We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff with excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acacia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acacia
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff with excellent location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our room was very different with a long hall way to the bathroom. It was spacious, modern, very clean and comfortable. We had a cute little deck off both the room and the bath which was very enjoyable at 5;00 in the afternoon for resting and having a glass of wine. The breakfast was wonderful. The only drawback was the location of the parking garage. It was not attached to the hotel and made it difficult to access.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    277
    77
    21
    10
See reviews for
82
354
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is as everyone else has said is in an ideal location for expoloring the city and for us senior citizens that is a big plus.Having stayed at this hotel now four times in three years we have seen little change in the staff which is good as the staff are excellent, the hotel on the other hand is looking rather tired, decorations in the common parts are damaged and are making the hotel look a bit shabby. In the room we stayed in on the first floor one we have had before the wash basin took ages to empty which was a bit of a pain as the basin is like a big mixing bowl and not very practical looks nice but thats all.
We also noticed outside the main entrance door litter had been accumulating and nothing was done to remove it and for a hotel that is mid price range the outside looks a bit less inviting than some others and does need to have a face lift.
I am not sure if Best Western have a policy of random visits by mystery tourist who are from Best Western but it would certainly help this hotel to have an inspection and a bit of an investment to warrant the cost.
One other thing you may want to know is there is a computer for use by guest in the coofee room but beware it is not a qwerty key board and takes a bit of working out.
I have just read a review by someone who said they had to pay 15 euros extra on top of the room for breakfast and all I can say is you must booked it without breakfast as we have never had to pay extra for breakfast, the answer is to be sure when making your booking you check it Bed & Breakfast.
Having made my thoughts known we will still use this hotel due to its superb location and hopefully when we return again some of the comments I have made may have been taken on board and actioned.
I hope I have not put anybody off of using this hotel as the staff are fantastic and the food is excellent at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry_b_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel! It was quiet, easy to get to and just steps from the main square! We were in a groundfloor room in the back and it was totally quiet so sleeping was wonderful! The room was large and we would stay there again! We knew that hotel breakfasts are expensive so always went to the corner so plan on that. Coffee/tea were always available in a coffee room. Parking was available but we had trained it up from
Brussells. VERY easy to do and preferable to messing with a car at that point in the vaca! Took a local van trip to see the surrounding area and loved the canal boat rides. Hotel staff were very personable and helpful; on the corner and on way to the square there were many good restaurants, much cheaper than those on the square and one place had the best Belgium waffles with reall cream and wonderful strawberries, sigh......would like to return to Brugges (Breg-ger as the locals pronounce it!) for a long stay and really soak in this wonderful small city...LOVED it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWesternSouthener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel last week. Although we loved Bruges the hotel was nothing to write home about (pardon the pun). It is part of the Best Western chain and this is quite obvious from the room decor. We paid extra for a superior room but I wouldn't pay the extra again as (per the review before) all the rooms seem of good size. There were rooms with balconies but we weren't given one. There was as also no English TV channel which was a bit of pain.

The reception staff and parrot made a good effort. The pool is very small so don't expect anything else if you are planning to use it. There is a coffee/tea machine on the ground floor which was great and made up for not having these as room facilities.

The hotel is in a very good location, but Bruges is very flat and very easy to walk around in so I would go for a Belgian hotel or B&B next time to add a bit of character to the visit.

Room Tip: quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sighip
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel really has a perfect location. It is right between the main square and the main shopping street. The rooms are overly spacious - almost double the size of room that I would normally expect. We stayed in a ground floor room, so no view, and it was very close to the pool area. The pool area itself had a chlorine smell but it didn't get so far as our room. We did want to use the pool but its operating times weren't conducive to our tight schedule, though it did look nice. Bathroom was great, good pressure and no problems with the temperature.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. So was the hotel parrot, who was always a great source of entertainment when passing through the foyer.

Had no problems sleeping. No noise or lights etc... the rooms curtains did wonders and it got pretty much pitch black at night. Only stayed 1 night so can't comment about housekeeping, apart from it being clean upon arrival.

We managed to find a good deal for the Best Western online, which really sweetened the deal for us. Maybe if breakfast was included I would give it 5*. If you're going to spend a day or two in Bruges, perhaps a quick weekend getaway, then this is a great place to stay.

Note for those that arrive via train and are thinking of walking: It is definitely possible to walk to the place, and although we intended to, the rain convinced us otherwise and a €12 taxi got us there promptly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sighip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kragero Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

It is a nice hotel, in he middle of Bruges. And our room was nice, with a quiet balcony.
We thought that the breakfast was included, and got very surprised to pay 15 euro pr.person, per night! And the berakfast was VERY simple, so it would be better to buy breakfast at one of the nearest restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solgry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here from Friday 23rd March for 3 nights.

The Hotel is exactly what you need to tour Brugge on foot. Just behind the main square and perfect to pop back to during the day.
On arrival we were given a room on the 1st floor next to the lift, Big Mistake. The noise of the lift echoes throughout the room and it would be impossible for us to sleep. The room was also very tired and in desperate need of a make over. We asked at reception and were changed to a room on the 2nd floor with a view over a small garden with a shared balcony - perfect. This
Room was clean and modern and with loads of space.
The Hotel overall is very good, very helpful staff, very clean and a nice breakfast but the usual 'waiting room' feel, no one spoke over a whisper.
The pool is small but would be nice on a rainy day when relaxing.
We would certainly stay there again.

TIPS:
Order Breakfast in your room and get a huge tray of continental breakfast treats. No extra charge.
Do not touch the African Grey parrot in the Lobby, he sometimes bites!!
Parking, pre book early as the spaces under the Hotel are limited and cost €15 per night.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the lift, they are old lifts and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#13 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acacia

Property: Hotel Acacia
Address: Korte Zilverstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Acacia)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#43 Family Hotel in Bruges
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acacia 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP LOCATION IN BRUGES, 100m to Market Square! Situated in between the two main shopping streets & within walking distance of all major attractions and offering hospitality at its best. 38 ROOMS all with modern comfort including FREE Wi-Fi, tea & coffee facilities, city map & reduction card. PUBLIC AREAS TO ENSURE A RELAXING STAY outdoor patio, cosy bar with fire place, piano lounge, public computer, private parking & luggage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Acacia Hotel Bruges
Best Western Hotel Bruges
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing