We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, centrally located hotel”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A great hotel, fabulous staff, huge room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and overall brilliant value for money, would highly recomend.

Hotel is on the main square, opposite the tourist information and a 10 minute easy walk to the main train station

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlykaren_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

when i read reviews about somewhere i want to go, like most people, i take the majority of views as being fairly representative of what it's really like, good or bad. Because tastes differ there will always be a few negative views & then there are always the " professional complainers " (get a life) but i do wonder, having read some of the neg remarks, just what is it that some people expect. Great Hotel, Great Location, Great value for money..... what more can i say. I tend to use travel supermarket & always look for a deal with breakfast. I booked for three nights with breakfast for £251 for my wife & myself. A couple of weeks later i looked at the same deal on the hotel website & was quoted £390 so it pays to look around.
Where to start... ok, location.... like most other reviews i can only agree, ideally situated, easy to walk to anywhere really & the carpark opp is a real bonus.Parking anywhere in Brugge is hard to find & expensive ( generally 2 euros an hour & limited to 2 hrs ). Lots of bars & restaurants on the doorstep, so plenty of choice.
Next the hotel.... Quite clearly you can see as soon as you walk in this is no ordinary hotel masquerading as a 4 star but the real deal. Very plush reception lobby with comfy leather sofas & very nice tapestries, all in all very well layed out. Staff friendly & efficient as you would expect.
We were on the 2nd floor & as we stepped out of the lift i could smell fresh paint where the corridor had just been re-painted so it would appear they have taken note of the comments about " tired & tlc " & doing something about it but to be perfectly honest the areas that had not been refurbed were fine ( read comment on pro complainers ). Our room was big by european standards & had everything you could want. Choice of bath or shower in large bathroom & beds so comfy you dont want to get out of them. On the subject of beds, to answer a comment on someones review, yes you must hang the do not disturb sign on your door & they will leave you alone.
Now to the breakfast..... this is what i meant when i said about not knowing what some people expect.... short of table side cooking from the chef in person & poss spit roasting a pig in the corner i fail to see how the breakfast could be improved, i mean just about every taste was catered for hot or cold. Where people have commented on limited or no variety i wonder just what breakfast bar they could have been looking at coz it certainly wasn't the one i was looking at. Several different types of sliced bread, several different types of rolls,not to mention crepes croissants etc., 6 different sliced cheeses, 6 different cold meat cuts, choice of fruits far to numerous to mention here as well as the usual cereals & muesili ( rabbit food..yuk ) eggs 5 different ways, bacon, m'rooms, toms, 5 different juices as well as bottled water i mean i could go on for ever, no variety though.
Look, you pay your money & take your chance, like i said be your own judge..... but would i go back to the hotel... hell yes no doubt, would i recommend the hotel... hell yes no doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and overall the standard was good. We only ate breakfast once but it was a great selection and good value for money at 15 euros each. Rooms were clean and the general standard was a bit above our expectations. The hotel itself is near the town centre and about a 10 minutes walk from the train station. The bedroom was large and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Good bathroom with a shower that works well and you don't need a science degree to operate it.
Couple of minor points. The check in was quick and efficient but the check out took around 20 minutes as there was only one person on reception.

The fuse in my adapter blew and the guy at reception told me they did not carry any spares. He added that he had never seen a fuse before and could not give me any info on how to get a replacement. Quite unusual when you come across someone who has never seen a 5 amp fuse for a plug!!

The TV was not working properly and the manager answered our call quickly and had a look at it. He said the maintenance man was not available and he could not do anything. It happened it was the one night of our stay we wanted to watch something and we were disappointed there was no contingency. Overall we would go back and if and when we return to Brugge.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brianandteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

An excellent hotel with lovely rooms, public areas and friendly staff. It has an excellent buffet breakfast and very good food in the restaurant, bar and room service. Situated on Tzand square it is only a short walk to the shops bars, restaurants, churches, museums etc. We love it, and have stayed here several times. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely place to stay for a romantic weekend or a family stay.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Pip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

While visiting Brugge, we booked 2 nights in this hotel. First the location of the hotel is wonderful. It is next to the market square where on Saturday morning you can buy stuff. It is also next to a huge parking lot so if you are driving you do not need to worry about parking space. In addition many restaurants are across the street where you can enjoy waffles, coffee, tea and any other desired meal. The staff at the hotel are very helpful. Indeed it surpassed our expectation and we plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Booked this via lastminute as a secret hotel and wasn't disappointed. Staff were helpful and courteous, room was large and comfortable, and location was very convenient. We traveled during March when the weather was very cold and NH Brugge was warm and welcoming to come back to after a day of exploring. It's not the most modern of hotels however still charming and well appointed, and it provided a way more comfortable and enjoyable stay than a more contemporary place we stayed at in Brussels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wusmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and it was really nice courteous pleasant staff , very calm and peaceful, very central, and lovely big rooms with very comfortable beds. We ate in the hotel both nights because our experience was very good on the first night but unfortunately not so good on the second, the food was good although the menu was quite limited, what let it down for us was that when I booked, the Head waiter hesitated and gave the impression that we were really lucky to get a table, we asked to sit at a window table, there are several and we had sat at one on our first night but again he said it was impossible they were fully booked, when we went down there were only four occupied tables and only one window seat taken we asked again for a window but were told it was not possible unfortunately we cannot understand why, no more people ate in the restaurant we even asked a waitress if they had more bookings but she said they had not, so why could we not sit at a table of our choice? So my advise would be stay in this hotel it's great but avoid the restaurant and go to one of the dozens of others .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinkdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#41 of 97 in Bruges
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing