We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Haven in Bruges”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet Haven in Bruges”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in June 2013 in the garden room. Apart from hearing running water from the water feature right outside, it was extremely peaceful & quiet. Large room & huge bathroom made our stay more than comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, but can't comment on other meals as we didn't eat there. Very well positioned with easy walking to all the sights. Coffee and tea are available all day and the garden is a lovely place to relax after a hectic day of sightseeing. A splendid place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room; peaceful & cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    182
    45
    33
    9
See reviews for
39
311
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I forgot to write a review for this hotel after we stayed there in Dec 2012 so here it is; the hotel is fantastic! One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly efficient receptionist, check in was smooth and we went up to our room which was really beautiful.

This hotel is very charming, lots of gorgeous features and the gardens are lovely. Our rate included breakfast which was superb every day.

The hotel is located on a quiet street about 5 mins walk from 'everything'

This was our first trip to Bruges, having been to Brussels and honestly, I love Bruges and everthing about the place. Perfect romantic long weekend in the winter, exploring the markets and the town. Couldn't ask for a better holiday.

The staff in the hotel are great, REALLY friendly and went well over and above. On our departure day we went down early for breakfast and the young man (cannot remember his name!) serving was chatty, friendly and made us fresh breakfast. Furthermore, he came out with 2 huge goody bags including rolls, cakes, fruit and nuts to take with us on our journey back home via Brussels and London. This was marvellous service and very much appreciated.

5/5 for everything!! I will DEFINITELY be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We travelled to Bruges for our honeymoon on May 13th 2013, staying at the Montanus for 10 nights in one of the garden rooms.
It was the gardens rooms which attracted us to this hotel, presented in a modern, clean fashion and within nice walking distance of the market square and restaurants but still in a generally nice quiet area - not too close to all the tourist traps.
Our stay was somewhat tainted from the start due to us not being aware of any industrial action taking place concerning the airport baggage handling staff. We were therefore without our bags for the entire trip - having to shop for clothes to wear throughout our stay. However, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful and understanding about this, we were offered a free laundry service throughout our stay, complimentary tickets to a nearby chocolate tasting and constant use of the phones to enquire as to updates regarding our missing/delayed bags.
The room itself was lovely, with chairs set just outside the door and looking down onto the gardens and sculptures. As others have noted there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or any complimentary bottled water - there were refreshments but these were in the mini bar and came with the standard extortionate price tag that all hotels seem to go in for. The bathroom hosted a lovely big bath with plenty of hot water, we also noticed that the hotel seemed to be undergoing some renovations though, the bathroom on first glance appeared to have an interesting marblised effect to the walls but this was actually the result of new plastering in the process of 'drying out'. There was also slight peeling around the door frame on the outside of the room - presumably weather damage. None of this bothered us but I imagine some people would find issue with this.
We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel's Den Heerd restaurant (be sure to check out the local restaurant Mojo - fantastic) but we did enjoy breakfast there - an option of cold meats and cheeses, olives, various breads, omelettes and pancakes in addition to a full English cooked option or cereal and unlimited tea and coffee.
The bar area was also nice to sit in during the evening - alcohol slightly expensive but perhaps on a par with most hotels and absolutely delicious hot chocolate and pralines were also available daily to enjoy in the bar or outside in the gardens. Sitting in the bar or gardens is necessary if you want to take advantage of the free wifi - it doesn't work too great in the garden rooms.
All in all, a great hotel made all the more enjoyable by the charming staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seethergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times since our first ever trip to Belgium in 2004 when we stayed there. That time we were in the suite which is fabulous. We have also stayed in one of the garden rooms & a in double room in the house/mansion. It's a very classy, clean place where you could easily impress whoever you're bringing. Out back is a garden complete with water feature, terrace area and rooms overlooking the garden. You can sit at breakfast or in the restaurant outside on the terrace or at tables looking out to the garden. So lovely. So classy. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_scarnera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a couple nights during our recent two week trip to Europe. First, this is a great location - close to the brewery and the south Bruges sights. Second, it is a clean and modern hotel, with large rooms (at least the one we had). The restaurant is pricey, but pretty good and convenient. One tip - park around the corner - it is much cheaper than the parking next door and only a block away. The staff was helpful and pleasant and gave good advice on sights and restaurants. A good value and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleAtlBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here. The staff is warm and helpful, the rooms are clean and more than comfortable. Try for a garden room and just outside your door will be unusual statues lining a small pool, (not for swimming!) The restaurant within the hotel is quite expensive so we avoided it but it does look good. The hotel is off the beaten path and very quiet. all in all a good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I booked this on Secret Escapes and got a deal for a 2 night stay. We had the garden chalet which was charming and spacious on the inside although looking like a shed on the outside!
Service was excellent, reception team happy to arrange restaurant reservations and recommend places.
Breakfast had a good selection and the pancakes were lovely.
No tea and coffee in room, but surely that's just a British thing? And why drink tea when there's 400 beers on your doorstep......!!
Excellent location for exploring Bruges and only a 15 minute walk to the station.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a weekend away in Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplechicken456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#39 of 97 in Bruges
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
#62 of 97 in Bruges
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Property: Hotel Montanus
Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing