We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We are just back from the NH Brugge where we have been for the weekend.
First thoughts of the hotel was that the staff were great and the hotel was very nice. We realised that the Air Conditioning in the room was broken. When we reported this it was not fixed and we were not moved rooms. Also, on the last night both me and my wife were bitten a few times through the night.
Was a shame as it has a good location and is in a STUNNING city.

Room Tip: Keeping checking the rooms until you are happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conkadonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    1,038
    306
    105
    38
See reviews for
330
1,335
66
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at this hotel. It was our first time in Bruges.
The room was spacious and had two king sized beds. The bathroom was well equipped and also there was a coffee machine available.
The location is great, not far from the train station (just about 10 minutes’ walk) and all the shops and attractions.
Staff are friendly and free internet was a big bonus. We didn’t try the restaurant/bar as we wanted to try the ones recommended by tripadvisor. We came across three locals who told us to stay away from the restaurants near the market.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here during the food festival weekend (Which was really good!) and will do my usual +/- review:

+
Price - Had a lastminute.com deal which made the nightly rate very competitive
Room Size - Very large rooms that come with some sort of view
Room Facilities - Equipped with hairdrier, tea/coffee, tv selection, mini bar
Location - On the T'Zand square which is 5min from the Markt square, 10mins walk from the Train Station so you couldn't be any better located.

-
Service - We put a do not disturb sign outside the room after a late Saturday night and took it down just before midday. As a result our room was not cleaned and tea/coffee not replenished, when we brought this up with the receptionist on duty the response was curt to say the least and he pointed us to where we could pick up our own tea/coffee and at one stage I thought he was going to take us to Carrefour!! This is supposed to be a 3/4 star hotel and not a hostel.
Hotel condition - I would say it was a good 15+ years since the hotel last had a refit, the carpets were very tired, the lifts had buttons missing and it felt like NH were just maximising profits from tourists.
Prices - Bar prices are ridiculous as is breakfast/dinner, head out and grab something and save yourself a fortune.

So overall if the hotel was to spend a few ££ on a refit and a quick reminder to staff that the customer is paying for a hotel rather than a hostel and this place could be quickly back on track.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to the station and the fact that it is on a quiet side street but not far from the town centre. The room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. Very quiet at night as it is tucked in a side street off t'zand square which has many restaurants if you don't feel like walking into the town centre. This square holds a huge market on a Saturday - mainly clothes but down the side streets there were general items plus fruit and veg. On the Sunday (don't know how frequent this is) there was a huge flea market which was fascinating to browse around. Breakfast was superb and catered for all different tastes - hot food such as scrambled eggs, bacon and mushrooms and also many types of fruit and pastries. Drinks machine ground coffee beans and there were even fresh mint leaves to make tea - very impressive! The staff were polite and friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I really like the hotel as it is near the centre of the city but not right in ' the middle' of it; everything is within walking distance, it is an easy access from the highway, great parking 2 minutes away.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean, cosy... All amenities can be found.
Love the staff; friendly helpful.
Great breakfast..
I always go there when visiting Bruges.
You just get what the hotel promises to give!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights as part of a rail package. The first room we went to was in terrible shape. Rotting windowsills held together with duct tape, ac blowing hot air, not especially clean, and a very unpleasant smell. We immediately requested a change in room, and received it with an apolog. After that, we quite enjoyed our stay. The room was a bit tired and in need of renovation, but it was clean and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The bar was nice, and reasonably priced. All in all, we felt it was good value for a hotel in such a great location.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank massuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I really loved this hotel. It's charming and has character.
The beds were wonderful!
Great location an easy walk from the train station and perfect location for exploring Bruges.
The staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank mmcblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing