We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like in a castle”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had an extremely pleasant stay at the NH in Bruges. We were welcomed by friendly staff, were very impressed by the size of the rooms and very much enjoyed the extensive breakfast.
The whole place has a bit of a 'castle' feel to it, with some suits of armor, tapestries, heavy wooden furniture, etc.
The location is fine too, just a short walk away from the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,344)
There are newer reviews for NH Brugge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Had secured a good rate for this NH, it's a short walk from the station, right on the edge of the towncentre - maybe 5mins walk to the central square. The hotel has a swimming pool and our room was incredibly quiet, even with the window open (facing towards a green space). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Corridors are a bit dark and the room was clean but could do with a bit of a refresh in due course, but overall would definitely considering staying there again. Did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Reception was excellent on all occasions. The room on the 5th floor had a King size bed and all the facilities you need. The restaurant offers a €33.00 deal on the menu which is great value and the quality of the food was excellent, much better value than eating near the centre. The only downside was on the web it offers a steam room but there is not one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here two nights on business as found the hotel to be very comfortable indeed. The following are pros and cons:

Pros

Good location
Good size rooms
Great breakfast selection
Free wifi in lobby

Cons

Lack of free wifi in bedroom
Breakfast is relatively expensive altho as mentioned above spread is good

The bedroom was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Tv was old fashioned CRT style but channel selection was good.

It's about 2 minutes walk into old city centre from where you can walk everywhere.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I booked NH Hotel Brugge partly because of the pool, which was shown on Hotels.com and TripAdvisor. Well, they closed the pool a few months ago, so forget about that. Their home page is updated, but these other sites are not.

Like other reviewers mention, the rooms are rather shabby (see my picture of the mini-bar buerau), and the hallways give off kind of a 'The Shining' vibe, but I don't mind too much about that. However, our double room actually had 2 single beds on wheels pushed together -- hardly ideal for a romantic weekend with my partner! Further, the beds each had separate, thin duvets with no top sheets, so it was doubly cold while snuggling was made so difficult.

Perhaps the best thing about this hotel was the ample breakfast buffet (open until 1130am on the weekends), and its proximity (10 mins walk) from the train station.

For the price point, it was okay, but if I had it to do over again, I'd spend a bit more for a better place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Everything in the hotel is really good: rooms (not really new, but clean), tea-set, breakfast, service in general. The only thing that troubled was the absence of free Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elena_leneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

As with most other reviews we found the NH Brugge to be like most NH hotels we have used.
The staff were very,very committed to giving a positive greeting and response. From the time we registered until we left, every staff person gave solid eye contact and greetings.
The location is conveinient and the price fair.
The only two minor issues were with the Internet and wi-fi services which were quirky and a bit troublesome. The second issue was with the dining room. They didn't seem keen to accept customers. We felt we were imposing on them, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £73 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing