We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, absolutely loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Brugge
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, absolutely loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at NH Brugge over the New Year holiday and had a fantastic time.

The hotel is ideally located for the train station and T' Zand Square and only a 10 minute walk from the main Market Square. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful, the service is second to none. The rooms are large, quiet and have very comfy beds! The hotel bar and restaurant may be a little pricey but there is a wide range of bars and restaurants just across the square from the hotel.

The only criticism I do have (which is a tiny criticism) is that the swimming pool changing facility is almost non-existent. It is a very small, unisex room and the door is open to the 1st floor corridor. I got changed in the loo cubicle!

Regardless of the changing room issue, we were very well looked after and would definitely go there again

Thanks NH Brugge

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    993
    284
    98
    36
See reviews for
300
1,276
63
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice before when it was the Sofitel, Brugge and I'm glad to say that the high standards that we set are being met by NH. The rooms are quite grand and large and although the bar is a little expensive it is really very nice and cosy. I would recommend this hotel mainly for it's location right on T'Zand Square and easy parking is available under this square. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed here with my husband and 2 teenage sons for a three night break in Bruges.
We had two interconnecting rooms which were a very good size with extremely comfortable twin queen size beds. The rooms were quiet with very good coffee machines which helped ease us into the day . Showers in en-suite were adequate but the temperature of water did fluctuate. The boys appreciated the pool which was large for a city hotel and not stuck in a gloomy basement. The bar was also very pleasant place to return to at the end of an evening with efficient, friendly bar staff and a good age mix.
Hotel is in a good location, about a 7 minute walk from the Market Square and I would most definitely recommend it. Our third visit to Bruges and will definitely rebook this hotel if we come again, which I am sure we will.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed for two nights for the Xmas Markets, and after never visiting Bruges before went on the various reviews we had read.
Great locations, about 10-15 mins walk into the Maket area, along lovely streets. Staff very helpful and friendly. Beds very very comfy. Breakfast had lots of choice.
Only downside was the hotel was on the darkside, but well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

My flight was cancelled to Europe (not going now as impossible to get out due to continuing cancellations) due to the bad weather Northern Europe is experiencing. Bruge was a place I really wanted to go, but now i can't. I Tried to explain this to the Hotel but they did not care. Not only did they not care they would not offer a refund. The only thing i could get them to do, and even that was a mission in itself was to give me a voucher to the hotel that expires in May. What am i going to do with a voucher (in my name) for this hotel in Brugge. I won't be back in Europe for another three years. An unsympathetic, unfriendly hotel. Be warned!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leoncollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

On December 18, 2010, our flight from the U.S. to Europe was canceled due to bad weather. All of the other hotels on our trip were accommodating in refunding our credit card due to this being out of our control; EXCEPT this hotel. We were offered a voucher only for their hotel, but since we hardly get the chance to go to Europe, we consider this a financial loss. Travelers wishing to stay here be warned of this! Based on this experience this hotel doesn't seem to pride themselves on customer service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harpteah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

This is a spacious hotel with a very friendly staff. One individual at the front desk arduously helped us try to find an authentic Belgian waffle post-8pm. Typically not a feat, but since many cafes closed at 6pm, it was very difficult. I had a pleasant stay here and consequently have no remarkable complaints.

The hotel has rather old European atmosphere -- which many fellow travelers may enjoy. You'll immediately note the armory in the lobby.

PROS
1. Good location and across the street from many restaurants. Bruges is a small city so practically everything is walking distance away.
2. Spacious rooms
3. Excellent breakfast buffet (NB: It seems the hotel takes into account the American palette)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010WorldTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Property: NH Brugge
Address: Boeveriestraat 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Brugge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing