We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the Leonardo (wife, children 8 & 10, and I).
Good value for money. Rooms clean, comfortable and reasonable size. Toilet is seperate to bathroom. Beds comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast and coffee. Free parking. It's a bit out of Bruges - and perhaps too far to walk (though I understand the hotel rents bikes) - so if time is short you may be better paying a bit more and stopping in the centre of Bruges - but as I say - you can't fault the value for money. It's a about a five minute drive to the centre of Bruges from the hotel. Staff all friendly and helpful. The hotel is next to a busy road which may be bothersome to some people - didn't affect us though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigOwl2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

we had driven 540 miles from Munich in the rain and we booked this hotel over the phone on the way so were very pleased to finally get to the hotel, we didn't get there till about 930 took us a little while to find the hotel, the road net work has changed and the satnav had not been updated so it kept trying to make us turn left turn right where there were no roads just a big roundabout. It is tucked down a little wooded lane which was very nice. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. The rooms nicely laid out and decorated. and the bar area and outside area was nice to sit in and have a drink. We drove into Bruges which took about 5 minutes and ate in the square and had a walk around, many places were still open, we also had a little shopping trip againt he next morning before heading off towards Calais.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benson_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the size of the rooms and the overall cleanliness. The staff were very friendly and helpful. You can easily reach the centre of Bruge with a car (only about 5 mins). They also offer a shuttle service for a fee. The area around the hotel is beautiful with a wooded area to take walks and a small castle nearby. Very affordable for the location!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel takes some finding at the moment owing to the Satnav insisting on putting on in the middle of a roadworks next to a new highway......Having said that when found it is down a leafy long driveway and opens up to a modern hotel. Staff are really helpful and set out the options for getting into Bruges. The triple room we had still had plenty of space and the benefits of a small fridge and tea coffee etc were appreciated. The breakfast buffet was very good and could be taken out on the patio overlooking the small pool (which was surprisingly quite warm). A defintie would stay here again.

Room Tip: some rooms would be nearer the highway and could I suspect be noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trebor1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

5km (3 miles) from the train station, located in the woods, hotel Leonardo provides a very nice family break opportunity. Unlike most of the hotels in Bruges,this one has a pool just by the bar terrace. Good standard and clean rooms.
The hotel is ideal for visitors with a car as a trip to town centre on foot is pleasant, however lengthy. The nearest bus stop is located at the nearby cinema.
Hotel is a perfect option for someone who wants to combine Bruges sight seeing with relax in the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggie_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very good location outside the centre in a peaceful area which means a good nights sleep. The hotel is easy to find, with large rooms and the breakfast was excellent. 5 mins in the the car to the centre (not suitable without a car).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank glyneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BjornDeMeulenaere, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Brugge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs Glyneth,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to ready you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

For most Brits, unless you're going for a city break, Belgium is a country that you drive through on the way to somewhere else. Living as we do in the north of England, the drive down to Germany or the Alps requires an overnight stop and so this year, having looked at the absorbitant prices asked in hotels in the Dover area, we decided to break our journey both outward and homeward, a short distance from our port in France.

The Leonardo Hotel is well-placed on the outskirts of Brugge, two minutes drive from the main A10 motorway that leads from the channel ports to Brussels. The hotel, although a little jaded, offers clean and comfortable accommodation and above all - a good night's sleep in air-conditioned rooms that have double glazing that certainly seals out any noise from a nearby motorway. It has a free outdoor swimming pool that I'm sure kids would love. I would equate it with a Holiday Inn standard. On our return visit we found that 3 of the major international road cycling teams had based themselves at the hotel which must be a pretty good endorsement given the need for sleep that those particular athletes must have.

Breakfast was the usual continental buffet which was fine and in with the price which, at £60 for two of us with breakfast puts to shame the prices that were being offered in English hotels within striking distance of Dover - take note Kent Tourist Board!

The hotel has an arrangement with a local taxi company to provide a ride into the main square in Brugge - good value at 26 Euros, especially when the city seemed gridlocked when we drove in. Our driver was able to use his extensive local knowledge to avoid the frustration we would have inevitably encountered if we'd driven ourselves in. It also allowed us to sample the local beer without any problems.

The drive to Dunkirk takes about 35 - 40 minutes taking it steady.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#57 of 97 in Bruges
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
7.2 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#25 of 97 in Bruges
355 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Brugge

Address: Chartreuseweg 20, Bruges 8200, Belgium (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £43 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Three-story Hotel situated in quiet wooded surroundings; 1 km from motorway; 4 km to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing