardrobes, plastic yellowing ceiling lamps. Hardly luxury 4 star deluxe. The bathroom was tiny, the space between the toilet and sink was tiny. The towels were certainly not bath sheets, they were well worn bath towel size which we feel for a luxury hotel were poor. The toiletries were no better than Travel Lodge and certainly not luxury. Although we found out after you only get the upmarket toiletries if you book a suite.
The bed had a plastic mattress protector which on a hot summer night was very uncomfortable.
The decor was tired and needed a lick of paint.
The staff were ok, we found the two male members of staff were very nice and professional, however one member of staff was fairly rude when we decided to cancel a restaurant booking 2 hours before we were due to eat, because we had forgotten to do so when we changed our plans to go into Ypes. I am sure these things happen all the time.

The hotel is certainly over priced for the standard of the room we were given. Perhaps if we had paid a lot more we would have had something more luxurious, but for what we paid I think we were expecting a lot better.

Car parking is also expensive at 24.00 euro per night. Breakfast at 17,00 euro per night. But in all fairness the food was good, but I do feel breakfast should be included in the price.

The hotel is in a good location and the breakfast room is lovely, very nicely decorated in a true boutique style, it is a shame that Room 203 was not of a similar standard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank phoenix201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

I was astonished at your reaction about room 203.

This is a room with a large window looking out over the roofs of Bruges ( with Our Lady's and St. Savoiur in the background).
I guess you did not like the style and the spirit of the fabrics. They are from the Ralph Lauren collection and represent bouquets of somptuous flowers in warm colours, that look " on purpose" shabby chic, comfortable as if there is a patina over the colours.
The room has been changed last year, with carpet ..etc.. so it is still in a very good shape.
I understand that you probably do like the design colours that are in now, but for how long?

The wardrobe doors have been painted and panelled , so this is no formica.
The toiletries are from the collection of "Carven", where they are from the collection of " Hermès" in the Jr. Suites.
Over the bed there is a coating, not in plastic, for hygiene reasons. You can understand that we can have sheets changed every day but not mattresses.
The price, 24euro for our car parking for 24 hours ( what means 1euro per hour) is not expensive at all ( Please compare with Brussels, A'dam, Paris, London).

As you said , the hotel is decorated in a truly boutique style and so was your room.

But, I understand , everybody has his proper taste and preference, which we respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Pand Hotel makes you feel like you are part of old Brugge with a wonderful ambiance with friendly, personal service. This is a perfect hotel to explore Brugge from and to return to relax after a day of exploring. I stay in this hotel when in Brugge for either business and pleasure. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at the Pand. the rooms are lovely. Breakfast was great and location brilliant. The staff were friendly and the bar prices were good (not usual in hotel high prices)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

great little hotel perfectly situated in the center of brugges easily driven too by car.
staff are amazingly helpful nothing is a problem. stayed in the Ralph lauren junior suite which had plenty of space and one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have stayed here several times and each time the stay just gets better- like returning home!!
The staff are freindly and helpful the hotel is cosy

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursularyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I visited Bruges with my husband and we wanted somewhere really special to stay. Reading Tripadvisor reviews it was the Pand Hotel that we chose.

It was a luxorious hotel and the first thing that we noticed when we arrived was that the lift only fit one person and some luggage. There was actually a bell boy who transported our luggage up to the third floor for us.

We chose a deluxe room which was slightly larger than the standard room. It was decorated quite regally and was a nice size. There was a large ensuite and we were very happy. The big downside was the paper thin walls. We could hear every cough from the room beside us. We could hear people going to the toilet, going up and down stairs. The noise was really quite awful.

The location is brilliant, within a couple of minutes you are in the heart of Bruge. We didn't eat in the hotel but we did order a soft drink one night. A coca cola light, a half sized glass bottle which didn't even fill a half pint cost 5 euros which I think is outrageous!

A nice feature that the hotel had was that you could rent DVDs. So of course, we were in Bruge and we rented In Bruges, which neither of us had seen and was a lovely thing to do one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. They are very important to us.

We understood you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the services
(such as the rent of DVD's), ...

The PAND is a town house hotel from the 18 th century situated in
medieval Bruges.
The use of concrete to separate floors or walls is forbidden in
Bruges because it would give too much weight on the adjacent buildings
.
That might explain that you noticed a difference with a present day
modern hotel constructed in concrete.

Being a historical hotel, we have no right to change the basic
construction of the house.
So, indeed, the lift is small , meant for 2 people at the time . It
has been built in the former staircase hall.
But, as you wrote, you don't have to take care of your luggage, the
bell boy transported all your suitcases to the third floor.
We have to achieve a harmonious balance between the past and the present.

We are sorry to tell you but you must have made an error about the
price of your Coca-Cola .The official price (listed in the menu) is 4 euro
and not 5 euro.
It is accompanied with appetizers ( 4 kinds).
You do not get a half sized glass but a bottle of 25 cl.
May we ask you to check your bill?

Please be sure that we use all our energy to combine the hotel
services with the respect for history and tradition

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Perfect location. Friendly and helpful staff. Ralph Lauren Junior suite is to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Business Hotel in Bruges
#19 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £132 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, is a Leading Boutique Hotel, awarded by the Tatler Guide as 1 of the 101 best in the world. It is situated in an 18th C. carriage house and is beautifully decorated with antiques, objets d'art and stunning fabrics of Ralph Lauren. The 26 rooms offer all the comfort and have luxurious bathrooms. Full breakfast with waiter-service and Champagne is served in the breakfast room, where eggs are freshly prepared on granny's stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pand Hotel Small Luxury
Pandhotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing