We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acacia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Acacia
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a mini break via ferry from Hull at the end of May.

The hotel is very close to The Markt but can be a bit difficult to find initially as it is down a quiet side street. It is therefore nice and quiet at night with no noise problems.

Our room configuration was a little strange with a lounge area as you entered and the bathroom and sleeping area upstairs, however the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The only problem was that the window in the sleeping area was sealed shut and the only ventilation was through the window in the sitting area downstairs. The hotel must recognise this as a problem since they had left us a fan to use. The temperatures were not excessive on our trip but I can imagine that this could be a real problem in the height of summer.

The small bar was serviced by the hotel receptionist and hence service could be a little slow. Breakfast was free on our tariff and was very acceptable with a decent choice.

I loved Bruges, a lovely little town to visit and most attractions could be walked to easily.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruise_kitty_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    274
    77
    21
    10
See reviews for
77
349
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
encino, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This modernized hotel offers value, but do not expect the charm of bruges. We chose this hotel based on value, proximity to the square and it did not charge for parking. The room was clean and had all the essentials, but that was it. I had to ask for a tea/coffee maker and extra outlet to charge my electrics. You need to do this as there are no available plugs other than for the lamp. Lighting was poor. We chose the breakfast option for convenience only. It was meager and would not recommend this since there are so many options just around the corner. Internet was strong in the common lobby area, but not in your room. My friends stayed elsewhere since they were so unfriendly on the phone. Their hotel was much nicer, but more expensive. I found the staff to be helpful, but not outstanding. Again this is a value hotel, good night sleep, and great location. Don't expect more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last year on business trips. The location is very handy for the main square and all of the tourist attractions. For such a central location this hotel has good parking facilities in its underground carpark.

The Parrot in reception is a nice touch in a clean, well maintained hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWUK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel after a long day of travel and due to some misunderstanding we did not get the type of room we thought we had booked. Some of the staff were quite helpful but others were not particularly accommodating. The hotel is in a fabulous location within easy walking distance of all attractions and for this reason a good choice. However for a categorized 4 star hotel the amenities were not up to par ie: stained carpet, frayed towels, plastic cups etc. Overall the hotel is fine but the location is it's only outstanding feature.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 3 nights in Bruges at this hotel which is a block away from the central square and easy walking to all the other major tourist attractions.

The room we had was spacious by European standards. The hotel also has a small sitting room and a bar. There are plenty of restaurants close by. Our main problem was the wifi (free) which was hopeless in the room - we received a stronger signal from the hotel next door - but it was ok down in the sitting room / lobby area. The safe is also a bit of a joke as it could be lifted out of the cupboard and carried away.

Staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly the pics on trip adviser do this place no justice!!!! I was wary as I had booked very last minute, but I was very pleasantly surprised!!I I booked two double rooms for three nights 28 to 31of May. We were upgraded on arrival and were given two gorgeous rooms. one with a private out door terrace. The beds are firm and the air con and rain showers are great. The reception area and hallways are beautifully decorated and spotless. The reception staff are welcoming and friendly. A special mention to Sophie on reception who was super. Coco, the parrot in reception amused everyone with some very 'rich' language and whistling at you as you came in and went out! .I would definitely recommend. The hotel is in a fantastic location right next to the square, shops and the canal. We all had a smashing time and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace are really lovely and quiet especially considering the hotels location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusEmBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 19th - 22nd May. Our room was spacious and very clean. It was quite hot at night but there was an option to use the air condition. The location is great, very close to all attractions and restaurants. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment but 15 euros sounds expensive. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge a couple of times during our stay. Great staff, very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenGrass11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acacia

Property: Hotel Acacia
Address: Korte Zilverstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Acacia)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#43 Family Hotel in Bruges
#45 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acacia 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP LOCATION IN BRUGES, 100m to Market Square! Situated in between the two main shopping streets & within walking distance of all major attractions and offering hospitality at its best. 38 ROOMS all with modern comfort including FREE Wi-Fi, tea & coffee facilities, city map & reduction card. PUBLIC AREAS TO ENSURE A RELAXING STAY outdoor patio, cosy bar with fire place, piano lounge, public computer, private parking & luggage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Acacia Hotel Bruges
Best Western Hotel Bruges
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing