We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This hotel was just fabulous, it was not only beautiful and wonderfully located but the breakfast was delicious, very good shower, the staff were courteous and knowledgable and helped with my brother's telephoned request to set up champagne in the room on arrival too. I would recommend this to everyone travelling to Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    178
    45
    33
    9
See reviews for
39
304
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Our experience at the Montanus was perfect. The Hotel itself had many 'W' like amenities, an incredibly helpful staff, a wonderful breakfast and unique rooms. The staff pointed us in the direction of local restaurants away from tourist areas where we were able to experience some incredible meals for very reasonable prices. The hotel sits on a quiet side street in Bruge within easy walking distance of all the major sites. I highly recommend this hotel for those seeking a unique high-quality experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 19...a unique private garden cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocdaedalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperhouse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had booked the Hotel Montanus after seeing the lovely website, reviewing Tripadvisor reviews and speaking directly with a very pleasant and helpful deskclerk (Katherina) to make the original booking. This was to be a treat on our trip through Europe so we splurged on the "Romantic Garden Suite" priced at 233 Euros per night. Bruges is a major tourist destination and accommodation prices reflect this.
We arrived slightly before check in time and were able to get settled into our room. Had asked about getting another room if one was ready, but apparently they were fully booked so waited a few minutes while the staff checked on the room status. After a long train ride and a walk around town we had a nap and found the noise of the guests going up and down the metal stairs outside our room #17 to be quite loud.
The suite was spacious and had some nice historical details, the small futon couch was rather shabby looking and there were no bathrobes which I thought might have been included in a room of this price. Internet access is an additional charge.
The next morning we awoke to no hot water for a shower and this was experienced throughout the property. After checking in person with the front desk and being told they were dealing with the problem, I inquired about coffee, which I thought was complimentary to guests in the lobby but is only available in the afternoon. This would have been a good opportunity to offer some coffee or complimentary breakfast but was instead was told I could have coffee for the room at a cost. Declined to pay for coffee. The second time I went back to check on the hot water, I was offered some coffee to take back to the room.
When checking out we were offered a nominal discount, which didn't seem to be enough to compensate for the inconvenience of having no shower.
I understand that the front desk manager was dealing with some unexpected problems that morning, but felt that our experience may have been different if we were offered some other compensation earlier on.
Hotel Montanus was the most expensive accommodation of our trip and failed to meet our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniperhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Location was very good, close to centre which enabled us to walk everywhere including the station to get the train home. Breakfast was excellent & complimentary tea & coffee was provided all day from 11.00am - 6.00pm. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Room was comfortable & clean & the only reason that I did n't give them 5 stars was because it was noisy at times from the traffic outside, but not enough to cause us a problem. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longsmiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

As this was our first trip to Bruge we found this hotel on trip advisor. We could not agree more with all the positive feedback that has already been written, so I will not repeat it all again. Except to reiterate that nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, and all requests were met with a genuine desire to be helpful. Bruge is a beautiful city with a warm charm, and this hotel, along with it's staff is a perfect reflection of that. If you are visiting Bruge for any purpose, this hotel will not disapoint.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andylevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have just returned from a perfect two night stay at the Montanus, and are already planning a trip back in the summer!
After a quick flight, and hour long train journey, it was just a 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel. It's situated down a quiet street, just a few minutes walk away from the centre of Bruges. We were greeted by a lovely lady, who locked our cases safely away in their luggage room, until we were able to check in a few hours later at 3pm. She made us feel incredibly welcome, giving us a map, and telling us about some nearby restaurants we could go to for lunch.
After a yummy lunch, we wandered around for a few hours marvelling at the never ending chocolate shops, and stopping to sample some of course!
Upon checking in at 3pm we were expecting to be shown to a 'standard garden view room which we were a bit wary of as the rooms we'd seen in pics were painted bright orange! Instead we were shown to a room in the main building which looked out onto the street, and the famous clock tower in the distance. We didn't say anything as we were so thrilled with the room! It was cosy, with modern decor (brown and white, not orange!) The bathroom was also very modern, with a big shower, and nice roomy bath! The white linen bed sheets were amazing, we have already been on the internet trying to get our hands on a set since we've been home! The only downside was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. However, it was available all day for free in the hotel bar, so we can't really complain!
Breakfast the next morning was nice, just a standard buffet breakfast really, but with an added chocolate fondue! There was plenty to choose from, and the service was good.
We had a stroll round the grounds of the hotel in the sunshine, which was so peaceful and picturesque.
We are hoping to come back in the summer and won't think twice about rebooking the Montanus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyandjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I booked this hotel purely from recommendations and comments on Trip Advisor. It met all our expectations. We checked in on Valentines Day and after accepting my proposal of marriage, my fiancee and I went out to explore the beautiful city of Bruges. The hotel was clean, fresh and stylish. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast selection plentiful, and the rooms are so comfortable. The famous cobble stone streets and alleyways are within 2 minutes walk of the hotel, as are the canals. The station is a very pleasant 15 minute walk away, via the Minnerwater (Lovers Lake).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
8.5 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Property: Hotel Montanus
Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing