We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at the Navarra between Xmas and New Year 2010 and was really impressed. It's just far enough away for the main square to be quiet but close enough (5 mins walk) to be convenient for visiting the main sites. We used the hotel gym which as small but well equipped and when we had to leave for a return train at 5:40am the hotel organised a packed breakfast for us.
Hotel staff were all friendly and spoke perfect English.
Beign a vegetarian i have to commend the restuarant opposite the hotel for great food at a good price compared to some eateries in Bruges (the town is a bit pricey!)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Navarra Brugge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,533 - 1,539 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

We travelled over on the Eurostar and train to Bruges v. successful. A party of 27 of us stayed at the Navarra My room was on top floor with sloping ceilings but v clean and good bathroom. The hotel is so central to main square and everything to visit - ie. boat trip on canal, bell tower to climb, diamond cutting to see and fab choc to drink !! Great hotel and location. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quickone47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed At the hotel as a party of 8 and were a little disappointed when we were shown to our 4 rooms in the annex (we had read some reviews prior to arriving) .... The rooms were small but immaculately clean . However were a little noisy at night especially the ones over looking the street .
Location was fantastic literally 3 min walk to the square.
Breakfast was average very polite staff.
Overall a great stay but can't help feel a little disappointed to not be given rooms in the main hotel , especially considering the money we spent on 4 rooms .

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We were influenced by the many positive reviews of the hotel we had seen and we were not at all disappointed. The location was brilliant - we had a quiet room at the back of the main part of the hotel (we had asked not to have a room in the annexe). It is a 5 minute stroll in to the Markt and there are a host of lovely restaurants, coffee shops and bars within a few minutes walk from the hotel (but avoid those on the square itself which are very expensive!) All the staff in the hotel were helpful and pleasant - Nathan in the Jazz Bar gave me an excellent crash-course on Belgian beers on our first evening! Breakfast was excellent and we made good use of the pool and sauna in the basement after a long day walking on the cobbled streets (but don't forget to tell reception you want to use the sauna as they have to wswitch it on!) Our room was spotless and kept so throughout our stay. You must visit Bittersweet (highly rated on Trip Advisor) for a hot chocolate - fantastic home-made chocolate tulips which you drop in to hot milk and stir....heavenly!! We even brought some home!! The brewery visit was really good and a waiter there recommended Cambrinus in Philipstockstraat (short walk from Markt) - this was a great 'experience' as you get presented with a menu that has 400 different beers!! We tried a few (!!) and the Flemish stew was fantastic too. Hotel Navarra was, for us, a perfect base - it had everything we wanted and helped make our short break in Bruges one of our best ever.

Room Tip: We emailed a week before and asked for a quiet room, not in the annexe. We got a reply within minute...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel last weekend and can only but praise the hotel.

The staff location and facilities are fantastic.

Best buffet breakfast I have had in a hotel.

Will most definitely return.

Barbara

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara21061967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

There are plenty of good reviews of this hotel - and rightly so. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were very nice, the breakfast buffet had a great selection and it was only a short walk to the centre of town.

The let down for us was that we were in one of the rooms in the annex block (Room 210). I didn't mind the stairs but the room really lacked the 'wow' factor. The bathroom was tiny (as in it had a compact bath and everything felt like it had been crammed in). The furnishings were all clean and in good condition but completely souless - as if someone was trying to creat a 'Travelodge' feel in what was a still a nice period building in Bruges (we had beams in the ceiling - why then put a load of buiilt in laminate furniture into it?).

The room was also overlooking the street at the front - not a problem - but I became suspicious when I saw free earplugs on the bedside tables! Sure enough both Friday and Saturday night we had to put up with a bar opposite kicking out and what I can only describe as someone thinking it was fun to blow into a traffic cone at 3 am! Not the hotel's fault of course but still irritating.

We tried to change rooms when we first arrived but they were apparently fully booked. Whether we were given this annex room because we booked on a AA / Eurostar 'deal' I don't know. It was just a shame as the main hotel is lovely but the annex room is noisy, cramped and lacking in any character, yet apparently was the same 'standard' as all the other rooms. I suppose on paper it does as it has the same 'facilities' - but it felt like we had been cheated!

Room Tip: Not in the annex - go for the main hotel at the back I'd say!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nastechautobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of my birthday treat and what an enjoyable experience it was. The hotel is ideally located in a quiet street just a few minutes from the main square. It has a courtyard and the entrance is off street. The hotel has charm and character and the reception staff were very welcoming. The room was very pleasant and breakfast was very good for chioce and variety and the staff were very attentive and regularly topping food up.

On arrival I was given a complimentary box of chocolates and this set the tone for the rest of the stay. Very enjoyable and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra Brugge

Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £104 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Navarra Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing