We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

NIce, modern hotel on edge of Central Brugge - a lovely 10 minute stroll and you are in the central square

Rooms are reasonably sized, well laid out - the only minor complaint was that the pillows were too soft, buts thats just my personal view, my partner said they were fine for her

Nice, if small bar area, next to very pleasant resteraunt - pool wasn't open but it looked well kept

Great hotel for exploring Brugge, nearly everything within a 30 minute walk of hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambermooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    1,356
    280
    47
    21
See reviews for
1,029
1,029
61
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is not exactly in the very centre of the city so you won't be disturbed by the noise from the crowds of tourists. A walk to the central square takes about 10 minutes, and the train station is within about 20 minutes' walk. There is a supermarket across the road - convenient for snacks, water, etc.

The room was nice and clean, with a comfy bed. Friendly staff. Good to have free wi-fi in the rooms.

20 euros for hotel breakfast seemed a bit too expensive so I chose to breakfast in local cafes, which are numerous on the way downtown.

On the whole, a comfortable stay. I would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room - there is some traffic noise on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Novotel Bruges was surprisingly in stark contrast to the rich historical village of Bruges. The ultra-modern lobby area sported red lighting fixtures, geometric furniture and video art on the walls of the open floor plan bar and restaurant. Internet was offered free and the staff was quite helpful. Just outside the brick entrance drive lay the historical village-complete with horse-drawn carriages--clop- clopping on cobblestone streets, a convent, chocolate shops, bakeries, and churches. I expected Charles Dickens to arrive at any moment! The main square boasts several restaurants and the local fresh fare at the time was mussels and fritas. The room itself was utilitarian but quite adequate-everything you need, very compact; relatively new, and clean. The breakfast buffet was extensive, but the chairs were close together and it was crowded. Perhaps if you arrive early it may be less so. For good access to Bruges and all it has to offer, a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel is right within the canals perimeter, step out and walk 2 minutes to grab a boat ride on the canals. Very enjoyable place with great pool and meticulously maintained landscape. The basement parking is very very tight. We rather use the exit to enter as we had about 2inch clerance with the car to make it down the first time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Located in one of the main roads of Bruges it's about 15min walk from the main station or a short ride by taxi. From the main Centre / Cathedral its about 10min walk. It's just outside the main square, excellent for those looking for quiet area as Bruges can be very busy on a weekend / bank holidays. For those with walking difficulty that might be a bit of problem. Anyway Bruges is not big at all. I hired a bike so I could go everywhere in a fraction of mins.

This hotel seems quite new (refurbished?), it's opposite an IBIS hotel (in case you are searching on a google streeet map). The main hall is grand, new and well decorated, Novotel standards for those who are used with it. It's in a very quiet area, the hotel is by a court so the road is a few yards away from the main entrance / rooms.

Very big bar located right at the entrance, spacious lounge.

Friendly staff at the reception, they were able to give us all information we needed, maps, location etc.

There are only 3 floors, so very easy to go up and down, lifts.

Room Tip: Near the lift, as they have long long corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for one night at the end of our holiday in September. Basic room but clean. Bathroom quite small but enough for a couple for one night. Tv was very outdated - which doesnt matter when the sights outside are so amazing but we stayed in Camponile's on this holiday with better sets - for much cheaper! We opted out of the breakfast as 20 euros each seemed a bit steep. But lots of restaurants close by! Hotel very central, after a short walk we found the Saturday Market where we found an abundance of food stalls! Amazing pastries and fresh bread looking over the canals was a much better breakfast! We enjoyed our picnic so much that later in the morning we returned for fresh bread, roti chicken and more pastries (and a sneaky bottle of beer) and again sat in a quiet area on our own looking over the canals in peace. The area is amazing, the shops are amazing, the canal boat ride is a MUST (be prepared to tip your driver even after buying your tickets). The staff in the hotel were very helpful and spoke perfect English (we were a little worried about our flemish!!), even providing us with a small map of the city. The carpark is under the hotel which is public so can get busy but is big enough to accomodate everyone. Not too much for one night (About 20euros) but might be worth putting some money to one side if your staying more than one night! We did not use the restaurant as we wanted something looking over the square but their menu seemed quite large and not TOO expensive. I would still recommend getting out into Bruge to see it lit up at night and try some Moule Frites and a bottle of beer. Cant bet Belgium mussels - so different to French (where we spent two weeks of our holiday). Overall, Loved Bruge, hotel was alright, but we didnt spend much time inside! (There is a pool for those of you that get good weather, was a bit chilly when we stayed!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelNorthEast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Brugge is a beautiful city with breathtaking architecture at every turn (mostly 16th/17th Century) no wonder it's been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site!

We stayed in the (3 star) Novotel and can highly recommend the place. Clean, modern rooms and such friendly, helpful staff. Reception and bar staff spoke perfect English (French, German and Flemish too!) and without exception were charming.

The hotel, whilst not quite central, is within an easy walk of the main square and the cathedral. There is an underground car park (not operated by the hotel) which costs 9 Euros a night. It was easy to access and we had no problem finding a space even for our 4X4. Once at the hotel, it remained in the car park for the entire stay. We walked everywhere - Brugges is so pedestrian friendly.

Recommend the canal trips - you get a good view of Brugges which, from the water, looks similar to Amsterdam.

Opposite the Novotel is the Ibis (2 star). We ate the first night in the Ibis - it was Ok but wouldn't recommend it as there are so many fabulous restaurants in Brugge. Can highly recommend The Gruuthuse Hof in Mariastraat. Excellent fixed price menu (they call it a "Tourist Menu"). Only E16.50 for three courses of simply brilliant food.

Back at the Novotel we enjoyed a plentiful breakfast each morning in their relaxed and well managed restaurant. My only quibble was the hot breakfast - buffet style but left out a bit too long so very "crispy" bacon and rather "rubbery" scrambled eggs but made up for by a good selection of hams, cheeses, cereals, pastries and breads. Even freshly made pancakes with Maple syrup and lots of hot coffee.

If you can get a discounted rate (sometimes they offer 3 nights for the price of 2) then the Novotel represents excellent value for money. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were genuinely overwhelmed by the friendly and professional service at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brugge Centrum

Property: Novotel Brugge Centrum
Address: Katelijnestraat 65B, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bruges
#11 Business Hotel in Bruges
#23 Family Hotel in Bruges
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Brugge Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brugge Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the historic centre of Bruges, a unique European city known as the Venice of the North. It features 126 comfortable and functional rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 8 rooms for meetings and conferences and1 large multifunctional room. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Bruges with your partner or family, boasting a garden, terrace and outdoor heated pool in summer. Public pay parking available under the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Brugge Centrum
Novotel Bruges
Bruges Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing