We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but a little tired”
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean but a little tired”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had booked a single night here but as there was a Belgian rail strike we couldn't get back to the UK on Eurostar so we had to book a second night. This resulted in an upgrade but we couldn't really see much difference - there were two beds instead of one but as we only needed one, that didn't help us much. We chose the bed without rips in the bed covers. We had a flood on the first morning as I wasn't able to keep the shower head in place and the shower screen was leaking. The hotel is as old as the rest of Bruges, but very clean and tea and coffee making facilities in the room are always welcome, especially in a city as expensive as Bruges. Staff were always courteous and pleasant and it's really close to both the railway station and the city centre while still very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aztecarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    1,006
    288
    101
    36
See reviews for
303
1,294
65
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A friend and I decided to take a weekend trip to Bruges. We saw NH Brugge reviews and it's close proximity to the centre we thought it was a good deal. I must say how impressed I was.

We travelled to Bruges by Eurostar and the train. As it was a nice day, we walked from the station to NH Brugge which takes around 15mins for a slow-leisurely walk with luggage. From the outside it looks cute with the cobbledy street. We were greeted by friendly staff, the check-in process was quick and easy.

We booked a twin-room - coming from the UK, when booking a twin room you expect two single beds. The NH Bruges twin-rooms comes with queen sizes beds per person which feels very luxurious :). For me, I look for the comfort of the bed, cleanliness and the breakfast. The rooms were very clean, the beds were realllly comfortable with four massive fluffy pillows on each bed. The rooms are very tall, with two large floor to ceiling windows for light when you want it, and thick curtains to make the room dark at night. The bathroom was clean, roomy and the shower was hot and steamy.

NH Bruges serve a continental breakfast with everyone you could want - teas/coffees/juices, selection of bread, pastries, fruit, eggs/bacon/yummy cherry tomatoes, cheeses, cold meats and fruit. We were really impressed. What I really liked was that you can almost have brunch and then just have a tasty waffle instead of a full lunch.

The hotel is really close to the centre - to get to the Markt, if you walk leisurely it takes about 10 mins. It's also close to a big bus stop which I imagine would take you to other places although we walked everywhere.

In all, a really pleasant stay. I recommend this place to anyone who likes what I've written above. For those who haven't been to Bruges yet, it's a really worthwhile trip. It's a beautiful little place and perfect for a weekend trip. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ge0rginaemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel on a weekend break to Bruges. It is in a great location - only a 7 minute walk from Bruges station, located on a lovely square with lots of restaurants. There was also a big market on the Saturday.

It is only a 10-15 minute walk from pretty much all the main cultural attractions in Bruges.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and efficient. Breakfast wasn't the best I have ever had, but it did the job. We got some decent rates, especially considering how expensive Bruges is generally.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for value for money and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently visited for a long weekend. Hotel is situated in a reasonably quiet area within easy walking distance of the train station and adjacent to the bus station. About 10 mins to central square. Helpful and efficient staff at reception. Booked a superior room on the top floor. Room was spacious with a mini bar, seating area, tea and coffee making facilities and an easy to operate safe. If you have a need to hang a lot of clothes take some hangers of your own as there were not many in the room. There was however somewhere to hang your coat which seems to be a bit unusual in a lot of hotels. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Small bar area is ideal for a drink or two in the evening. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 5th floor superior rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortysomfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent one night in the hotel, 24 hours is as much time as you need to explore the town. The hotel is perfect, a short walk from the station and the town centre. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, quiet and well equipped including free wifi.
The breakfast buffet was excellent value and beautifully presented.
All in all the perfect well priced spot for a one night stand!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW54AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We walked into the NH bruge after a bad experience with another hotel to see if any rooms were available, the receptionist was extremely helpful and took us to see a room before we decided. It was a very large room. well furnished with a very large, very comfortable bed and huge flat screen TV. we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the garden. bathroom was well appointed with instant hot water.
Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room along with a fully stocked minibar.
The breakfast buffet had a huge choice and was constantly being restocked.
All staff were were very helpful.
Ideal location to explore Bruge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 188barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I spent one night here in a ground floor twin room. Hotel is a 10 minute walk from train station and 10 mins from the centre of town. I thought the location was great. A bit off the beaten track but still felt very close to everything. The building is beautiful, historic, spacious and well appointed. Everything worked well and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It also seemed good value compared to the other hotels I stayed in in Belgium (110 euros a night for a twin).

Bruges is pretty small and touristy, but lovely. Highlights for me were the river cruise, drinking amazing beers in an 800 year old cellar (Le Trappiste) and eating a fantastic rack of BBQ ribs at Ribs N Beer. People everywhere were friendly. Try and visit Bruges when it's not so busy with tourists.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, NHHotels, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing