We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just BEautilful”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2013

the hotel is located in the most beautiful street! Steps away from the train stationg and minutes away from the market. chocolate museum, fren fry musem, canal and all the shops. It's a beautiful city that everyone should visit. The breakfast buffett was delicious!!! So many choices and great food overall!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a great hotel in a fantastic position. It was with in easy reach of the station and car parks. It was near to some very good resturants. The staff were very freindly and helpful and the breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety. We were upgraded to a better room on arrival. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. We were able to leave our luggage after check out which was very helpful. A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel. The location is perfect for the sights, the train station and a very good car park if you are driving. The public areas and the reception staff are very good but the rooms are looking increasingly tired. The bathrooms in particular need a make over, at the very least a decent shower. I think that it will be harder to justify the cost of this hotel against the tired rooms on future trips. Shame because the potential is huge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonPoppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a well positioned hotel if you are travelling by Eurostar and train to Brugge. It is only a short 10 mins walk from the station. It is again well positioned for the town as it is only a 10 min walk to the centre of town. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank 538clairea538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the start of April, with another couple, after booking through a Eurostar deal arrangement.
We requested two rooms with king sized bed and that was precisely what we got. However, the hotel went to the trouble of ensuring that our rooms were next to each other with a connecting door, which was very helpful.
Breakfast is a fairly wide affair - continental plus buffet style cooked. Ours was included in the deal price - otherwise I believe it was €15 a head. Not wholly sure it would have been worth it in that situation, as coffee and croissant is typically enough for me, but it helped the gentlemen of the party with their morning headaches. It was a nice surprise that the weekend breakfast was open until 11.30am, very generous timing, and often carried us through until evening.
Big thanks to the staff for arranging a replacement restaurant reservation when ours fell through, this was quickly and efficiently done, and the recommendation was a good choice.
Whilst the hotel isn't officially classed as having disabled access (presumably as the rooms have baths rather than roll in showers), there is a lift, a ground floor disabled toilet and ramps in most passageways.
Location-wise - this was great. Right next to the t-Zand market, walkable from the station, bang smack next to the bus station, 10-15 mins from the Markt/Burg. I have limited mobility and I still managed to get into town most days.
Thanks to all staff for making this a lovely trip.

PS - the refurbishments were still occuring to the building next door when we were there, but we didn't notice any noise problems. Probably depends on where you are in the building.

Room Tip: We were in 513 & 515 - connecting doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vorlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A big public underground car park just next to the hotel over the square. If you need to park, it is a good choice. You can reach the town centre within 15 mins walk. The bed is a bit too soft to me and water pressure from shower is too weak. Breakfast is good in European hotels taking into account the price of room. Wifi is OK but you need to get a password reception every 24 hours.

Room Tip: A room facing the square is not noisy and you may enjoy seeing people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canonLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here in late March for 4 nights, first time visitor to Bruges. Only a 10 minute walk from the railway / bus station , in the direction of the town centre (Don't book a taxi - Walk out of the station entrance , turn left, go under the underpass and its the first street on the right "Boeveristraat") . It's central , but then everything is really in a small city like Bruges.
The impression I got is that this hotel is designed to cater for business travellers ( i.e €24 for breakfast is easy to put through on expenses, but a little more painful for the private traveller - although in fairness you can get a small discount for booking this in advance). Room we had was facing the back of the hotel, and reading the reports since, its probable that these have not been refurbised. It was tired looking, not dirty, but jaded and faded. I think on our floor at least, these were the "odd numbers" - even numbers face the front and may have been refurbished. Lobby area was fairly Ok, fresh coffee available was advertised but rarely anything in the flasks unless you asked. Bar was fairly cosy, but again, not cheap. Restaurant - pricey but with an interesting menu. Rarely anyone in , so didn't bother. Staff were excellent, helpful and pleasant and the location facing T'zant square is really good.

The impression I got was that its not cheap enough to be a budget hotel ( I paid £324 for 4 nights room only), but hasn't got that extra something that you get when you pay a little bit more. Next time I would pay more and get a real 4-star, or pay less and spend the money on food and drink ! It may be that like a lot of northern Europe this price is par for the course , but thats just what I thought. Some silly extras like a fitness room ( After you have spent all day traipsing round Bruges??). Room had an old TV with no english channels, coffee/tea/kettle, bathroom had hairdryer and toiletries.

Tips: If you don't want to pay for the breakfast, go out of the door on to T'zant square, ( don't cross over), past the Morrison Bar + Lindenhof bar (avoid both) turn left into Smedenstraat before you get to the dual carriageway and at the bottom of the street on the right there is a Carrefour selling fresh Danish pastries for less than a euro each. Save the money and blow it on a good evening meal ( see seperate reviews).

One other tip, after debating whether to fly, catch a train, go on the Eurostar etc etc, opted to get a coach via Eurolines from Birmingham changing at Victoria. Only £60 return and less baggage restrictions. Not the quickest but you get to see some of the country.

Room Tip: Probably ask from fron-facing - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Powerpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, NHHotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing