We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, helpful staff but one MAJOR problem!”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #59 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Just returned from a lovely 3 day stay in Bruges where we opted for the Montanus. We paid £130 for 3 nights through hotelconnect.com and noticed when we got to the hotel that the rooms go for around 150 Euros per night so we definitely got a great deal.

We arrived quite late at night and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel attendant who took the time to show us to our room and point out restaurants on a map who would accommodate us at such a late hour. The decor in the main hotel is fresh, clean, modern and really easy on the eye. The room was pretty small and felt a little cramp but, again, it was clean and fresh and the shower....WOW! I had to peel myself off the wall it was that powerful!

Location wise, you're talking a 5 minutes into the centre of Bruges.

All was going swimmingly until we returned to our hotel room after our first day in the city. The room was suitably refreshed by the cleaner with clean linen and towels. After getting ready and prior to leaving the room to go out for the evening, the girlfriend noticed her expensive perfume wasn't in front of the mirror where she had left it in the morning. We searched high and low but to no avail and even questioned our own sanity as we were finding it difficult to come to terms with the fact that her perfume had gone walkies when the room had been secure all day, presumably, having only been accessd by the cleaner. Had we been the victims of theft from our hotel room??? We had both seen it before we left the room in the morning. Reported it to the attendant who had welcomed us to the hotel when we had arrived on our first night but he couldn't have been less interested saying he would speak to whoever had been in the room. We said that we did not want anyone else in our room for the remainder of our stay and unfortunately, felt awkward walking around the hotel from then on. On the flip side, the attendants were very helpful organising our taxi back to the train station. In conclusion, a satisfying stay in one of Europe's most beautiful cities which was regrettably marred by having our personal belongings stolen from us by the hotel staff and bad customer service when it was needed most. Or else we would have given the hotel full marks.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2008

our stay was fabulous,we stayed in room 7 which was
huge in the garden,it seemed to be for handicapped,
bathroom was large,breakfast was a little steep,16 euros,
but we made sanwiches for our train for the next day,
Mia was very helpfull,hotel is close to everything,
we booked online with belgium bookings and had
no problems
nova scotia,canada

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We had booked to stay at the Manoir Red Hotel in Bruges, however on arrival we found it closed fopr business (see review for Manoir Red).
Fortunately Hotel Montanus on the same street had a room and a much needed car parking space!
This is a gorgeous hotel. The decor is immaculate, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service is fantastic, breakfast was delicious & plentiful and the location was perfect, in a quiet side street a few mins walk from the main squares. The hotel also has a beautiful garden, a large secure car park and an elegant bar.
The price is average for Bruges but the quality was way above average.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Have just returned from a trip to the Hotel Montanus, we stayed in a garden room which, unfortunately looked nothing like photographs we had seen! As previously suggested a 4 star hotel with sleazy, orange 2 star rooms, not as clean as I find acceptable either. From the start, it felt like everything was done to "lift" as much extra money from us as possible, the steep price of 15 euros per day to park our car on site,in my opinion, over priced breakfast, likewise with the mini bar tarrif and then the threat of a 5 euro charge if we dared to lose the plastic key!!!
I wish I could have said something nice about the staff, but as a flight attendant, used to travelling every week, the reception staff here were amongst the most amazingly unfriendly and completely disinterested I have ever encountered.
Location was great and we loved Brugges, but suggest you keep looking if you think this is the answer to your accomodation needs.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Johnboy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familleb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: de kamers liggen in de tuin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 438claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank olivier-valen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Castillion Hotel
De Castillion Hotel
#58 of 97 in Bruges
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#27 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing