We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIP TOP”
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montanus
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This is a really good hotel not far from the main square in bruges. The rooms are lovely and spacious. The breakfast is very good with a choice of several meats and cheeses, yoghurt, cereals etc. Then there was scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. The staff are pleasant and ther eis a lovely garden at the rear to sit in. It also has a bar with a wide selections of drinks.If i return to bruges and that is a possibility then this will be the hotel for me.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MAROONWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Montanus is a lovely spacious hotel. Formally a large house, the lounge and bar are very comfortable. There are a choice of rooms in the main building or the garden. Breafast is good, but the overall impression you are left with is how welcome the staff make you feel. All you would expect from a Bruges hotel. Plenty of parking at a nominal charge. Walk to the centrum for dinner and then walk back to the hotel along moonlit canals. I will be returning this year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingtigerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

stayed for 4 days recently. very clean, extremely helpfull staff. very good breakfast. quite rooms. the hotel is very close to the centre of Brugges. good restaurants close by - Belle Epoque - www.belleepoquebrugges.be, koets 27b - www.koets27b.be

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rina-menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is on a quiet road but really close to the centre of Bruges, so very convenient. The staff were really friendly when we arrived, and walked us to our room, which was in the garden. I was immediately struck by how many areas in the hotel there seemed to be to just sit and relax. Unfortunately it wasn't very sunny when we were there, so we couldnt make the most of the outside seating and sun loungers, but I can imagine it would be lovely to sit out in the garden when it is warm.

The room was really nice and spacious. The bed was absolutely massive and comfortable and as other people have mentioned, the bathroom was really big. There was also two big windows, so plenty of light, and one of them had a window seat as well. The whole room had a nice authentic feel about it, and didnt look like your normal everyday hotel room. Dont be put off by the exterior of the garden rooms... they look a bit like a shed, but gorgeous inside!

I am a big chocolate fan, so was very please to see some chocolate awating us on the bed! The staff were really helpful, when we phoned reception to ask if they had an ironing board they brought it to our room for us, and also lent us an adaptor as I had forgotten to pack this.

Breakfast was good, with a large selection of food including cold meats and cheeses, pastries, toast, cereals, cooked eggs and sausages, yoghurt, fruit and best of all a chocolate fountain!! Quite pricey at 16 euros each, so make sure you get your monies worth!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, I had a lovely stay and would come back if I was visiting Bruges again. It is on the expensive side, but I think most hotels in Bruges are.

I would also recommend the restaurant De Stove - definitely the best meal we had there. Really intimate and small, so you probably need to book ahead, but the food is great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a 3 day break to bruges that we booked via lastminute.com . We arrived a few hours before check in time that is 3pm and expected staff to offer us our room early as some hotels who want to exceed your customer service expectations do however they didn,t but not a huge problem .The female recpetionist took our bags to a lugguage room to store them whilst we went off to explore the lovely city .
We took a right turn out of the hotel then a left towards the market sq to explore .First on our list was a trip up the Belfry tower however we found it was closed from 19th - 25th april for renovations -that we were disappointed with but can be expected if you travel out of season .Again this didn,t spoil our visit because there is plenty to see and do . It gives us another reason to go back that we will definatly do .

The hotel advertises rooms from about 150 per night so expensive if you book direct but not if you search internet for good deal expect to pay about 80 euros a night .

Hotel interior very modern , clean and boutique like . The garden is a nice space to relax in the sun away from the busy tourist city square and that is exactly what i did on their sun loungers next to great water feature .

We stayed in a garden room (number 10) that was average and very orange. My husband paid for a room upgrade however i,m not sure this was honoured by giving us a garden room but we were happy with what we had and didn,t want to make a fuss. We did have to move the bed around so that we could watch the tv whilst lying on same because the tv was fixed to the wall and not easy to view where the bed was.
The bathroom walls are decorated in a brown plaster like finish that look unfinished - but clean , with huge bath and shower .
We did not receive any welcome drink or chocs as i have read in previous reviews - I wondered if this is because we had booked via last minute therefore paying less than others.

Staff very attentive , welcoming and friendly - We were shown to our room by staff and some local places were recommended .
Breakfast is expensive at 16 euros but there is a good choice of cooked , cereal , fruit , cheese , meat and pastries plus choc fountain so if you eat all of this and not just cereal in the morning you can get your monies worth .
Staff at breakfast - customer service skills could be developed as not very friendly.

Overall excellant hotel , location , and service be it a bit pricey but its the same in the whole city with the current rate of the pound against the euro . Expect to pay between 15 - 28 euros for a main meal , 6 euros for a irish coffee , 3 euros for bottle of water , about 8 euros for a lovely box of about 15 belgium chocs , 6.90 euros for a boat ride on the canals ...

We found a lovely little sq off of the main market sq for a nice drink in the sun at Joeys cafe.On our first night in search for a place to have dinner we found that most restaurants serve for the same sort of menu and if around the market sq expensive . It was cold at night so after a while we did get a bit fed up of looking for somewhere , we stopped at the crowne plaza hotel restaurant and the meal was surprisely good and very reasonable .
The next day we had dinner at Mojos - that is some way of about a good 10/15 min walk from our hotel and sq but worth every euro .Good quality food , nice atmosphere and attentive staff.

If looking for cheaper chocs to take home try the shops on the main shopping street (for clothes) that is on your left if you had your back to the belfry tower . - Also a great street for shopping (for clothes not sovernirs) that leads to a sq of restaurants with variety of choice such as indian , bistros and even a pizza hut .

I would recommend if you do try a boat trip on the canels try to time it right by walking around to look for one that is slightly out of the way , and not so busy so that you do not get so many people that speak so many different languages because the tour guards will struggle to keep everyone happy - like we found on our boat . There was about 6 different languages that meant we couldn,t understand half of what was being said around the tour but it was still worth seeing the sights from the water.

If we had stayed longer we would have tried the bike hire that is about 8 - 12 euros for the day .

I agree with a previous review bruges is definately more romantic and a nicer city than paris.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saunders_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

we had a lovely break in brugge, made all the better for staying in this hotel. our room was light and airy, and could have held a tea party in the loo. it was huge. breakfast was lovely, all kinds of choices. from continental to cooked, fresh rolls and bread every morning. fruit, yogurt, chocolate fountain too. a lovely haven out in the garden at the back, the staff were so nice and helpful, nothing was any trouble to them. i will only go back to brugge, if i can stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbet-fizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

+ : the room was big, located in the back of the garden, therefore quiet and romantic. The hotel is well located. The breakfast is good. We could leave our luggage at the reception desk before getting to the room and after leaving it.
- : the mosquito net wasn't correctly placed, we had to go and buy some product against mosquitos. Still too expansive for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#23 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Castillion Hotel
De Castillion Hotel
#57 of 97 in Bruges
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £85 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing