We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bruges short trip”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 December 2013

NH Brugge hotel is very well placed on the main square and is excellent for its Restaurant and cosy bar. Reception was very efficient and checking in and out very quick. Would recommend this for a short break to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is an unusual experience, rooms have obviously been renovated! The bed so comfy but the linen tired and woren, bathroom very dark and shower scorches your bum! I know shouldn't complain i'm not! Sunday night no bar!! Just as well we took from UK our own alcohol and a game, commandeered an area in the lobby candles and tree , why would you take your own alcohol I here you say, we travelled Euro Star all 10 of us so drinking started very early. The staff never complained and where happy for us to entertain ourselves and we weren't bothered by other visitors either. It would have been nice to have been warned about the visitors tax per room plus took bottle of water total on check out €10, all in all a lovely hotel bargain in Expedia as well so would visit again.

Room Tip: Go higher than second floor take odd numbers as these faced out wards not over the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Needs some updating but still lovely! Good breakfast in cozy setting:) We really enjoyed Brugge...beautiful city...fascinating! The Christmas Market was Fabulous with an ice skating rink in the middle. Do the carriage ride...so fun!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Be aware that Restaurant and especially the Bar are not open on a Sunday evening, otherwise it is a very convenient hotel, especially for train travellers, and good value. Rooms are good, decent size and quiet at night. Staff are very welcoming and helpful, and the bar has a warm atmosphere with superb, multilingual staff. Would return without hesitation, other than the Sunday night weakness..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank rdavidanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location of this hotel was brilliant. An easy 10 minute walk from the station and from there another easy 10 minute walk into the market square.
Hotel was quite expensive for one double room without breakfast £200, but most of the hotels are in the same price range in Bruges.
Very clean, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!
Service was ok not great - the night concierge was very lovely but the day one and the man in the bar could have been slightly more friendly. Also the housekeepers entered the room at 8am!! Then again at 9am! Did feel quite pressured to leave so they could clean which is really not on when you are away and trying to relax! Admittedly this would be solved if you put the sign on your door handle which I forgot!
Breakfast would have been nice but €25 each for continental without any meat was just not worth it. Also be careful in the bar €9 for 2 half pints of larger and shuts very early so don't rely on a drink on your way to bed after an evening out ( we were rudely sent away!) at 10pm!

Other than the prices and some staff it was great for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2013, having purchased it as a "top secret" hotel on Lastminute.com.

The location was perfect, ten minutes from the train station and drop off point for P & O Ferries foot passengers and the same to the market square in the centre of Bruges. The facade of the hotel had character and the first impressions of reception and check in staff were very good.

The room itself was clearly past it's best. The carpet was stained, the grout in the bathroom was mouldy, the hand towels were ripped and the shower rail fell on my head. Despite this it was spacious and light, the bed was huge and exceptionally comfortable and in general the room had everything that you could need for a short city break, including free and fast wireless internet.

Overall this would a good hotel however if refurbished it could be a great one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have stayed here several times, since it was a Sofitel. Very convenient location within easy walk of all sights, with a large underground car park right in front for 8 euros per 24 hours.
Staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are starting to look a little tired, but are clean and spacious. Good food and service in the restaurant, and excellent spread at breakfast, including hot choices.
Hotels in Bruges are expensive, and this one still offers good value if you book in advance and get a bed and breakfast rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#41 of 97 in Bruges
3,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing