We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, conveniently located in a quiet street just a few minute walk from the city centre. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the road. It was huge and well appointed with a massive bathroom too. It was very hot and the room didn't have air conditioning so we had to sleep with the windows open which meant there was a little noise from the occasional passing car or horse drawn carriage. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a wonderful garden at the rear where you can take breakfast and dine in the evening. The only tiny criticism I had was that there was no tea or coffee making facility in the room. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Bruges.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    180
    45
    33
    9
See reviews for
39
307
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We bought a Groupon for 2 nights in June. We had a garden room which is in fact a small building next to the garden. The room was very quiet. The hotel fully met our expectations. Personel was very helpfull and friendly. The room was nice with a large bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with all choices you would want. All kind of eggs, pancakes, sausages, beans, bacon, etc. No fresh orange juice.
The hotel is situated on a 5 minute walk from the centre. You may park your park near the central station which will cost you 3,50 Euro a day. Parking is on a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Be sure to have a map to easily find the hotel. You can also use bus 1 or 11 for free (goes with your parking ticket) which will bring you to the street the hotel is situated.
Bruges is an old city with a lot of museums and churches. Also it has a nice shopping centre and a lot of bars and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated in a quiet street. No need to ask for a special room. Just follow your own choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a wonderful 4* Hotel in central Bruges, not far from the Diamond Museum etc...very helpful staff, good Breakfast, very good service overall...Highly Recommended! I am usually quite critical...This is a very fine hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a little Chalet towards the garden not in the main building but it was lovely just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappymocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel in Bruge for both is and friends we were meeting there. We are budget travellers and were surprised at what a beautiful room we got for the cost. For those of you who love bathtubs this hotel has the best bath I've ever been in (almost in my life but maybe I haven't really lived). Because it was 'quiet season ' the staff allowed us to picnic in the courtyard which was great. The hotel is a little outside the super busy areas which is nice and has both laundry and grocery stores near by. All in all it was a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A lovely hotel within walking distance of center of town and tourist sites. The hotel staff was very helpful with maps and sites to see. Also, while we were there just before Christmas and a bit chilly outside, a big spider was resting on the ceiling wall above my suitcase. I went to the front desk and the manager happily came to remove the spider. He used a glass jar to trap and dislodge the spider, thus by sparing its life. Large sitting room off the reception area had good wifi service and a place to see other guests.

We had a spacious room in the back garden area, which probably is a must to stay in during the summer. Beautifully landscaped, with a narrow rectangular pool with lounging bronze female figures situated before the garden apartments, provide good photo opportunities.

While we did not have breakfast there (too expensive), the food display looked inviting. Free coffee and tea accessible in the afternoon.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgoitein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband, 10 month old daughter and I stayed for 3 nights, room only, in March in a garden suite room.

The hotel and its grounds were very nice and well maintained. Our room was very nice and spacious, set over 2 levels with steps from bedroom down into lounge and bathroom area. We wanted a suite so we had a separate bedroom and lounge so we could relax in the evenings while our daughter was asleep in the bedroom. Unfortunately, there was no door on the bedroom, it had been removed for some reason. This meant we had to be extremely quiet while in the lounge in the evening to avoid waking the baby up.

I would recommend parents take their own travel cots, if they can as the mattress on the travel cot provided by hotel was very thin and uncomfortable. Our daughter would not sleep on it at all :( Luckily our bed was a king size and very comfortable as all 3 of us ended up in it each night.

There was no tea or coffee making facilities in room which was disappointing - I really need my caffeine fix first thing in the morning . There was free coffee and tea available in the main hotel building but this was not available until 11 am.

The water pressure in bathroom was really bad and some of bath seals needed replacing.

Free wi-fi was available but only worked in the main hotel building, not where we stayed in the annex.

Despite these minor points, it was all in all a very pleasant stay, in a good location in the beautiful city of Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I found this hotel to be quite comfortable and spacious with a deep and relaxing bathtub, which comes in handy after marching all day around Bruges, which is as magical as you might imagine. It's easy to find from the train station and is centrally located to all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#23 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Property: Hotel Montanus
Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing