We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historical hotel in beautiful city”
Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely historical hotel in beautiful city”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed for a short city break in this lovely stylish hotel, its perfect location near to the main square, the superb service from the staff and the lovely breakfast to suit all tastes with everything so fresh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    746
    119
    31
    12
See reviews for
345
1,313
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is in a converted period house, in a quiet side street just 200m from the Markt. The ground floor restaurant is splendid, and the breakfast is to be recommended. I can't speak too highly of the multi-lingual staff, who work hard to please. Our room was disappointing being rather small and with a bed that was past its sell-by date. For those who wish to try a little exercise to ward of the calorie overload from the chocolates and the beer, there is a fantastic (but small) swimming pool in the old wine cellars together with a fitness room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andys-biking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here at the end of November 2013 for a long weekend just as the Christmas market had opened up. We stayed as two couples and our rooms were in our own little floor with no other rooms around. This was ideal as the rooms were opposite each other so perfect for making arrangements for going out. Yes it felt like a little bit of a maze at first to get to the rooms as it involved going both up and down some stairs in a couple of places as well as winding round some corridors however this was soon no issue at all. The rooms were lovely and spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. After a day out in the cold they were nice and cosy to go back to so you could warm up.

The hotel itself was set up nicely for Christmas and had a lot of character. The staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and there was a nice choice of both warm and cold options all done in a serve yourself style. It was reasonably priced, however the other mornings we went out for breakfast as wanted to experience other restaurants. There is a little garden area round the back of the hotel which we went to one night with some glasses of mulled wine to keep us calm and the surroundings were lovely. There is also a small gym and really nice swimming pool available free to use. We used both and had the place to ourselves as not many people seemed to know they were there.

The hotel is perfectly situated, just a 5 minute walk into the main square for you to get around to all the main attractions and restaurants. We also went on a Quasimodo bus tour to Flanders Fields one day which I cannot recommend highly enough if you have time to go whilst staying here.

Would certainly return to this hotel and Bruges which is a lovely destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kippa1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, steeped in history and well looked after, very good location for visiting the sights and bars close by , excellent room, clean,coffee and tea making facilities, and comfy bed, great breakfast and friendly staff, I look forward to returning there soon,

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Have just returned from a three day trip to Bruges. The hotel was wonderful and the staff were very obliging in every way. The breakfast was to die for plenty of choice and very fresh. The walk from the hotel to the square was only a few minutes which was excellent. Went with relations and we were really looking forward to listening to the jazz on the wednesday evening only to be told they do not have jazz in July and August it was such a shame.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the rooms were fine with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 647maggiemay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The good: nice location, good value, speedy wifi.

The bad: I got a room in a building that is external to the main hotel building. It was disappointing for a 4-star hotel. My room was on the 2nd floor, with no elevator - you had to climb more than 40 very steep stairs to get to it. Room decor and furniture looked old and tired. Because I was in an external building I feel like I barely got to experience the actual hotel, which is probably nice.

Overall, not a a great experience.

Room Tip: Refuse any rooms in the external building! Old and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely comfortable hotel, staff very polite and informative. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Stayed with our Sons and had two rooms next to each other on our own floor. As others have said bit of a maze to find room but you soon get the hang of it. Such a great location short walk and you are in the main square. Unfortunately we had very rainy weather on a couple of days but made use of the small swimming pool we were the only ones in there on both occasions really nice feel to it. Lovely bathroom but did find temperature of shower fluctuated and it did get very hot at times but a minor thing, just a bit of a shock the first time it happened! Work colleague recommended hotel to us and we were not disappointed thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawaygirlEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing