We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, clean room, awesome location, great value”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a couple nights during our recent two week trip to Europe. First, this is a great location - close to the brewery and the south Bruges sights. Second, it is a clean and modern hotel, with large rooms (at least the one we had). The restaurant is pricey, but pretty good and convenient. One tip - park around the corner - it is much cheaper than the parking next door and only a block away. The staff was helpful and pleasant and gave good advice on sights and restaurants. A good value and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleAtlBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here. The staff is warm and helpful, the rooms are clean and more than comfortable. Try for a garden room and just outside your door will be unusual statues lining a small pool, (not for swimming!) The restaurant within the hotel is quite expensive so we avoided it but it does look good. The hotel is off the beaten path and very quiet. all in all a good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I booked this on Secret Escapes and got a deal for a 2 night stay. We had the garden chalet which was charming and spacious on the inside although looking like a shed on the outside!
Service was excellent, reception team happy to arrange restaurant reservations and recommend places.
Breakfast had a good selection and the pancakes were lovely.
No tea and coffee in room, but surely that's just a British thing? And why drink tea when there's 400 beers on your doorstep......!!
Excellent location for exploring Bruges and only a 15 minute walk to the station.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a weekend away in Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplechicken456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The place is luxurious and they are paid for that. however, there are basic things that this place need to be improved:

- missing bulbs and broken plugs
- towels were not changed everyday although being used
- soundproofing
- breakfast guy listening to ipod and singing while serving customer is not acceptable
- customer are quite often ignored by some desk staff

I totally share the review of the user 'whatsaywhat'
Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinturicchio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Montanus for 3 nights and it was the perfect location for exploring and for heading out again for dinner in the evening - a 10 minute walk from the main square. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We had a nice walk through the garden for breakfast each morning, and the breakfast itself was superb - lots of lovely meat and cheese options, great coffee and lovely waffles and chocolate sauce! There is also free tea and coffee in the lounge in the afternoon, which is nice to return to after a day out. Service at reception was slow and less than welcoming, but other than that a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clareybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel has a great location in very easy walking distance of Bruges' beautiful canals, great museums and historic squares,but far enough away from them to be out of the tourist traffic. When we stayed major renovations to buildings on the street were taking place, along with road resurfacing, so if you are planning to be in your room during the day, make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you can get one.

Our experience of this hotel was mixed. We had a large room with a generous double bathroom, but three items of furniture were damaged. It was also was poorly lit over the bed area, and when we arrived we had to ask for new light bulbs for three of the four lights non-ceiling lights in the room. Our towels were not completely clean and having asked for them to be changed in the morning, we found that we had to ask again when we returned in the vening as this had not been done despite assurances that it would be.

Our deal with discrete escapes included a 'chocolate tasting' and 'free chocolates in the room'. In both cases this was just one chocolate per person! So don't be fooled by this as a genuinely valuable giveaway!

On the plus side, the wifi was very strong (and now free) in the room. The service was generally friendly (if a bit perfunctory at reception). There was no kettle in the room, but tea and coffee were available from after breakfast until 6pm in a 'tea corner' in the restaurant upstairs. The restaurant is very attractive and the breakfast was comprehensive and tasty. We did not try the restaurant in the evening. Our beds were comfortable, but a double room consisted of just two singles beds pushed together - and that seemed the case for other doubles we looked in too.

In summary, we had a comfortable stay but are to expect a bit more for these prices.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid daytime construction noise from renovation works on the Nieuwe Ge...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatsaywhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Yes the hotel was just lovely and yes the food was excellent but it was the service that was 5 star. When we arrived and didn't have a reservation, a last minute decision to visit this beautiful city, Werner and Daisy were behind the desk when we arrived, went above and beyond to help my mother and me with a nights stay somewhere else in town until a room was available the following day.... I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Bruges.

Thanks again to Werner and Daisy

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine12178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing