We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Brugge”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Brugge”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights 12-17 June. The hotel staff is very kind and helpful and provides reliable information about attractions in the area. You are also provided with gratis card which entitles one to various discounts in the city. The room was spacious and very convenient. We were initially placed in a room facing the street which was a bit of noisy but were moved with no argument to another similar room facing the backyard which was very nice.
The hotel is reachable by a 10- minutes walk from Bruges train station. On the other side of Z square facing the hotel lays a big shopping street with many restaurants and shops.
Breakfast buffet was great.
To sum up - a very nice and convenient hotel with superb service

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard such as room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cv1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    1,020
    291
    102
    37
See reviews for
311
1,310
66
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at NH Brugge. This is the first time we've stayed here and our first trip to Belgium, we weren't disappointed :) Great location, just a couple of mins walk from the main centre and only about a 10 min walk from the train station. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our double room was spacious and the bed was really comfy, we had a nice view of the church behind the hotel. The hotel bar was lovely, relaxed and had a roaring fire which was nice. The hotel lobby has free wifi (you have to pay for wifi in your room) and we had a quick look in the gym which was small but adequate for guests, I think the pool has been closed as couldn't find it and hadn't thought to use it anyway. Breakfast was nice, quite pricey as you would expect but lots of choice. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel happily!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Had a look weekend get away with our 2 young children in Brugges (because nothing available on the coast and it's only about 25 mins drive) - stayed at NH and was impressed by the front desk service. EVERYONE we dealt with behind the desk was friendly and helpful. We got upgraded to a suite, a blessing for sure traveling with 2 young girls. It is not far from the main square (5-8 mins), actually gave us a good reason to walk down the shopping streets. The restaurant service was ok, could do better. We expect more for breakfast (especially we had to pay for it separately) Overall, a solid hotel (btw, allow very late checkout on Sundays!!). If our preferred B&B in town isn't available, we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: get room to face the street, coz the other side you see the air conditioning units and the roofs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeATlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had been to this hotel before and liked it very much, but after our latest experience we will stay somewhere else next time we are in Brugge. We specifically chose this hotel because of the swimming pool, and were happy to pay that bit extra for the facility, compared with other hotels in the city. When we arrived we discovered that the pool was permanantly closed. We went to reception to ask about this and were told that it was no longer shown on the website so we should not have expected it. However, I had seen it on both their website and the site of the company I booked through. I told the manager this and he said I can't have done because it was removed. He then said he would show me and pulled up the NH website. The second picture was of the hotel swimming pool. He said that he didn't know why it was on there because the pool had been closed for a few months. He did not apologise for basically accusing me of lying or the fact that their company had made this mistake. He offered us two free drinks at the bar which he said was all he could do.
The hotel was still nice otherwise, but I just will not return after being treated in this way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We recently stayed at the nH Brugge and I would recommend it to any traveller. The location was absolutely perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were a little too soft for my liking, but otherwise the rooms were large and had everything we needed. For a few days stay in Bruges it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice view from our room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

we stayed at this hotel in June for a short break, and it was great. The hotel is in walking distance from Bruges train station and is a short walk across the square to some bars and cafes. The main shopping streets leading you into the main market square are a short stroll from the hotel as well. The staff were very friendly and more than happy to help in marking off the attractions on the map etc. The room was large and comfortable. i did request a room on the back facing the garden before we travelled over, and this was no problem. I don't think it would have that noisy facing the main road if we stayed in those rooms anyway?? A great hotel for easy access to all of the attractions in bruges!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitakbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here 4 night in a Deluxe room with 2 double beds, to accommodate our 6-year old daughter. My review is within the context of this being classifed as a 4-star hotel and I am sorry, but I would rate this hotel absolutely no more than 3 stars. The room was a good size but with basic facilities, and the bed was most uncomfortable, I dare think what the standard rooms must be like! The TV was not flat screen technology but an old style set, and reception was so bad that we could not view the Disney or BBC channels, whilst we did not go to Bruges to watch television this would have been handy to keep our daughter busy whilst we got ready in the morning. The bathroom was on the small side and cleaning was basic, with water marks clearly visible on the sink unit and on the walls, from previous guests. The staff are not as friendly as described by other visitors on this site with very little interaction with the guests. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice but a 4 star hotel not serving fresh coffee? I am sorry but the coffee machine did not do it for me, revolting!! The restaurant is as expensive as the rest of restaurants in Bruges and for a family not an option, really, with a pasta with mushrooms dish costing an eye watering 20 Euros! All in all, this is a 3 star hotel and as overpriced as the rest of the city, utterly disgraceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, NHHotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing