We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but avoid the annex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 November 2011

There are plenty of good reviews of this hotel - and rightly so. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were very nice, the breakfast buffet had a great selection and it was only a short walk to the centre of town.

The let down for us was that we were in one of the rooms in the annex block (Room 210). I didn't mind the stairs but the room really lacked the 'wow' factor. The bathroom was tiny (as in it had a compact bath and everything felt like it had been crammed in). The furnishings were all clean and in good condition but completely souless - as if someone was trying to creat a 'Travelodge' feel in what was a still a nice period building in Bruges (we had beams in the ceiling - why then put a load of buiilt in laminate furniture into it?).

The room was also overlooking the street at the front - not a problem - but I became suspicious when I saw free earplugs on the bedside tables! Sure enough both Friday and Saturday night we had to put up with a bar opposite kicking out and what I can only describe as someone thinking it was fun to blow into a traffic cone at 3 am! Not the hotel's fault of course but still irritating.

We tried to change rooms when we first arrived but they were apparently fully booked. Whether we were given this annex room because we booked on a AA / Eurostar 'deal' I don't know. It was just a shame as the main hotel is lovely but the annex room is noisy, cramped and lacking in any character, yet apparently was the same 'standard' as all the other rooms. I suppose on paper it does as it has the same 'facilities' - but it felt like we had been cheated!

Room Tip: Not in the annex - go for the main hotel at the back I'd say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nastechautobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of my birthday treat and what an enjoyable experience it was. The hotel is ideally located in a quiet street just a few minutes from the main square. It has a courtyard and the entrance is off street. The hotel has charm and character and the reception staff were very welcoming. The room was very pleasant and breakfast was very good for chioce and variety and the staff were very attentive and regularly topping food up.

On arrival I was given a complimentary box of chocolates and this set the tone for the rest of the stay. Very enjoyable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great little hotel in really central location... Bit over priced for the standard but in keeping with general pricing in Bruges. Breakfast was average and the pool/gym were tiny.
We had a problem with the room, after booking a twin we were given a double made of two singles and asked to split the beds... Very difficult as the bedside tables are fixed to the wall. So unless your happy sleeping cm's appart, don't come here for a twin. After much discussion with the rather bolshy girl on reception we were offered a larger room with a sofa bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Well appointed hotel within walking distance of the market square.
The architecture and history of the hotel are worth viewing.
The staff were very welcoming, helpful and caring on our arrival and thereafter (especially after I informed them I had had my wallet stolen at Bruselles Midi Railway Station ! ).
Good breakfast and service in the dining room excellent. A truly memorable and pleasant week-end stay on our first visit to Bruges.
It will be our first choice hotel if we return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Not sure what to expect but having compared all of the central hotels and opting out of the luxury ones we chose Hotel Navarra. We were delighted. The central location and setting were great with its own car park. Our family room was enormous and the decor and cleanliness excellent. Without hesitation we would stay here again and recommend it to others. To get to our room was rather like a rabbit's warren but this ended up adding to its charm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

During our second stay in Bruges we opted for the Navarra Hotel versus the Acacia property we had stayed in the year before. Hard to decide between the two because they are both excellent choices while in town. The Navarra has a slightly better location while the Acacia has better rooms. The service and breakfast in both was outstanding. I will no doubt stay in one or the other the next time.

Room Tip: The service is excellent and the people in the front desk will go out of their way to help you out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After reading many reviews, the Hotel Navarra seemed like the nicest hotel for our needs (quiet, clean, modern amenities, great location) in Bruges. Our only hesitation was that the hotel is a Best Western and normally Best Westerns (in our experience in the USA) have not been up to the standard we normally stay at when we go on nice vacations however that turned out to be a non-issue because this hotel was fantastic and had tons of Bruges charm!

Hotel Navarra offers a very high level of service, great hotel staff, superb location, an excellent spread of breakfast items (delicious) and large modern/clean rooms. The hotel was exactly what we wanted and more!

The hotel (on their website) offers many fun packages for hardly any more money than the inexpensive room rate. There is a bicycle package, beer package, chocolate package and many more. We chose the chocolate package and with it got free admission to the chocolate museum, chocolate and candy on our pillow and a fun chocolate gift.

The best thing about this hotel was its location. It is located right off the main square (less than 5 minute walk) yet is super quiet because it is set back off the road a ways. If the beds had been a bit more comfortable we would have slept great but it was very quiet as opposed to other hotels that were near bars/hostels.

I have stayed at another hotel in Bruges and this was by far nicer (and less expensive). Overall we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenstarlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra Brugge

Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £90 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Navarra Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing