We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is a delightful building - used to be a nobleman's house. Pefect position with a lovely garden at the back where you can relax with a drink from the bar. A short walk to the tourist centre of Brugge. The room was large with a beautifully appointed bathroom and comfortable bed.
Quality breakfast and very helpful, friendly staff. We took a two night trip there from Paris and loved it so much that we wished we had book for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    733
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
334
1,286
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is great, not far from the main square and all the tourist attractions. Our room was in a separate block at the front of the hotel and was on the small side. The bed was small and a bit soft for our liking. Whilst we liked the freedom to come and go from the small block, it felt a bit isolated. The staff at breakfast were lovely, but the rest of the time the hotel staff hardly spoke. They weren't hugely helpful with information either - and were unhelpful with restaurant recommendations. The pool is small and the one time we tried to use it we were put off by some other guests jumping into it, as well as a man coming into the ladies changing room when one of us was changing.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The hotel used to be a nobleman's house and had been beautifully restored. We checked in and were shown to a comfortable twin room at the front of the hotel. The beds were very comfortable but I was a bit surprised to find a pair of earplugs on the bedside table. That night I discovered that being at the front of the hotel we got all the noise of passing cars driving over the cobblestoned road. It was so bad even ear plugs couldn't block the row. Although it was no fault of the hotel we could also hear the noisy nighttime activities of the people in the next room. After a sleepless night I asked at reception if we could be moved to a quiet room which they did and moved all our belongings while we were out. After that we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and efficient and although I thought the breakfast was overpriced at 17euros for a basic continental breakfast it was very nice. The hotel was about 5 minutes walk from the Markt and there were several nice restaurants only a couple of minutes walk away. I would stay here again if I came to Brugges, I would just be very careful what room I booked.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank libtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent location 3 minutes from the Centre. Quiet, peaceful and with good parking. Excellent staff on the desk and clean, well appointed rooms. The bar staff get a special mention. Décor a touch old-fashioned, but none the worse for that. Breakfast quality and service very good

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireladScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in May 2013 and February 2014 - both really good visits. Hotel very central and a great location. Great breakfast and the best bit - a lovely pool and sauna in the basement. Stayed in many hotels in Bruges and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked late so surprised to be able to get in. But this is a great place for a base because of its central location - but what made it for us were the reception staff, the barman and the breakfast team too. Really great, friendly, courteous. The hotel itself is a little on the 'old fashioned' side, with narrow meandering corridors; smallish rooms and basic furnishings/bathroom. If you want a 'hip' and trendy place, this ain't it. But for cosiness and friendliness, Navarra's your place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed here over the Easter weekend we would very highly recommend this hotel. The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes walk from the Market Square, but the hotel was very peaceful (we were able to sleep with the window open despite being in a room facing twards the street). The bedrooms and public rooms are all very clean and furnished to a high standard and the costs for a stay were very reasonable indeed given the high quality of the hotel. The jazz bar is a particularly pleasant place for a drink in the evening and much less soulless than most hotel bars. Best of all, though were the helpful staff, in particular those at receiption, who were very helpful and knowledgeable on everything from recommending (and booking) restaurants for dinner, arranging taxis and tours for us and generally just making our stay all the more pleasant (including a very warm welcome which immediately turned round our mood on arrival after a very fraught Eurostar journey). If we return to Bruges (and we certainly intend to) we would definitely try to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are going to breakfast in the hotel book the deal with Breakfast included as this is much che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the time and effort you took to write a review about your visit to Bruges and your stay in our hotel. The feedback is very important to continue the good work.
In name of the whole staff, we wish to thank you for this nice Easter gift!
Always welcome in our hotel. Benedikte De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing