We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Navarra. It really couldn't have been better:
Great buffet breakfast - no issues with charges as was part of package
Lovely swimming pool to have a swim - very good option for a rainy day, I didn't use the gym but looked well appointed
Room - very comfy bed, spotlessly clean room and everything we needed, was able to obtain a corkscrew from the bar and also a travel adapter, they also have english channels BBC1, 2 and 4, ITV and Channel 4
Staff - each and everyone couldn't do enough to help, everything from making restaurant bookings to arranging a slightly late check out when we slept in

Finally the attention to detail was lovely - I mentioned that the trip was for our wedding anniversary when we booked and when we arrived, we were given a box of beautiful belgian chocolates from a great chocolatier just around the corner

We wouldn't hesitate to go back there - in terms of location, fantastic bars and restaurants on your dorrstep, the restaurant give you a list of restaurants if you want some ideas - as there are so many to choose from.

One bar you really should try is Le Trappiste, a couple of minutes walk away, it is in a very old vaulted cellar and the owner has fantastic knowledge of belgian and other beers.

Stay at the Hotel Navarra if you go to Bruges - you wont be disppointed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakerxxx999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,
In name of all staff members, I wish to thank you personally for your stay in our hotel.
All your positive comments about the staff, the high service levels and the hotel facilities are an enormous motivation for all of us to continue the good work!
Really appreciated. Again, a big thank you, dank u wel!
Benedikte De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    733
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
334
1,286
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed, ideally located in the centre of the city, with a decent car park, great breakfast, comfortable and very clean rooms, well appointed, would definitely use again when next in Bruges. Their website is also a mine of useful information for restaurants etc

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJH1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location, situated so close to the main square in Bruges. The staff were very friendly and helpful here and the hotel was very well kept. It did feel like it was two different hotels joined together though, as you walk in through a very elegant and traditional hotel entrance and the rooms seem to be on a very long corridor with lots of twists, turns and stairs into the modern part of the building.

I would say that the rooms and the communal areas were kept very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and modern, although the shower lacked power and the bath could do with a deep clean as the grip that they put down to stop people from slipping had gone a little brown with use. The bedroom itself was fairly functional, although unfortunately I found the mattress on the bed quite soft and not all that comfortable, but I guess that comes down to personal taste.

Over all this was a good experience, but they could do with a couple of small changes to make the hotel really great.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues speak to the hotel before booking, as there were a lot of long corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the time you took to write down your comments.
Really appreciated! Your comments about the friendliness of our staff will be forwarded immediately to all staff members. They really do their utmost, day after day. Our maintenace team already checked the grip and the water power in the bath. Thank you for informing us!
Our hotel is a 17th century mansion and listed as historic monument. Have a look on our website to read the rich history of our house. This is one of the reasons, that indeed we have a lot of corridors and steps up and down. We are very glad to read that you advise future guests with 'mobiltiy issues' to inform us in advance. We can always offer a room near one of our two elevators to make it more comfortable. Let us know in advance and we will do all we can to fulfill your wishes. Again thank you for the confidence you offered us. Always welcome in the future. Benedikte De Bruycker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel has a great location right near the market square. Rooms are a good size, but some are a long trek from reception (I noticed because I am currently 6 months pregnant and have MS so I could have done without the extra walk along long corridors and up and down stairs on the way in). Breakfast was a good buffet selection in a nice room, but one day they ran out of white bread before 10:15 and didn't put out any more (it was a weekend, so breakfast was being served for another 45 minutes). The hotel bar is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 45-56 as these are the furthest away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatrionaTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great hotel in a super location - quiet but very close to the main square. We booked this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's clean, very comfortable, nice service and very stylish. We got the impression that the room we were in had been refurbished in the last year or so. Practical stylish bathrooom and very comfortable beds. It was quite warm - unseasonally so - but the aircon in the room was working.
Great restaurant not far away - Poulet Moules.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathspajunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya - Amsterdam - Curacao
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Let's start by saying I owned and operated my own hotel. This might make me a little more critical then others. In this case, it was also a one night stay and on a Saturday in a very busy city Brugge. As a matter of fact Hotel Navarra was the only hotel on both tripadvisor or booking.com had any rooms available (maybe because frequent travelers like myself don't go back). But I got a room and here is my experiences.
Arrived on foot as we were told the hotel had no parking. When I arrived I asked if I could go and get my car because they DID have a parking lot!!! Their answer "we cannot guarantee you a parking spot" (this while there were plenty of spaces available - they refused to reserve one) Next we were shown our room. It was so small even the person who showed room 166 to us seemed embarrassed. It was about the same size as we had had the night before but that was for $65 not $200 a night - in my opinion this was a grossly overvalued room not a 4 star in any way but like a clean 3 star and about $100 per night over priced. Sleep quality is individual and will not comment on. It was clean. But my overall opinion of the room is it was used for employees and should not be used for anyone paying $200. The small bathroom had a bath perfect for my 4.11 foot wife but no way could I (5.10) use it. To make matters worse you have to climb over the bar of the bath to use the shower and this is simply "dangerous". But the next problem I had when I checked on the wall where the maximum prices are required to be shown. Sure enough Navarra was allowed to charge $200 for the room. BUT the maximum price for the breakfast was supposed to be no more then $17 but when we checked in and asked if we wanted breakfast they asked $27. In the hotel business in my country,this is illegal. Plain and simple. And when checking out I asked about this price of breakfast the man at the front desk tried to explain it that it was for people who had reservations. If you like this kind of service and quality you will love Navarra

All in all a very overpriced and disappointing hotel and I at least cannot recommend this hotel for anyone unless they want to get ripped off for a good location

Room Tip: In Europe always check the price on the wall with the price you are paying. It avoids many potentia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir,
We do our utmost to delight all our guests. We do apoligize for the fact that we could not achieve your expectations. Please accept our apologies. Benedikte De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Easy to find with the sat nav. Parking was good as we could leave the car and walk everywhere. It is a historical monument,fascinating history. Room was large and very modern bathroom .really comfortable beds and helpful staff. Perfect location for centre which has loads of places to eat from snacks to top rate restaurants. With 86 chocolate shops in Bruges what more do you want.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing