We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great 'find'”
Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A really great 'find'”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just spent a long weekend in beautiful Bruges at the Hotel Navarra. Just a minute from the historical market place but set back from the road and really quiet, this was a great find.
Delightful decor, a really good breakfast, loved the pool and sauna and the staff were attentive and helpful - we will certainly return, loved it and thank you!

Room Tip: our room, 123, was spacious, comfy and on the first floor - quiet, warm and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    746
    119
    31
    12
See reviews for
345
1,313
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel on booking.com only to find it a couple of days later on trivago cheaper, should have listened to my instinct cancelled and bilges with trivago but booking.com agreed to price match sent me a confirmation that the price had been matched and the hotel informed however when I checked out they refused to honour it stating that I had booked in sterling and due to exchange rate changes the original price was now applicable I argued for as long as possible but had a train to catch and had to pay up, I phoned booking.com and I now have to send evidence of the charge for them to pursue what a palava! Regarding the hotel itself in the positive it's well situated, clean and has a lovely pool, sauna etc. on the negative avoid breakfast it's poor value the eggs were dry and rubbery the bacon was plastic, greasy, fatty and dry the sausages were strange, basically paid17.50 euros each for a hot drink (with sterilised milk) and a yoghurt - go to gingerbreads around the corner it's fab and value for money. The bed was small, hard and cold a thin summer quilt is not enough in January!! Bruges is beautiful but I would chose another hotel I booked this because of rave reviews and I'm sorry it didn't live up to expectations :( and overcharging marred the break

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review which received our highest attention.
We deeply regret the fact that we could not meet your expectations. In name of the whole staff, please accept our sincerest apologies.
Benedikte De Bruycker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night break, staying at the Hotel Navarra. We just wanted to express what an amazing time we had.
The Hotel is fantastic, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak English. The buffet breakfast was lovely, such a huge choice of foods. We also liked the Jazz Bar, very chilled out.
Our room was lovely, a long way from reception, and we could've used the lifts, but we chose to take the elegant spiral staircases, which felt quite regal! We also enjoyed the use of the swimming pool, sauna a gym, such a nice touch. The free Wifi was also a great added bonus.
The location was perfect, literally a few minutes walk to the square and shopping streets.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Take the lift if you don't fancy the 75 steps to the upper rooms, but the spiral staircases are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BDKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest, may we express our gratitude for the chance you have given us, to be of service to you! It was a great pleasure for all of us. We really hope to welcome you again in the not too distance future. Always welcom in our hotel. Benedikte De Bruycker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in Bruges for the Xmas Markets and the Hotel Navarra certainly added to the experience.
We stayed in a beautiful wooden beamed room in the gate house - just across from the main hotel itself. The room was well appointed whilst the grounds are interesting and having the use of a car park right in the centre of the city is a real added bonus.
The service we received in the hotel was courteous, professional and relaxed - we felt at ease immediately. The bar is well laid out and has a fine range of drinks whilst the pool, gym and sauna are a great benefit to have in a hotel.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there were so many fine restaurants and bars in easy walking distance but the food quality and the serving looked excellent.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The gate house whilst overlooking the road is very quiet and out of the way and the top floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisreay1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
216 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice hotel centrally located - short trip from Central Station to hotel and walking distance to everything. When we arrived we just threw down our bags and set out to see the sites. The greeting at front desk/check-in went well, our room was great and breakfast was filling. There was a shoe shiner and 2 computers just off the lobby and a nice little bar. Sweet place, I would definitely recommend to any of you and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XenaSfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Visiting at the beginning of January 2014, we were lucky enough to catch the end of the Christmas markets. Hotel Navarra is situated ever so close to the central square, which plays host to the amazing Belfry tower. Our room had a side view of the tower, which looked wonderful at night - fully lit against the sky.

Hotel experience was a complete breeze from check in to check out. Arriving late afternoon, our room was ready and waiting. Not a huge room, as many have commented on, but this did not hinder the stay. Bathroom with bath and shower...also some lovely bath bubbles! Bed was comfier than at home and there was very little noise at night, minus the rain!

Breakfast was delicious, huge choice and very comfortable room. Staff were helpful, friendly and welcomming. We had a couple of evenings at the jazz bar - again, great staff and service.

Pool and sauna were both very good.

If I was to return to Bruges, I would 100% wish to stay here again - excellent stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Last weekend, my girlfriend surprised me with a trip to Bruges and a stay in Hotel Navarro. I'm glad she made this hotel our main getaway for the weekend. Hotel Navarro is everything you need for a great stay in beautiful Bruges!

Regarding my view on this hotel, here is my piece of the pie:
- Located in the heart of all the action. The central Market Square is just 5 minutes away by foot.
- Located in a beautiful historic, well maintained building, well integrated with the surrounding area.
- The hotel offers its own parking lot with some space in front of the hotel and behind the hotel as well (be aware of the EUR17 surcharge!). If you wish to park your car in a parking garage, drive past the hotel and turn left! But be warned: during weekends a lot of the paid car parks in the city centre are full most of the time!
- The hotel is suited for both leisure and business travellers. There are meeting facilities, some very comfortable lounges and a pleasant jazz-themed bar as well. It seems the hotel as a whole has some kind of jazzy theme. Very nice!
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Our basic room was small but very comfortable. With a great soft bed, a large bathroom and all the usual amenities you can expect from a 4-star hotel.
- A pleasant spa area with a pool, a small gym and 2 saunas.
- A great, tasty and generous breakfast buffet!

There is one small flaw about the Navarra: Navigation throughout the hotel can be a bit confusing, due to the way the different floors, locations and stairs are constructed. We had some trouble finding our way to the spa area, ground floor and our room. It feels like a maze at times. Can be a bit annoying, but like I said...it's just a minor flaw.

My overall opinion about the Navarro: a great hotel! Your perfect getaway once you've tasted the historic significance of beautiful Bruges. Worth your money and highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srananbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing