We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special but nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nothing special but nice enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good location; quiet; comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent. Room was nothing to write home about - not quite sure why they're called superior as they seemed pretty basic - but the overall experience was good enough. Nice pool to lie by when the Brugge weather allows.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose101uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in our hotel. We are most concerned with your satisfaction and your feedback is of great value to us.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed our excellent location. However we regret that our rooms did not meet your expectations. Your comment has been carefully noted and we can assure you this will be taken into account. Then again we were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet and your kind comments will be shared with our team.

May we end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you again very soon in Novotel Brugge Centrum.

Sincerely yours,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    1,324
    269
    45
    21
See reviews for
996
1,002
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

been to this hotel many times can't find anything wrong with it.
it's in the middle of old bruge. has it cheaper brand opposite
the ibis which is also a very good 2 star hotel have stayed in
them both going again august bank holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your feedback is of great value to us
.
May we offer our sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Novotel Brugge Centrum. We are happy to see that you enjoy every stay in either Ibis or Novotel and that we remain your top choice in Brugge.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A family short stay for 2 nights at the Novotel. We read reviews before coming to this hotel and really were relying on the fairly reasonable reports reviewers provided on TA. In all fairness on our arrival found for a 3* rated Hotel we were pleasantly surprised and would say a good place to stay. In my opinion having stayed at supposedly 4* Hotels around Europe and other parts of the world the Novotel Centrum is superior to a large extent both in terms of service and facilities.

Very well located and close to all the amenities one would need for a stay. Special mention must be extended to the front desk team for their patience and helpfulness ; always willing to go the extra mile to assist one's needs. They are a credit to the Novotel Centrum.

Not making a big fuss or issue but at breakfast on our first morning one of the ladies (not sure if she was the team leader) always appeared to be abrupt in her general attitude towards some of the guests. She could really do with a few tips of first class customer service from the Hotel's other well mannered staff. However, please do not let my observation put anyone off staying at the Novotel Centrum; this is a value for money place to stay.

A final comment and I hope perhaps the management may consider my suggestion as an improvement rather than a criticism. All the rooms appear to have bath and toilet facilities in separate locations within each room. It would really be more appropriate if small sinks could be placed in the toilets as well which would go some way in improving the standards of this very good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 315 does not give a perfect view of the street only roof tops. So avoid if you possibly can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waipawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in our hotel. We are most concerned with your satisfaction and your feedback is of great value to us.

It is with great joy and interest that we have read your review. We are delighted to read that you were impressed with our level of service, our team puts a lot of efforts in the service standards and we take much pride in your kind words. We have communicated this with our team and we are sure that a review like yours will continue to motivate our staff. However we regret to read your comment about our breakfast staff. We are currently investigating this matter and we can assure you the right measures will be taken.
Your suggestion on the sinks in the toilets has been carefully noted and we will take your comment into consideration in the future.

May we end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you again very soon in Novotel Brugge Centrum.

Sincerely yours,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location - ten minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes into the main town. The staff were always professional, polite and very helpful - special thanks to Kenny on the front desk for his patience!

Our room consisted of a double bed and sofa bed for our two boys aged 5 and 7. Very comfortable stay and extra towels were provided upon our request.

There is a little supermarket just across the road, with lots of restaurants and shops close by.

Would recommend this hotel for a short stay / long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your feedback is of great value to us.

May we offer our sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Novotel Brugge Centrum. We really appreciate your comment about the helpfulness of our staff and we will communicate this with our team.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A great hotel. Easy to find if driving into Bruges. Parking next door, which cost us €17 for 2 days. Great location about a 5-10 minute walk to shops, main square but lots to see along the way. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and clean. All good value for money. Have stayed here before and will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncp150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your feedback is of great value to us.

May we offer our sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Novotel Brugge Centrum. We are very proud that you have stayed with us before and that you would return without hesitating.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Family of 3 Road Trip through Europe. Stop 1 Brugge 27th and 28th July.
€235 + €5.30 tax for 2 nights inc breakfast.

Euro Tunnel to Calais. Stopped in Dunkirk briefly to visit memorial on sandy beach.
Hotel located centrally, opposite Ibis. Outdoor pool but not heated as advised. Supermarket opposite hotel. Took horse and cart ride from Market Square around city centre. Guide in English. Worth doing at €49 for 25 mins. Town mainly filled with bars and restaurants. Beautiful rivers, would have taken boat ride too but no time. Boat picks up at several places. Recommended to have dinner at Maximiliaan ban Oostenriik. Restaurant by river. Sat outside 1st night. A little chilly 2nd night, sat inside by fireplace. Staff friendly and spoke English. Happy to offer suggestions. 2nd night ate muscles for the first time - very nice, definitely recommend this lovely restaurant - roughly €90. Hotel clean and comfortable. Great night sleep. Good breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra-De-Meyere, General Manager at Novotel Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in our hotel. We are most concerned with your satisfaction and your feedback is of great value to us.

We are pleased to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms and our extensive breakfast buffet. However we regret to read that you thought the pool is not heated and we would like to point out that the pool is heated up until 22°C.
We were also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our recommended restaurant “Maximiliaan Van Oostenrijk”. It is one of our top recommendations and we are always happy to read that our guests loved the restaurant as well.

May we end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to welcome you again very soon in Novotel Brugge Centrum.

Sincerely yours,

Petra De Meyere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brugge Centrum

Property: Novotel Brugge Centrum
Address: Katelijnestraat 65B, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bruges
#11 Business Hotel in Bruges
#23 Family Hotel in Bruges
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Brugge Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brugge Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the historic centre of Bruges, a unique European city known as the Venice of the North. It features 126 comfortable and functional rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 8 rooms for meetings and conferences and1 large multifunctional room. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Bruges with your partner or family, boasting a garden, terrace and outdoor heated pool in summer. Public pay parking available under the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Brugge Centrum
Novotel Bruges
Bruges Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing