We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back in ... and disappointed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Brugge Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
657 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“back in ... and disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

PROS:
- location, you can walk from the hotel to everywhere
- paid public carpark underground
- breakfast is not bad for a Ibis
- Internet connection, free and resonable speed

CONS:
- Bad smell in all hotel, in the reception sewage smell, on my room s**t smell...really I couldnt beleive on the first day when I arrived.
- Staff, not very friendly and smiley. The only person I saw smiling was a trainee on the reception
- My room was beside a storage for housekeeping, too noisy, they started to clean and vacuum cleaner around 7 or before.
- No privacy, the window of my room was facing the elevator corridor, so I had to have my curtains always closed to have some privacy, I couldn´t have some day light on my room.

SHORT REVIEW:
After my first visit, for one single night, I returned to this hotel this time for a longer stay. I choosed this hotel against Novotel across the road, just based on price, I had stayed on both before on both hotels, and because I was planning a longer stay I choosed the cheapest option.

But back to Ibis I found a worse service and facilities, that I doesn´t remembered!

Even as a ACCOR loyalty member I had a bad room very tight, with a bad smell (s**t smeel) and beside some storage room of the housekeepers and the only window on my room was facing the elevator corridor, so I had to have my curtains always closed to have some privacy, I couldn´t have some day light on my room.

In the reception also some bad smell, something like sewage smell, since I crossed the main door every day I could feel the that smell.

The staff is also not very friendly, it seems they are doing some favor to have guests. I asked to put the name of the company on the invoice, it took more than 15 minutes, and the lady have done that clearly show a bad will.

Last but not least, my tight room ( I would say including bathroom, no more than 12 square meters) was located the next door of a storage room to the housekeeping. Beside they start to work very early in the morning around 7AM or before in that storage room, I could hear vacuum cleaner in the corridor also that early. unbelievable the lack of respect for the guest´s rest!

DO I WILL RETURN?
Never!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to leave your impression about your stay at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to read that this stay did not meet your expectations. As regards the smell in the hotel, I would like to refer to a previous reply (a smell has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of changing weather conditions or heavy rainfall. In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon: "the welling of the water"). I would like to reassure you that the respect for our guests' rest is one of our priorities. The housekeeping staff therefore only starts at 9 am and even at 10 am on Sundays. In the future, should you have any problem with your room, please always inform reception so we can find a solution. Your feedback is important to us, as it helps us improving our service every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    1,101
    450
    101
    39
See reviews for
278
1,268
92
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Ibis and it`s staff were welcoming and cheerful as usual :) familiar faces and names ! check in was smooth and quick as was check out ! just one night this trip but the weather was glorious ! sunny and warm which may account for the drain smell mentioned elsewhere, must admit we do not notice the problems maybe we are used to it ?
Everywhere was clean & tidy including the room , what more can you ask for ? if something is not right then ask and it will be sorted for you !
Well done the staff at Ibis Brugge for making our visit a good one , Again !
See you all in September :)

Room Tip: Disability Rooms available , ask when booking :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorksCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your loyalty and this wonderful review. It has been a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have just returned from 4 days staying in this hotel.At best clean and very basic.
Please if you have to stay here ,try not to have a room downstairs.
The smell was unbearable in the corridor outside the rooms,at times this seeped into the rooms as well.
I can only discribe the smell as drains mixed with sewerage.
Reception staff pleasant and helpful.
Restaurant staff not friendly nor helpful,left myself and other guests waiting,with little acknowlesgement for over half an hour,yet there were empty tables waiting to be filled.
Breakfast very limited,cheap but certainly not cheerful.
No toiletries in rooms,in fact there was a soap dispenser with about a tablespoon of soap.
The room I had was extremely noisy,so all in all not a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs.Noisy and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazydazymazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had wished. Your comments will be taken into account and measures will be taken to prevent future occurence. The reception is open 24/7 to help you if you encounter any problems. As regards the smell in the hotel, I would like to refer to a previous reply (a smell has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of changing weather conditions or heavy rainfall. In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon: "the welling of the water"). Anyway, we hope these negatives have not affected your trust in our hotel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Two night stay in room 220, great location for everywhere in Brugge, room adequate for what we needed. Loved the comfortable bed and pillows, very quiet, good bathroom, only downside was a small in the foyer but don't let this put you off this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnifferDogBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Brugge. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and found the Sweet bed by ibis comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights.

It's incredibly central, atmospheric and bang on the best chocolate-shopping street in Bruges.
You're within very easy walking distance of all the main sites.... and within an easy 10 minute walk of the main railway station too (although it's not so obvious at night).

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for a good view - remember, Bruges is very flat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting this review about your stay at our hotel. We are glad you have appreciated the central location of the ibis Brugge Centrum and hope you will find the way back to us for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brugge Centrum

Property: Ibis Brugge Centrum
Address: Katelijnestraat 65A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Brugge Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brugge Centrum hotel is located in an ancient medieval building in the centre of Bruges, a few minutes from the railway station. Close to the hotel, you can visit the Tour Belfry, Notre Dame church and the Lac d.Amour Minnewater. As well as the 128 rooms available for booking, it has a bar open 24/24 for snacks, public indoor pay parking and a restaurant offering regional specialities. Guests on a business trip have Wifi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Brugge Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing