We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for families and traveling with pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was very impressed by the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but we made reservations at the last minute and needed a place that would allow us to bring out dog. The pool is very nice and there is a great playground for the children. It was very nice to look out our window and see the cows in the field next to the parking lot.

There was a bit of street noise as it is close to the road and finding it was rather difficult due to the road construction, but after a call to the hotel they were able to give us an alternate route and address to use to plug into our GPS.

The hotel was a quite a bit further out than we expected, but it actually turned out to be nice. It will take about 5-10 minutes longer to get downtown than it should due to the alternate route you must take to get there, but once you get the hang of it, it isn't too bad.

We enjoyed the pool daily. We paid extra to have breakfast included and were slightly disappointed they didn't have waffles available, but everything they did have was great (not your typical continental breakfast).

They say that wi-fi isn't available for free aside from in the lobby, but we were able to access it from our room at no charge.

We will recommend this to anyone traveling with pets and/or children. They even have a playroom for children that includes a PS2 with FIFA 2007 (I believe) to play.

My only downfall to the room is that the bed isn't very comfortable, but I'm used to my tempurpedic, so nothing is as good as that for my back. And the lack of a/c, but that is par for the course in Europe, so we slept with the window open.

Room Tip: Check their website AND call them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stitcherella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

We booked this hotel based on other good reviews, but I was still apprehensive. I booked it via the hotels own website. The hotel is confusing to reach, as there is major construction blocking the main way in. But a few u-turns and we found it. The exterior is 1970's square, but inside in has a lovely upmarket look. Very smart reception, chic lighting, light and airy. The staff are efficient and helpful, if not super friendly.

The room was a pleasant surprise and relief! Modern and clean, with a entry area with loads of hanging space, suitcase space and a door to a toilet, with the main bathroom next to this. The bedroom is really spacious, with a sitting area with comfy leather sofa, flatscreen tv mounted on the wall and small balcony overlooking the gardens. The TV had several english channels; BBC1, BBC2, ITV, SKY news and CNN. The room also had a kettle and a fridge - both a real bonus! We picked up wifi on our laptop free in the lobby, they give you a code - although there is also a complimentary computer in the lobby for guests to use, a nice touch. There is a major motorway very near the hotel, which is a bit noisy in the day, but by evening the traffic has died down, so really quiet overnight. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food coming out looked delicious.

We felt we could have stayed here for an entire holiday, as the gardens are beautiful and well kept and there is a huge outdoor terrace with lots of tables and umbrellas. There are activities for every age; sand pit, swings, table tennis. It is only a 10 minute drive to the center of Brugge. Tip: Park at the train station - only 2.50 euros for 24 hours, absolute bargain! I am fussy, but can say: book here with peace of mind, it is a lovely bargain find this close to the center of Brugge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Spacious room, very simple but functional. Not too clean. Probably removed after the departure of guests, but not before visiting.
Free WiFi.
Free parking.
Not very friendly staff. However, a map of Bruges were given immediately on arrival.
Currently being renovated trails, access to the hotel without a GPS navigator is not possible.
Excellent breakfast!
Allowed to stay with the animals.
Beautiful surroundings: forests, meadows, cows ...
In Bruges went to the car. Underground parking at the center of 6.70 euros for 6 hours.
Bruges - it's fantastic! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iren_beloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed here for a few nights in April/May. Booked via hotels own website. We were looking for a hotel in Bruges with parking for the car, as we were driving from Calais- straight of the channel tunnel.

The hotel is really easy to find, straight off the motorway at junction 7, and it seems to be just there. Its in really nice wooded grounds that seemed to be well kept. There was plenty of parking for free!
Check in was swift and we were even given maps of Bruges and recommendations for where to visit etc..
Went to room #242, really spacious, nice comfy bed, LCD tv and nice bathroom, even had a mini fridge for water etc. we had a small balcony which looked over the gardens-really nice.
We booked this hotel as it had a swimming pool- however upon arrival I noticed the pool looked green and smelled horrid! I was told it didn't open until June, given that it was 25c all week, that was a shame!
Breakfast was included with the price and was great, nice selection of usual continental stuff.
One other let down was the room service, on the first night we were tired so ordered room service- I wanted a cheese and ham toastie with french fries, I was told by a very room man on the phone that we don't do fries to you room, which I thought was strange as they do them downstairs in the restaurant! Free in room WI-FI would have been good aswell- but only available down stairs. Other than that all was ok.

The hotel is good for travelling to Bruges, I'd say by car its around 8-10 mins, and parking at the train station is only 2.50 euros for all day!
I would stay here again, but when the pool was open.
All in all I would recommend, but please add fries to room service!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dylan292008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We arrived in Bruges via the Roysth ferry, for 5 days with one aim too explore the xmas markets. In Bruges, Lille in France, and Aachen in Germany, And the first thing we found was the location of the Leonardo hotel perfect,! just the job.! The only problem we found was the roadworks outside but once you mastered the little map which was given too us on arrival by a very friendly receptionist , called Annaleem who took her time explaining everything in perfect english, it was so easy after that.
With that in mind we found our room better than expected, very spacious plenty cupboards etc, the bathroom shower , toilet were well maintained and towels replaced daily. And lo and be-hold a kettle tea/cofee maker just the thing for a morning cuppa, as we arrived in mid-winter the outdoor pool was a no no. But looking at the bigger picture it would be a fantastic location during the summer especialy for kids. The restaurant was really good with a menu too match well laid out as for the bar well that takes care of its self , prices not too bad.
As we were there for the xmas markets Bruges itself was just a 10 min car ride away just follow the Map provided and either park at the railway station for a few euros. or better still park in the underground car park just after it for about 6 euros, and Bruges city centre is just a 5 min walk you couldn't get it any easier. and if you want too travel further afield we drove down too Aachen in Germany in under 2 hrs, we also drove across to Ypres and took in the sights of the mennin gate etc. Before heading into Lille in France, and all this was made possible due to the perfect location of the Leonardo Hotel and it's motorway connections.
On a final note on the way back from Lille I had a blow out on my front tyre which just had too happen on a dark road , on limping back with a space saver tyre to the Leonardo I enquired about a tyre repair service centre not only did the staff go out of their way too help get me an address. But the friendly Annaleem went out of her way to print me a detailed map to the centre in Bruges, now ! thats what I call service so top marks everyone. And if your driving in Europe with low profile tyres beware of the sunken kerbs they are lethal..!
And I would most certainly return too this hotel again..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigb67Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The hotel is conveniently located near a motorway exit, unfortunately this exit is currently subject to road works. This meant when leaving the motorway for the hotel we had to drive around the ROAD CLOSED sign to get to the hotel.
The friendly helpful hotel staff told us how to drive the 4kms into Brugge on the road used by the locals so avoiding the motorway. This route into the city passes a LIDL supermarket on route to one of the city’s car parks which charge 2.50 Euros for 24 hrs parking, with a free bus ride into the city centre included in that price. It is possible to walk into the town centre and to all of the sights from the Centrum Car Park. The Burg Square with the City Hall, Liberty Museum and Basilica of the Holy Blood is outstanding. The City Card at 33 Euros is good value if you intend to visit most of the museums and it includes a free boat trip.
This modern hotel is set in a woodland location with ample free car parking, the outdoor swimming pool looks inviting for the summer months.
We had a clean spacious ground floor room and we were not troubled by any motorway road noise. The buffet style morning breakfast was alright, but the food variety was not change during our 3 nights stay. In our opinion compared with other European hotels we have recently stayed at breakfast at 15 Euros each was pricey.
We are planning to use this hotel again next year. Oh yes Brugge is a must visit place and allow yourself a couple of hours to visit Damme, a small village near to Brugge.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayauditors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Don,t go to this hotel if you need wi fi access!
Its a great shame, lovely hotel, spoilt by lack of internet service.
I cannot believe in 2010 that senior management DO NOT UNDERSTAND
just how critical this is to its customers.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank yalding72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
1.9 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#59 of 97 in Bruges
446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.2 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#27 of 97 in Bruges
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Brugge

Address: Chartreuseweg 20, Bruges 8200, Belgium (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £44 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Three-story Hotel situated in quiet wooded surroundings; 1 km from motorway; 4 km to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing