We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the beginning of May 2014. It is in a really good location. 10-15 minutes walk to the markt and to the train station. The bus stop is in front of the hotel, if you need to use it. We used it to catch the ferry going to Damme. Also the sunday market is just outside of the hotel. Rooms are in good size but a bit dated such as tear on the sofa chair etc. and i don't know when they last dusted the window sills and the odd corners. Also i can't say the towels were my favourites but i guess that's personal preference. For the price and location, it is a good choice. Ours had come with a eurostar deal, so we can't really complain. Beware to the crowded tourist groups if you are checking in or out, ( a bus or two full of )because it might take a while. The reception staff was helpful and everybody was speaking good English.Also we enjoyed the breakfast very much and the staff in there were very attentive. The bar is ok but might be a bit too cosy when it is crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingfisher05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    1,006
    288
    101
    37
See reviews for
304
1,295
65
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here at the end of March. We booked a couple of months in advance and were very happy with the price we paid. Hotel is in a fantastic location , close to both the train station and the main areas in Bruges. Check in was fast and easy. The room was exactly what we needed, and nicely decorated. Nights were very quiet in the hotel , so we always had a great nights sleep ( although this could also be due to the amazing Belgian Beers!)
Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return. Only negatives would be the hotel corridors etc are slightly dated, and we didnt get breakfast in the price we paid, however the former really isnt important and the latter, we could have paid more to rectify this anyway!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DREWTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the NH Bruges as part of a P&O ferry Superbreak deal. After staying on the Ferry we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and location of the hotel. For the price we couldn't have asked for more! Rooms are spacious and well furnished, staff and extremely friendly and helpful and I felt the overall decor of the hotel was cute in a vintage chic way. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Being a former monastery, converted into the current hotel, the building has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, apart from the friendly and helpful staff, the (relatively) large rooms and the hotel location very close to the city centre, the hotel leaves a lot to desire. The décor and furniture are simply shabby and outdated, not retro/classic furniture (as they should be, give the history of the building). It is very clear that NH bought this from the previous owners (another international hotel chain) and did very little (next to nothing) to change the appearance and looks of this establishment. It is such a pity, as there is plenty of space and the rooms could definitely use a revamp. Judging by the current state of the furniture in the rooms, the hotel hasn't had a makeover in at least 20 years. Long story short, if you're happy to pay more than £100/night for a double room for was clearly isn't a 4 star hotel just to be close to the city centre and if you're not going to spend a lot of time in the bedrooms, then this may be a choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank TeoTunea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have visited this hotel regularly since 2000. Since nh took it over a few years ago it has declined in quality and needs some serious investment. Carpets are frayed, towels are tissue paper thin.our shower had mould on the walls. The window in the bedroom was surrounded by mould. This hotel no longer merits four stars in my view. The emphasis has changed from business and independent travellers to organised parties, which is fine until you find yourself behind 60 people in the queue for the coffee machine!
The redeeming feature is the staff, who are always helpful and cheerful, despite some working 16 hour days, and others being unpaid interns. Otherwise this review would award 2stars. This has been an excellent hotel in the past and can be again, if the owners spend some money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A charming hotel only 10 minutes from the city centre yet quiet at night.Staff were the epitome of courtesy offering excellent advice.The breakfast was one of the best we've ever eaten in a hotel with a fantastic variety of food.I unreservedly recommend this hotel and am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MERMAID6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Rooms were clean but dated. The location is excellent. Breakfast was good. The doors of the room however were quite a problem. We double locked the door and couldn't get out. We had to call the reception at around 10PM just so they could help us with it. Good thing they got us out of there pretty quick.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers_pass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, NHHotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing