We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a rural setting not far from Brugge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Ranked #69 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a rural setting not far from Brugge”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a long weekend break booked through Leisure Direction as it had ground floor bedrooms which would suit our extended family. The hotel was perfect for what we wanted, the rooms were a nice size with really comfortable beds the breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent on all 3 days we were there. The restaurant looked very good but we ate out in the evening as it was easier with young children.
The location although a little out of town was idyllic for us and the grand children as it was possible to walk through the surrounding woodlands and across the main road to lovely country park with a nice little cafe/restaurant and adjacent play area for the children. We spent quite a lot of our break here as the children got bored with visiting cities after the first day or so.
The staff at the hotel were really attentive and child friendly and although the premises appeared a little dissapointing from the outside this was more than compensated for by the staff and the internal quality of the building.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor with a view over the pool and play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    262
    172
    62
    20
See reviews for
166
273
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eilat, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel is very nice with big rooms. staff very friendly. the hotel is located faraway from brugee and you must have a car.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EitanY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A clean, functional hotel, best for a business or overnight stay rather than as a tourist visiting Bruges because it is about 10 kms to Bruges centre. There is an outdoor swimming pool, rooms are standard size, there is free wifi in reception areas, bathroom modern, bed linen average and bath towels small, thin but functional. Let down by an awful and what appeared to be foam rubber mattress, sunken in the middle and designed to give a bad night's sleep. We found the hotel difficult to get to because we observed the "road closed" sign and then went round and round trying to find a different way to it. My tip to you would be to ignore the "road closed" sign which has been there almost a year and promises to be there for another year at least! The hotel is situated in a small wooded area, which is next to a busy road although without direct access to it, there are no shops or restaurants nearby and so eating in the hotel's restaurant is the only option if you come in tired and hungry. Dinner was quite pleasant though; the menu is small but if you are fine with a steak then we can confirm that they are tasty and cooked to your liking. Incidentally, I noticed an advert on Reception advising that you could arrange a taxi into the centre for about 25 euros return. Could be of interest if you did not want to drive anymore but parking in Bruges is seldom a problem - especially if you have a blue parking disk (the one with the hours on it) as you can usually find street parking which permits 2 hours free parking when using the disk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in Brugges as a last minute decision and the TI was already closed. Called the Adornes Hotel where we'd stayed before and kind Rik suggested the Leonardo, which was hard to find on the GPS so keep your eyes open for the wooden signs- it is near a Best Western on the edge of the motorway. BTW, Kudos to Steve for getting us into our rooms quickly and being helpful with all the details.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds but looks sorta 60's architecturally, and worn out- but is actually fine. in fact a much better value than an Accor and half the price of the Crowne Plaza or marriott in town- worth the drive for the quiet. The terrace is lovely, and there are lots for kids to do, even an indoor furnished kid's playroom. Ttry to get a pool view, where your internet reception might work in the room instead of going to the lobby.
Free parking. Free internet. Refrigerator in the room, Elevator, no AC. Breakfast included in most rates. We paid about 90 e a night including breakfast.
There is a fold out sofa bed in most rooms.Coffee and tea facilities are in the room, nice toiletries, room safe, and nice TV. Beds were fine, pillows were OK, and the weather was such that we did not need AC to my surprise. The WC is seperate from the shower/sink so you have more privacy that most hotel rooms. The double door means more quiet in the room itself, and the large windows are nice. Breakfast is very good with friendly staff thoughout the hotel and restaurant.,but the prices at dinner are about the same as eating in town. I had a wonderful ragout, almost the lowest priced menu item, which was definitley house made, but my kids ordered the gigantic hamburger which was 18 Euros. One ate it but did not like the grind and thought it had some curry mayonaise or curry ketchup or some odd seasoning. Take a break and stay at the hotel longer than 2 nights, as it is nice to get out of the hubbub of Bruges and come to this quiet place. I would recommend it as a solid moderate hotel, a very good value if you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Ok ! Let's start by explaining my review title.
For anyone looking for a posh, upmarket experiance then the Leonardo is NOT for you although I assume you would have realised that by the price of the rooms. Clearly a lot of reviewers were expecting a whole lot more without paying the price...the Leonardo is not such a place.

However ! If you have children then this IS the place for you. The garden area has loads of things to do, swimming pool, table tennis, swings and such and even a little badmington court over in the woods. Sure...it's good for couples on a budget but bare in mind the prices they charge DO attract families.

Although they only have one PC set up for FREE Internet use, the wifi, also free, is extremely quick and reliable. IF you rooms are close to reception you MAY pick up the internet from your room but they don't claim its the norm.

Location: A few short miles south of Brugge tucked away in a rural location with millions of trees all around. Dual carriageways running a few hundred feet away...Did they bother us ? NOT in the slightest...a gentle hum of road noise off in the distance....no problem. The blessed roadworks are STILL going on which can cause a slight problem initially trying to get to the hotel but pretty simple to get around when you know how.

Rooms: Very straight forward and functional with EXTREMELY powerfull shower in the bathroom....not quite sandblasting "powerful" but pretty close. Internal corridors with the plus for us being that the door looking to the outside can either be opened fully or "leaned back" to provide fresh air. Would recommend you ask for a pool facing room...pool closes between 9 and 10pm. Fridge and hair dryers included.

Staff: Couldn't fault them at all.....Yes ! When busy they can be over worked and you may have to wait a bit longer than normally expected BUT they were all very pleasant...there again..we are always pleasant....you get back what you give out as far as I'm concerned. A UK military visitor had clearly NOT done his "homework" while we were there, yelling like a maniac as loud as he could that his family had "waited an hour" to be served something or the other...Had he done his homework and read up on Trip Advisor he would have seen that the service in the Restaurant needs improving, isn't the quickest in the world, especially when they are busy or that "the Chief Chef isn't working tonight" as was the case for Mr Military Man.

Yannick was especially helpfull when we checked in although throughout our 5 night stay all the staff we encountered were brilliant on reception.
Bjorn at the bar was also very helpfull although as mentioned, often over worked from what I could see.

Breakfast: In fairness I wouldn't have paid much more than 7 euro's a head for breakfast BUT most deals at the Leonardo come with breakfast included. It's kinda like a slightly more advanced "continental breakfast".....USUAL cereals, breads, cheese and ham but with yogurts, scrambled egg and bacon thrown in. TONS of breakfast drink choices included though. Also..... directly adjacent to the dining area they have a large patio where in good weather a lot of guests ate their breakfast....which was quite a sight.
As a result if the weather turns bad, they want to be inside which can result in breakfast queue's on occasions.

Tips: Locally they have a multi-plex cinema with MOST of the films in English, the seats of which are pretty amazing. Also during the short drive in to Brugge look out for the "drive in" chippie near the Shell garage....quite a cheap, greasey but enjoyable experiance....they serve tons of stuff. Equally in Brugge itself, if you REALLY want to experiance something different, wait till after 18.00 and have a meal at " In't Nieuw Museum, Hooistraat 42, Bruges....your SatNav will find it. Its a bit off the tourist trap route, although a 15 min walk from the main square. All you can eat ribs, cooked in front of you above an open fire, within a old traditional bar/cafe. Fantastic hosts and service...for 3 of us, including drinks about £60.00 but an experiance NOT to be missed.
As several have mentioned, when visiting Brugge, park at the railway station...2.50 euros max ALL day and a pleasant 10 min walk from town. To the left of the exit see if the small blue Peugeot is still parked up. Tis been abandoned and literally covered in dust so thick you can write in it....we've left our "mark"....us and 6 million other passers by !

AFTER 19.00 parking is free in parts of the city that have parking machines.

In conclusion I would put it like this: Have your "holiday heads" firmly screwed on, REMEMBER how little you paid and chill out. The Leonardo is NOT a Hilton, not does it try to be. It IS however a "mini-resort", very relaxed, just a 5 min drive from one of the greatest cities in the world in my opinion. DO bare in mind that the staff at the bar and restaurants seem over worked when it gets busy so be nice and chill.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Leonardo again although I have a feeling Mr Military Man and his family will choose elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was very impressed by the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but we made reservations at the last minute and needed a place that would allow us to bring out dog. The pool is very nice and there is a great playground for the children. It was very nice to look out our window and see the cows in the field next to the parking lot.

There was a bit of street noise as it is close to the road and finding it was rather difficult due to the road construction, but after a call to the hotel they were able to give us an alternate route and address to use to plug into our GPS.

The hotel was a quite a bit further out than we expected, but it actually turned out to be nice. It will take about 5-10 minutes longer to get downtown than it should due to the alternate route you must take to get there, but once you get the hang of it, it isn't too bad.

We enjoyed the pool daily. We paid extra to have breakfast included and were slightly disappointed they didn't have waffles available, but everything they did have was great (not your typical continental breakfast).

They say that wi-fi isn't available for free aside from in the lobby, but we were able to access it from our room at no charge.

We will recommend this to anyone traveling with pets and/or children. They even have a playroom for children that includes a PS2 with FIFA 2007 (I believe) to play.

My only downfall to the room is that the bed isn't very comfortable, but I'm used to my tempurpedic, so nothing is as good as that for my back. And the lack of a/c, but that is par for the course in Europe, so we slept with the window open.

Room Tip: Check their website AND call them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stitcherella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We booked this hotel based on other good reviews, but I was still apprehensive. I booked it via the hotels own website. The hotel is confusing to reach, as there is major construction blocking the main way in. But a few u-turns and we found it. The exterior is 1970's square, but inside in has a lovely upmarket look. Very smart reception, chic lighting, light and airy. The staff are efficient and helpful, if not super friendly.

The room was a pleasant surprise and relief! Modern and clean, with a entry area with loads of hanging space, suitcase space and a door to a toilet, with the main bathroom next to this. The bedroom is really spacious, with a sitting area with comfy leather sofa, flatscreen tv mounted on the wall and small balcony overlooking the gardens. The TV had several english channels; BBC1, BBC2, ITV, SKY news and CNN. The room also had a kettle and a fridge - both a real bonus! We picked up wifi on our laptop free in the lobby, they give you a code - although there is also a complimentary computer in the lobby for guests to use, a nice touch. There is a major motorway very near the hotel, which is a bit noisy in the day, but by evening the traffic has died down, so really quiet overnight. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food coming out looked delicious.

We felt we could have stayed here for an entire holiday, as the gardens are beautiful and well kept and there is a huge outdoor terrace with lots of tables and umbrellas. There are activities for every age; sand pit, swings, table tennis. It is only a 10 minute drive to the center of Brugge. Tip: Park at the train station - only 2.50 euros for 24 hours, absolute bargain! I am fussy, but can say: book here with peace of mind, it is a lovely bargain find this close to the center of Brugge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#57 of 97 in Bruges
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
7.2 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#26 of 97 in Bruges
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Brugge

Property: Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Address: Chartreuseweg 20, Bruges 8200, Belgium (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Three-story Hotel situated in quiet wooded surroundings; 1 km from motorway; 4 km to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing