We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

As this was our first trip to Bruge we found this hotel on trip advisor. We could not agree more with all the positive feedback that has already been written, so I will not repeat it all again. Except to reiterate that nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, and all requests were met with a genuine desire to be helpful. Bruge is a beautiful city with a warm charm, and this hotel, along with it's staff is a perfect reflection of that. If you are visiting Bruge for any purpose, this hotel will not disapoint.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andylevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    180
    45
    33
    9
See reviews for
39
307
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have just returned from a perfect two night stay at the Montanus, and are already planning a trip back in the summer!
After a quick flight, and hour long train journey, it was just a 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel. It's situated down a quiet street, just a few minutes walk away from the centre of Bruges. We were greeted by a lovely lady, who locked our cases safely away in their luggage room, until we were able to check in a few hours later at 3pm. She made us feel incredibly welcome, giving us a map, and telling us about some nearby restaurants we could go to for lunch.
After a yummy lunch, we wandered around for a few hours marvelling at the never ending chocolate shops, and stopping to sample some of course!
Upon checking in at 3pm we were expecting to be shown to a 'standard garden view room which we were a bit wary of as the rooms we'd seen in pics were painted bright orange! Instead we were shown to a room in the main building which looked out onto the street, and the famous clock tower in the distance. We didn't say anything as we were so thrilled with the room! It was cosy, with modern decor (brown and white, not orange!) The bathroom was also very modern, with a big shower, and nice roomy bath! The white linen bed sheets were amazing, we have already been on the internet trying to get our hands on a set since we've been home! The only downside was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. However, it was available all day for free in the hotel bar, so we can't really complain!
Breakfast the next morning was nice, just a standard buffet breakfast really, but with an added chocolate fondue! There was plenty to choose from, and the service was good.
We had a stroll round the grounds of the hotel in the sunshine, which was so peaceful and picturesque.
We are hoping to come back in the summer and won't think twice about rebooking the Montanus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyandjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I booked this hotel purely from recommendations and comments on Trip Advisor. It met all our expectations. We checked in on Valentines Day and after accepting my proposal of marriage, my fiancee and I went out to explore the beautiful city of Bruges. The hotel was clean, fresh and stylish. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast selection plentiful, and the rooms are so comfortable. The famous cobble stone streets and alleyways are within 2 minutes walk of the hotel, as are the canals. The station is a very pleasant 15 minute walk away, via the Minnerwater (Lovers Lake).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed 3 nights in the lovely old hotel, which has been very nicely brought up to date with all the mod cons needed, without ruining the beauty of the old. Breakfast was very good and the staff excellent. Very quiet area, yet central to all the attractions.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st59scs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We spent a great three nights here over new year 2010/11. The Hotel has all the four star amenities that you would expect, but its the level of personalisation and service that really leaves an impression. The rooms are recently refurbished and immaculate - comfortable and quiet. Internet is super fast and 'dirt' cheap - we paid 5 Euros in total for three days. The recommendations provided for local and 'untouristed' eateries provided the culinary highlight of our trip. The breakfast was superior to the (admittedly good quality) Belgian chains that we stayed with elsewhere on our trip. Its quiet and easily 'walkable' to all the main attractions of Bruges. The efforts that the staff went to both during, and after our stay, really delivered a top class experience and warm memories. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Brugge is a great city to visit, but when travelling in another country its nice to have a base that you can retreat to when your feet get tired. The Montanus is centrally located so you are never far from the relaxing atmosphere of this truly great hotel. Comfortable and welcoming, the Montanus is everything you need. However, above all, the staff are magnificent and I would single out Arnold as being a major contributor to the success of our visit. Friendly, efficient, comfortable and stylish, the Montanus is just everything you want when travelling. Great breakfast, lovely rooms and good bar.

If you are in Brugge, stay at the Montanus you will NEVER be disappointed.

Thank you to the owners and staff for everything.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtigerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This was a great hotel for which i can find very little fault at all. Having booked through airmiles we got a great deal on the room as well so i can't comment on the price.

Location - Brilliant. Between 5 and 10 mins walk from the station and also from the very centre of Bruges, set in a very quiet backstreet meaning there was no noise at all

Welcome - Brilliant. We were greeted with a very friendly welcome and a goody bag including maps of Bruges and a token for a welcome drink of our choice at the lovely hotel bar. Not only that you are greated in your room with a bag of Belgin candy and an accompanying guide! When i mentioned on our second day i could do with an iron we had one in 2 minutes, everytime we walked past reception we were greeted with a smile, and there was a feeling that they were happy to have our custom, something that is often sadly lacking nowadays!

Rooms - Very spacious, far larger than i expected. Only minor criticism was they were slightly dark and possibly for a very elderly person the shower/bath may have been hard to get into.

Breakfast - Good breakfast with standard continental fare of cold meats and cheeses, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, croissants and fruit. A couple extras they had, which were very welcome were pain au chocolat, and a chocolate dipping machine where you could dip marshmallows and waffles into the chocolate!

Overall a very good hotel, i feel very few would be disappointed with this

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lndntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Property: Hotel Montanus
Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing