We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the markt place in a safe neighbourhood for solo travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to the markt place in a safe neighbourhood for solo travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

For location, you cant really beat this hotel. It is a 2 min stroll from the markt place which is ideal for solo travellers at night.

The staff are very friendly and helpful providing city maps and information upon arrival.

The room I stayed in was quite small but clean and really if you are spending any more time than sleeping etc in your room you are missing out on all the sights that are Brugge.

The cost was a little pricey but did include a buffet breakfast. The breakfast was standard fare which is a little disappointing if you were expecting classic Belgium food. Overall though I do recommend this hotel and would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adiesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    734
    118
    31
    12
See reviews for
334
1,289
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

The hotel is set in a lovely old building although all rooms are modern and fairly impersonal. The room we stayed in was very typical 4* chain hotel accommodation so I wouldn't recommend Hotel Navarra if you are after some old world charm. Saying that, it was a reasonable size and had a comfortable bed. The pool and sauna are tiny but a nice addition if you can get in when they are quiet. Breakfast is a buffet - not the best I have had but certainly not the worst. The main plus for this hotel has to be the location. It is around 100m from the main square and you don't have to walk far to get to anything. The station is a 10-15 min walk. All in all, you stay here and you get what you pay for - decent room in the middle of town. If you want a bit more luxury and personality you will need to splash out a fair bit more cash.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Just returned from a very relaxing stay in Bruges at a wonderful hotel. Every member of staff we met was always pleasant and very friendly we even got a history lesson about the hotel from one of the porters. The building has been a hotel for most of its 400 year history.
The room was very comfortable and spacious, for breakfast we had loads of choice from the hot and cold buffet, something to please everyone. We made good use of the pool and sauna and even though the pool isnt the biggest it was never overcrowded when we were there. The sauna was a lovely way to relax after a busy day sightseeing around Brugges.The hotel is very central and only a few minutes walk to the Markt.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from we ate at Cambrinus two nights, this gets very busy and has a great atmosphere. We also did the City Bus tour which is an easy way to see everything and the driver we had was very funny with his explanations of the sights. Would recommend the brewery tour as it give you an insight into how they make their fantastic tasting beers. You must also go to the top of the Belfry.
Fantastic city and will definetly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

We booked this trip through Railbookers and, as usual we were very pleased with the service. The hotel was excellent and ideally situated. We had a comfortable quiet room , the staff were pleasant and helpful and restaurants for dinner within walking distance.
Bruges has an impressive old world atmosphere with its cobbled streets and wonderful architecture, we would definitely visit again and definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We originally chose the Navarra for it's looks, it's location and car parking and went on to fall in love with all it offers.
All the staff, especially Nathan, the barman in The Duke, are exceptional. We have stayed here 6 times over the past few years and the welcome is always warm and sincere.
We were lucky enough to be allotted room 108 on our first stay and have specified this on every subsequent visit. A huge room, with two large windowsoverlooking a courtyard, it has twin beds and a three piece suite: the sofa is actually a sofa bed, as this is classed as a family room. A large modern ensuite, including a bath, completes the accomodation.
Start the day with a workout in the small basement gym, then have a swim in the pool next door; that will set you up for breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Breakfast is presented as a buffet, with both hot and cold food available, There is a large selection of breads to accompany the various cold meats and cheeses on offer, plus yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit salad and juices. Tea or coffee, freshly made, is brought to the table by pleasant waitresses. Eat enough and you can skip lunch? Er, no, I don't think so,not in Bruges!
The hotel doesn't offer a lunch or dinner menu as there are plenty of places to eat within a very short walk , but there is a small panelled room, just off the reception area, where coffee is available for guests to serve themselves during the day.
Twice a week, a pianist plays jazz in "The Duke", a pleasant place to have a pre-, or post, dinner drink; there's an adequate selection of beer and spirits on offer, as well as cocktails.
We have visited Bruges in every season and weather and no matter what, the city is magical; having the Navarra to come home to makes a visit perfect.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

The Navarra is in a prime location as far as Bruges is concerned, just a few minutes walk away from the Belfry and other sites. Hubby and I walked in from the railway station, which didn't take long, and it was really easy to locate the hotel.

The reception team were great - very efficient and friendly - and booking in was painless. Our room was large, with a settee and table in addition to the bed and usual bedroom furnishings (including mini bar and trouser press). A good size TV was mounted on the wall and you could alter its position depending on whether you wanted to watch from the bed or settee. The bathroom was a reasonable size - pity that the rooms don't have a jacuzzi rather than the normal bath/shower combo but you can't have everything!

We'd asked for a box of chocolates and bottle of wine for the room on arrival (you can book this on their website) and the wine was good and the chocolates excellent (as you'd expect!!).

Breakfast was good - full cooked buffet breakfast or continental meat/cheese plus cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc. The waitress was really efficient and asked if you needed refills for your coffee if she noticed you were lingering over your food.

The 'wellness centre' is good - set in the basement so the pool is quite small and may get overcrowded during the more popular times of year but as January doesn't see as many tourists we had no problems in getting in. The gym is small but handy if you only want a quick exercise fix, and the sauna is good (let reception know you wish to use it at least 20 minutes beforehand so they can ensure it's ready for you).

The hotel is wonderfully peaceful and because of its price probably doesn't attract those who have visited Bruges/Belgium for the beer alone so there was little disruption to sleep!

I'd certainly recomment this place to anyone who is intending to visit Bruges, and booking through the hotels own website does throw up some good deals (3 nights for price of 2 etc).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Stayed for two nights at the end of January, can't really add anything else to what others have said. Great location, rooms, service and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Property: Hotel Navarra
Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#5 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing