We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude”
Review of Cafe des Arts

Cafe des Arts
Ranked #580 of 718 Restaurants in Bruges
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible attitude”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Never been treated worse by a waiter. So we went somewhere else for dinner. With a group of 11 people, they could have made a nice profit !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_marco_dvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    51
    34
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Your typical rip off tourists cafe”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We went in yesterday while on a day visit to Bruges. Looked nice on the outside and a little fireplace inside. Turned out to be no more than a typical tourists hook with no substance. Bad service, rude waiter. If the totally untasty and highly watered down 6€ hot chocolate was anything to go by, I was so glad that we didn't waste our money on anything more in that place. These places survive on the belief that just by being centrally positioned they can exploit just about anyone. Well, not me

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChachoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of a rip off”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The food was reasonably priced but a glass of water was 6 euros as was a small bottle of Sprite. With no drinks menu this is clearly how they make their money. A bit crowded even at quiet times of the day. The tables were close together and you felt a bit like you were sharing your meal with the neighbouring table. We would not eat here again and would recommened looking further away from the market square to avoid being conned.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seriously. ...?!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We were having a beautiful day in this wonderful city, we decided to have a drink in city centre. We entered cafe des arts, looked lovely with a fireplace. Turns out the opposite. The waiter...rude like if he wasn't getting paid..., we took hot chocolate for 6€....It says "pot of hot chocolate" we ended with a watery warmed cecemel type like the ones you buy in supermarket for less than 1€... Thank you but I wouldn't recommend this place EVER!!

Helpful?
2 Thank HGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“‘What are reviewers complaining about?’”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were looking for an evening meal at a reasonable price. Bruges can be expensive and in January there isn’t much choice.
Knowing to avoid the Markt in the middle of the Old Town of Bruges we were left with little choice but this restaurant on the Markt. It was almost full so that was a good sign and the menu posted outside looked tempting.
We were welcomed on entry and fussed into our seats
The a la carte menu looked extensive. We each took the fixed menus. One menu at €17 and the other at €25 and was obviously Belgian food when Ostend herrings are listed as a starter. When the herring came it was on a bed of runner beans with a garnish of onions and tomatoes in mayonnaise, half a boiled egg and with a roll and butter. I won’t torment you reader with descriptions of the other meals but this is the standard to expect here,
These fixed menus were each of 3 courses and at least 2 or 3 choices for each course; the sweet course was 5 or 6. On waiting for our meal, we wondered for our choices on seeing the wonderful meals being served at adjacent tables. We had no need to worry that a bad choice had been made.
Each course was excellent and superbly and imaginatively presented. The service was first class and could not be beaten anywhere.
The only criticism I can offer was the price of drinks. The drinks card was presented from the start so the customer was fully aware of the cost; bear in mind that there was nothing unusual in the prices for a restaurant in the Markt area. So the meals were reasonably priced even if the drinks were a little pricey.
I note that the previous reviewer has the same high opinion as us. There is confusion with the La Civiere D'Or restaurant next door. There is an internal door between and the same meals seem to be served both sides and staff stand in on breaks.
This restaurant was so good we came back a second time, and it was just as good as the first occasion. We were also recognised immediately and the evening became a more personal exchange. This is a fun place to be,
I don’t know where the critical reviewers have been to eat recently but I can guarantee that not even a British pub could match this quality and price, never mind a restaurant. The rubbish I have had in British pubs and restuarants that has cost more, given poor service and with rotten atmosphere.
This restaurant is thoroughly recommended and we returned yet again before we left Bruges,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe des Arts also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing